Sponsored annually by the Ontario Library Association, the Red Maple Award reading program is geared to readers in Grade 7 and 8. Ten novels are nominated each year and ten non-fiction are selected every second year.
Amazing Athletes by Marie-Claude Ouellet; Phyllis Aronoff (Translator); Howard Scott (Translator)An uplifting and engaging celebration of Paralympic champions and the sports they dominate Discover the world of Para sport and meet some of its greatest athletes in this fascinating look at the third-largest sporting event in the world, the Paralympic Games. This nonfiction book introduces readers to Canadian Paralympians and the sports they play, from PEI-born Para ice hockey pro Billy Bridges, to Goalball player and Iranian refugee Ahmad Zeividavi. Each section details a competitor's journey to professional sports, their greatest triumphs, and what inspires them most. Along the way, readers will deepen their knowledge of Para sports like Wheelchair curling, Para swimming, and more. Drawing on interviews with competitors and comprehensive research, Amazing Athletes examines how disability and sport intersect, and encourages readers to persevere as they pursue their passions, athletic or otherwise. Dynamic, full-color photos bring the athletes to life, while a glossary invites curiosity and further research.
Arab Fairy Tale Feasts by Karim Alrawi; Nahid Kazemi (Illustrator)An entertaining, multifaceted, and delicious way to explore Arab culture Arab Fairy Tale Feasts is the latest title in the highly-praised Fairy Tale Feasts Collection, a creative series that folds enchanting folk tales into cookbooks of kid-friendly recipes. Award-winning writer and storyteller, Karim Alrawi, draws on his deep knowledge of Arab culture to create original stories that are a feast for young imaginations. Told with intriguing details, the tales take young readers on a delicious cultural journey and invite them to consider an Arab perspective. Each tale symbolically incorporates food and concludes with a traditional recipe, lovingly flavored with colorful folkloric illustrations, making this a literary banquet to savor with family and friends across generations time and again. This charming, whimsical, and beautifully illustrated book will capture children's fancy and will be enjoyed by the whole family.
Can You Believe It? by Joyce Grant; Kathleen Marcotte (Illustrator)For today's tech-savvy kids, here's the go-to resource for navigating what they read on the internet. Should we believe everything we read online? Definitely not! And this book will tell you why. This fascinating book explores in depth how real journalism is made, what "fake news" is and, most importantly, how to spot the difference. It's chock-full of practical advice, thought-provoking examples and tons of relevant information on subjects that range from bylines and credible sources to influencers and clickbait. It gives readers context they can use, such as how bias can creep into news reporting, why celebrity posts may not be truthful and why they should be suspicious of anything that makes them feel supersmart. Young people get most of their information online. This must-read guide helps them decide which information they can trust --- and which they can't. Author and journalist Joyce Grant is an expert on how young people interact with and think about online media. Never judgmental, and often hilarious, she encourages readers to approach what they find online with skepticism and helps them hone their critical thinking skills to make good choices about what to believe and share. Engaging text is broken into manageable chunks, with loads of Kathleen Marcotte's playful illustrations on every spread to help explain tricky concepts. Two fake articles are deconstructed step by step using the information found in the book, and an additional article allows readers to test their skills. This comprehensive book has strong curriculum connections in language arts and social studies. Endmatter features a glossary, an author's note, sources and an index.
Fred and Marjorie by Deborah Kerbel; Angela Poon (Illustrator)A graphic novel for ages 8 to 12 that tells the true story of the life-saving discovery of insulin "Readers will want to dig deeper into this true story of canine heroes and lifesaving science." -- Kirkus Reviews In 1921, Frederick Banting was a young doctor with an idea: could the mysterious secretions of the pancreas be used to treat diabetes? We now call this substance insulin, and its life-saving discovery was an impactful milestone in medical science. Banting and his assistant, Charles Best, worked together in a small lab to test the theory with street dogs. Banting formed a special bond with one of his test dogs and gave her a name: Marjorie. After Marjorie responded well to insulin treatments, the treatments went on to be used for humans with diabetes--and the results were deemed practically miraculous. A real-life scientific milestone told in an innovative graphic novel format, the book also thoughtfully discusses the use of animals for medical research, including back matter on the subject and further information about diabetes.
Growing up Trans by Lindsay Herriot (Editor); Kate Fry (Editor)What does it mean to be young and transgender today? Growing Up Trans shares stories, essays, art and poetry created by trans youth aged 11 to 18. In their own words, the works illustrate the trans experience through childhood, family and daily life, school, their bodies and mental health. Together the collection is a story of the challenges, big and small, of being a young trans person. At the same time, it's a toolkit for all young people, transgender or not, about what understanding, acceptance and support for the trans community looks like. In addition to the contributed works, there are questions and tips from experts in the field of transgender studies to challenge the reader on how to be a trans ally. Growing Up Trans came out of a series of workshops held in Victoria, British Columbia, to bring together trans youth from across the country with mentors in the community.
The Hanmoji Handbook by Jason Li (Illustrator); An Xiao Mina; Jennifer 8. LeeLearn Chinese with a new twist! This full-color illustrated handbook introduces and explains Han characters and idioms through the language of emoji. Even though their dates of origin are millennia apart, the languages of Chinese and emoji share similarities that the average smartphone user might find surprising. These "hanmoji" parallels offer an exciting new way to learn Chinese--and a fascinating window into the evolution of Chinese Han characters. Packed with fun illustrations and engaging descriptions, The Hanmoji Handbook brings to life the ongoing dialogue between the visual elements of Chinese characters and the language of emoji. At once entertaining and educational, this unique volume holds sure appeal for readers who use emojis, anyone interested in learning Chinese, and those who love quirky, visual gift books.
The Science of Song by Alan Cross; Emme Cross; Nicole Mortillaro; Carl Wiens (Illustrator)Though most of us know we love listening to music, we may not spend much time thinking about how this came to be, or the science, technology, engineering and mathematics that are crucial to its existence. This illustrated book explores all of this, starting with the basics - how does sound work? What is music? It details the progression of recorded music, from the phonograph to streaming, covers how everyday items like headphones were created, and includes a look at the science of how we experience music. Additionally, playlists accompany each topic, featuring a range of artists and multiple genres and styles.
Sky Wolf's Call by Eldon Yellowhorn; Kathy LowingerFrom healing to astronomy to our connection to the natural world, the lessons from Indigenous knowledge inform our learning and practices today. How do knowledge systems get passed down over generations? Through the knowledge inherited from their Elders and ancestors, Indigenous Peoples throughout North America have observed, practiced, experimented, and interacted with plants, animals, the sky, and the waters over millennia. Knowledge keepers have shared their wisdom with younger people through oral history, stories, ceremonies, and records that took many forms. In Sky Wolf's Call, award-winning author team of Eldon Yellowhorn and Kathy Lowinger reveal how Indigenous knowledge comes from centuries of practices, experiences, and ideas gathered by people who have a long history with the natural world. Indigenous knowledge is explored through the use of fire and water, the acquisition of food, the study of astronomy, and healing practices. *A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection
Snoozefest by Tanya Lloyd Kyi; Valéry Goulet (Illustrator)A highly readable and fascinating look at why sleep is so important, what's happening in our bodies while we're sleeping (it's a lot more than you think!), and how the science of sleep research has evolved. It probes some of the mysteries about sleep, like why we need sleep, why we dream, and even how long we can go without sleep! It also explains why teens and tweens aren't getting enough sleep - and what school principals can do about it! It's a deep dive into an intriguing topic that's anything but a snore!
The Witness Blanket by Carey Newman; Kirstie HudsonFor more than 150 years, thousands of Indigenous children were taken from their families and sent to residential schools across Canada. Artist Carey Newman created the Witness Blanket to make sure that history is never forgotten. The Blanket is a living work of art--a collection of hundreds of objects from those schools. It includes everything from photos, bricks, hockey skates, graduation certificates, dolls and piano keys to braids of hair. Behind every piece is a story. And behind every story is a residential school Survivor, including Carey's father. This book is a collection of truths about what happened at those schools, but it's also a beacon of hope and a step on the journey toward reconciliation.