"Since its formation in 1973, the C.D. Howe Institute has earned a reputation as Canada's most respected independent, nonprofit, economic and social policy research institution. Governments, the media, and Canadians in every region look to the Institute to provide balanced, well-reasoned, and comprehensible analysis of issues of national interest." Click on 'Publications' to download publications from 1996 to 2004 (PDF format).
"The Caledon Institute is a social policy think tank. Established in 1992, the Caledon Institute of Social Policy is a private, non-profit organization with charitable status. It is supported primarily by the Maytree Foundation, located in Toronto. Caledon is an independent and critical voice that does not depend on government funding and is not affiliated with any political party."
"The CCPA is an independent, non-profit research organization, funded primarily through organizational and individual membership. It was founded in 1980 to promote research on economic and social policy issues from a progressive point of view."
Information and links relating to the study of Political Science in Canada and information about the CPSA and its activities.
The CSD "publishes working papers on topics of empirical democratic studies. Like the Center itself, the topics may range from the problems of democratic transitions to the expansion of the democratic process in advanced industrial democracies. The series is multidisciplinary in its research approach, as well as diverse in its definition of democratization topics."
CIRCLE (Centre for Information and Research on Civic Learning & Engagement)
CIRCLE “promotes research on the civic and political engagement of Americans between the ages of 15 and 25 ... [and] is also a clearinghouse for relevant information and scholarship. “.
“This site provides a range of material about Canadian federal election campaigns, the electoral system, polls, and results from past elections.” Subjects covered include Voter Turnout, Election Law and Policies, Parties & Candidates...
“Just about everything you need to know about elections in Canada can be found here, from the Chief Electoral Officer's official report to Parliament, a list of backgrounders on the electoral system and its regulations, to Did You Know?, a series of facts...” Find information on past elections, electoral law, policy and research, international activities....
The campaign to have more women elected in all levels of Canadian government.
Provides links to European Union documents on the Web, such as treaties and reports, international organizations, the GATT.
Gender Quotas Database
Government Information: Foreign and International
With searchable full text, and detailed subject indexing from 1801-present.
Searches over 3000 human rights websites
The IPU is the world organization of sovereign states and provides links to Web Sites of National Parliaments. Find out about parliamentary structure, inter-parliamentary union, women in parliament, meetings, issues, publications, current events...
The International IDEA is an intergovernmental organization that supports sustainable democracy worldwide. Find information on democracy assessment, electoral issues, gender, political parties, voter turnout...
Provides a comprehensive database about the parliamentary elections in the European countries and autonomous subdivisions since 1945.
A very comprehensive directory of political science web sites arranged by topic by L. Romans, Vanderbilt University.
Non-profit, non-government coalition organization devoted to fighting corruption in key institutions of power such as governments, corporations and banks. Transparency International has more than 90 national chapters and works at both the national and international level. Includes press releases, daily news, their Quarterly Newsletter, speeches and links to related resources.
Listed by name alphabetically, by subject and by region. Selected from the Yearbook of International Organizations.
