Skip to main content

Business

Introduction

"The case method of analysis involves studying actual business situations, written as an in-depth presentation of a company, its market, and its strategic decisions, in order to improve a manager's or a student's problem-solving ability. Cases typically investigate a contemporary issue in a real-life context. There are multiple issues to consider and many 'correct' or viable alternatives to solve the case issues are presented."
(Encyclopedia of Management. (4th ed.) Detroit: Gale, 1999. (p.71))

"The term case studies can be ambiguous: it can mean specific examples from real companies or fictitious stories written to help students learn a topic." The resources mentioned in this guide provide a mix of both types of case studies.

Cases at Queen's

Cases are generally provided in class.

To find cases in our collection, search Summon or QCAT Library Catalogue by author, title, subject heading, or keyword.

Free Cases

"The Institute's focus is on entrepreneurship and small business operations."
 
E-catalogue with abstracts.
 

The Aspen Institute's Business and Society Program. "In 2016 CasePlace.org was taken offline and our new weekly email, Ideas Worth Teaching takes its place."

 
 
Company-Specific Case Studies

Buy Cases

The following case study collections can be browsed by topic and searched by keyword, author and title. Some will allow qualified faculty members to view cases prior to purchasing (after registering). Generally the full-text can be purchased online.
 
University of Virginia. An extensive selection of educational tools.
 
"the largest single source . . . of management case studies in the world. We hold and distribute all cases produced by the world's best-known management teaching establishments, as well as case studies in many languages produced by individual authors from almost every corner of the globe."
 
Must register as an educator to download full-text cases, notes and articles for examination purposes.
 
"With nearly 2000 cases in our active collection, the Richard Ivey School of Business is the second largest producer of cases in the world. Approximately 200 new cases are added each year."
 
"Many cases in this collection are sold through Harvard Business School Publishing. For those cases you will be connected directly to the HBSP site to place your order."

Articles

"Case Studies" is a common subject heading in the business databases below. Search for case studies as a subject, adding a topic keyword in another search box . Alternatively, under Document Type, choose Case study in combination with topic keywords.

 
Provides access to Canadian journal and magazine articles.

Write Cases/Case Analysis

To find books in our collection about writing, developing and analysing cases, try searching QCAT by the subject heading case method. In Business Source Complete Database 'case method' is also a subject heading. In ABI/Inform Database try a keyword search for case method.
 
  
SELECTED BOOKS AT QUEEN'S
Applications of Case Study Research
H61.Y56 2003
 
Art & Craft of Case Writing
LB1029.C37 N38 2006 (Education Library); 1999 (Stauffer Library)
 
Case Research: the Case Writing Process
HF1121.L43 1989t
 
Case Study Research: Design and Methods
H62. Y56 2009 (Stauffer, Education)
 
 
Qualitative Research and Evaluation Methods
H62.P3218 2002 (Stauffer, Education)
 
Qualitative Research Through Case Studies
H62.T635 2001