Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Business

Databases

 
ProQuest One Business
comprehensive coverage of  business and industry sources, Narrow search to specific journals if required: e.g. Marketing Magazine for Canadian information and Advertising Age for U.S information. Includes the Wall Street Journal.
Includes content formerly in ABI/INFORM Global and ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry.
 
Business Source Premier
Comprehensive article database includes company and industry operations and trends.
 
CBCA @ Proquest Canadian resource
Canadian magazine and journal articles.
 
CARDonline - Canadian Advertising Rates & Data 
Advertising rates and related data available for TV, radio, newspapers, magazines, digital, out of home media in Canada and selected International media.
NOTE:  Queen's Library academic access does not allow the ‘media lists and reports’ functions. Also, television advertising rates are often only ‘available on request’ as pricing depends on time of day and ratings.
 
Factiva
Covers international news and business information, including magazines and company reports.
 
Gartner Research
Provides in-depth analysis on technology and telecommunications, including market data, reports and forecasts.
 

Passport

Market research on countries, markets and companies from Euromonitor International. It provides country demographics and economic conditions; consumer lifestyle profiles; sales volume, value and forecasts for retail products; major brands and companies.  Formerly known as GMID, Global Market Information Database. 

 

Market Share

Market share is defined as a brand's share of the total sales of all products within the product category in which the brand competes.
 
It can also be found in trade journals by searching "market share" plus your company or product in one of the databases listed below. It can be measured by comparing data at the company level or by examining sales by individual brand. Watch for figures such as the size of the market in dollars, units of sales, value of shipments or industry sales in addition to phrases such as "share of the market", rank, top, leading.
 
 
in these article databases search the company name or industry sector and "market share" or "rank" or "top"
 
Factiva
Use 'Companies/Markets' tab at the top
See 'Peer Group' at bottom of individual company information sheets for company comparisons within an industry - rank and net profit margin etc.
 
Annual Reports
Some Annual Reports provide the market share of a company's products. 
Companies describe their competitive environment in Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings such as the 10-Ks. (Finding corporate filings.)

Associations and Organizations

Canadian advertising industry’s self-regulatory body, which administers the Canadian Code of Advertising Standards.
 
An international federation of 31 trade bodies and organisations representing the advertising and marketing industries.
 
The AAAA is the national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the US.
 
 
Expertise in business-to-business marketing and communications.
 
 
 
 
Who's Who of Canadian Advertising
 
Links to Standards & Guidelines and Resources & Research; free registration.

Selected Key Journals

Via Journals A-Z search on the library portal

Advertising Age
HF5801.A276 (micro) from 1950-   and Online from 1986-

Adweek
Online from 1997-

Industrial Marketing Management
HF5415.12.E8I53 (1971-2003). Online from 1971-

Journal of Marketing
HF5415.A1J8 (1936-2009). Online from 1936-

Journal of Marketing Research (JMR)
HF5415.2.J66 (1964-2009) . Online from 1964-

Marketing Magazine (Canada)
HF5415.M295t from 1961- . Online from 1996- 2016

Demographics and Stats for Marketing

Data & Statistics via Queen's Library. Portal to local, regional, national and international statistics and datasets
 

Statistics Canada 

Canadian Survey of Consumer Expectations - Bank of Canada

Survey of Household Spending  (Statistics Canada, latest 2019)
statistics on spending habits, dwelling characteristics and household purchases by Canadians

Browse by Topic, Economic Trends: Metropolitan Data
 

Bureau of Labor Statistics - U.S. Demographics

Data.census.gov

Websites & Portals

"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 - 1955."
 
Statistics and trends in digital marketing, U.S. and Canada.
 
market research companies/sites (with free content)
     IRI  focus on retail, food, OTC health care