Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Business

Financials

Company website
If the company is public, find key financial reports - annual reports or 10K’s under “Investor Relations” or "Corporate"
 
provides fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies. Includes more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly
Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.
Access to Compustat is via individual accounts with WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services).
 
See Companies/Markets tab at top of the search screen Includes financials, ratios, peer comparison, ownership and current news.
 

Provides access to information on global companies including financials and filings, news & corporate events, earnings estimates, price quotes, M&A transactions, ESG ratings, ownership data and more.

Please note: As of June 30, 2025, Mergent Online is discontinued. All Mergent Online content other than Investext is available in the new Mergent Market Atlas. 

Use LSEG Workspace with Aftermarket Add-on in place of Investext.

Please note, access is limited to a number of individual accounts with no simultaneous access.

  • Graduate students may fill out the MS Form to request an individual account with temporary access.
    • This temporary access is for a 7-day period with access being granted on Mondays and reset the following Monday.
    • In the case of a statutory holiday, accounts will be given access and reset on the Tuesday following the holiday (for 6 days of access).
    • Graduate students can re-submit the MS Form to rejoin the queue. Further details about the process are included in the MS form.

Please note per our license, each user is “permitted to view and/or download up to 150 billable pages of aftermarket research per 24 hour period measured from 12am local time.” Should you reach 150 billable pages, your account will be suspended until the next day, beginning at 12am.

  • Smith School of Business Faculty, please contact Amy Marshall, Research Coordinator at the Smith School of Business Research Office for access (amy.marshall@queensu.ca)

Mergent Market Atlas
Information on thousands of active and inactive U.S., Canadian and international public companies. Includes 15 years of detailed financial statements, fundamental data, key financial ratios, earnings estimates, stock information, business descriptions, and current headline news. Edgar and Sedar filings. Also economic data and country insights. 
No longer includes Investext database. Please use LSEG Workspace with Aftermarket Add-on.

 
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval) is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian Securities Administrators. It includes annual reports, financial statements, annual information forms, directors circulars, prospectuses, press releases, takeover bid circulars, early warning reports, and proxies. From January 1997-

Ontario Securities Commission (OSC) Refilings and Errors List
Canadian errors and refilings 2020-2023  (Globe & Mail)  http://tgam.ca/refilings

 
SEDI (System for Electronic Disclosure by Insiders)
Canada's on-line service for the filing and viewing of insider reports as required by various provincial securities rules and regulations.
 
EDGAR (U.S.)
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) contains SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) Filings for US public companies and foreign issuers. Filings include Form 10-K annuals, 10-Q and 8-K reports, prospectuses, ownership, executive and board compensation and current announcements.
 

Profiles & Directories

Covers more than 100 million private US, Canadian and global businesses and over 6000 US public companies.
Includes global corporate family trees, job search and executive search capabilities and multifaceted advanced search functionality. 
Also First Research industry reports, US census data and Key Business Ratios (KBR).

Generate company lists by size, industry, location and other criteria.

Dun & Bradstreet's The Million Dollar Database has been discontinued.
Directories from 1959-2019 are available in Mergent Archives (see D&B Manuals).
 
IQS Directory
a comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada.
 
Buyer's guide providing information on more than 170,000 classes of products made in the U.S. and Canada, the businesses that make them, and their locations. Search by product, company or brand name.
 
Global manufacturers

Earnings Call Transcripts

Often held after the release of a public company's quarterly or annual numbers, conference calls between top management and investors can be a great source of information. Conference calls are an opportunity for the CEO or CFO to speak informally and candidly about the company's past performance and its future prospects. Informed analysts ask probing questions about results, operations and competitors.
 
VIQ FD Disclosure: In Factiva, select "Source" and locate the publication VIQ FD Disclosure. Then use a keyword search to find conference call transcripts for your company, product, or industry.
 
In ProQuest One Business, search by publication title for Fair Disclosure Wire. Within this publication, search by company, product, or industry to locate relevant conference call transcripts.

Companies

 

Use the databases described in Articles (start with ProQuest One Business  and Business Source Premier)
to learn more about companies and brands and the industries they're in. Search company names and people, use 'keywords' that describe the product, brand, technology, or industry sector. In business research no single article or source will provide all the answers. Bits of Information from a variety of sources will start to add up to a coherent picture.

 

Annual Reports

... are the primary source of corporate financial information for publicly-held companies. A public company's annual report, 10K(U.S. only) and sustainability reports are available on its website. If the company is private, financial detail is generally not available. More... finding annual reports.

Mergent Historical Annual Reports Archive   US, Canadian and international company annual reports in pdf format dating back to the early 1900’s and through to the present. 

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports      Annual reports of over 800 U.S. companies from 1844 - present