Mathematics & Statistics

Book an appointment with Michael White, the librarian for Mathematics and Statistics to discuss your research interests and information needs.

Use Omni to find print and electronic materials in the library's collection and in other Ontario university libraries.

The WebProxy (“Off-Campus Access”) allows you to access the library’s electronic databases, books and journals when you’re off campus.

Queen's Campus Virtual Private Network (VPN) is a method by which a user can access the University's resources over the internet in a secure manner.

Subject librarians have created research guides for each subject, highlighting specific databases, journals, and other types of resources.

You can use RACER to request a book or journal article that the library doesn’t own.

Set your preferences in MathSciNet, a comprehensive database of mathematical literature and an essential tool for researchers.

Review the library's guide to citation management systems to learn more about Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote, and other software.

The AMS Style Guide contains the most up-to-date standards and editorial practices used in the AMS.

The AMS Author Handbook contains guidelines for preparing AMS-LaTeX files for submission to the AMS for publication.

Overleaf is an online LaTeX editor and collaboration tool.

Literature reviews are usually part of graduate work but what about systematic reviews? Review the library's guide to learn more.

The Copyright Advisory Office can advise you about copyright questions including how to reuse images or tables in your thesis.

Graduate theses are submitted to Queen’s online repository, Qspace, on completion.

Contact Michael White, the mathematics and statistics librarian, to recommend a new resource (book, journal, database, etc...) for purchase.

Create an account on at least one of the library databases (e.g. Web of Science) and set up a search alert. New articles that match your search will be sent to you weekly.

The library offers services, technology and accessible spaces for students, faculty and staff with disabilities. Many of these resources are provided by the Adaptive Technology Centre (ATC), located in room 120, Stauffer Library.

Need a break from your research? Fun resources are available from the library. For example, the Naxos Music Library provides streaming access to recordings from catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels.

The library also subscribes to several streaming video services such as FIlms on Demand, Criterion on Demand and the National Film Board. These include thousands of classic and feature films, documentaries, animated films and foreign films.

Our Sci Fi collection contains more than 500 titles.