Skip to Main Content

Forest of Reading®, K to 6 Programs

Sponsored annually by the Ontario Library Association, the Red Maple Award reading program is geared to readers in Grade 7 and 8. Ten novels are nominated each year and ten non-fiction are selected every second year.

PJ Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Brenda Reed
613-533-6000 x 77644

The Queen's Education Library supports Ontario's Forest of Reading® by purchasing all K-12 nominated titles each year and supporting classes that read Forest books and prepare Forest classroom activities.

forest of reading logo

Congratulations to the 2023 Forest Winners!

Blue Spruce Award Winner
Monica Arnaldo for Are You a Cheeseburger?

Silver Birch Express Award Winner
Eric Walters for Bear in the Family

Silver Birch Fiction Award Winner
Colleen Nelson for The Undercover Booklist

Yellow Cedar Award Winner
Deborah Kerbel for Fred & Marjorie: A Doctor, a Dog, and the Discovery of Insulin

Red Maple Award Winner
Kevin Sands for Children of the Fox: Thieves of Shadow, Book One

White Pine Award Winner
Kate McLaughlin for Daughter

Le prix Peuplier 
Mathilde Perrault-Archambault for Drôles de zèbres

Le prix Mélèze
Jocelyn Boisvert for La ligue des (pas si) champions, T.1 Basile

Le prix Tamarac
Tom Paul for Seuls

Queen's Researchers Focus on the Forest

McConnel, J., & de Leon, C. (2020). The brightest part of the Forest: A grit analysis of an Ontario children’s book awardLanguage & Literacy 22(2). 

Printable Forest of Reading® Booklists