Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Business

Reports

IBISWorld
Canadian, Ontario, U.S. and global industry research report modules. Current and archive. Covering over 700+ industries, each report consists of 30-40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, performance (current & forecast), ratios, competitive landscape and more.  'Business Environment Profiles' provide consumer attitude, demographic, commodity, economic and market data. 'iExpert Summaries' condense key points about an industry sector and a Q&A .

Passport (Euromonitor)
International analysis and market research on consumer products, markets, consumers, countries and companies. Also provides country demographics and economic conditions; consumer lifestyle profiles; sales volume, value and forecasts for retail products, major brands and companies. Data is customizable and downloadable.  Formerly known as GMID, Global Market Information Database. 

Statista
Portal consolidates statistical data on topics including business and industry, media, technology, public policy, society, life and health from thousands of sources. Presented in tables, charts, infographics and reports. Statistics can be exported in PPT, XLS, PDF, and PNG formats.

Gartner Research
Reports, hype cycles, magic quadrants on IT products, services and the sector. Analysis for the users and vendors of technology. Some current reports are not available on our academic subscription.
 
Conference Board e-Library Canadian resource
Data and reports on national, provincial and metropolitan economic trends & forecasts, industries, organizational performance and public policy issues. Browse by Topic (menu on the left) to view the ’Industry Sector Economics’ link.  Free registration required.

Mergent Online
company profiles and financials, industry sector reports, economic research, and the Investext module - equity analyst reports on global public companies.
Investext search tip: +Keywords. In the drop-down menu, choose where you want to search for the keyword (Headline or Whole Report) 
   Multiple keywords in one search box => searched as a phrase
   Multiple keywords separated by comma => results will contain all keywords (but not necessarily next to each other)
 

Industry and Trade Associations

are organizations of companies and people in the industry sector

find them by web searching :

     ( example)      [industry keyword] association  

                          

useful for membership lists, statistics, reports and industry trends, press releases, conferences and an indication of how the industry is structured

 

IQS Directory
Industrial Quick Search (IQS®), IQS Directory is a comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada. Includes links to industry and trade associations and descriptions of industrial processes. 

Government & Statistical Agencies

links for Statistics Canada, US, OECD, EU and other data....
 
Main portal and search for Statistics Canada data, census and analysis.
 

Canadian Government Departments
Research and business intelligence:  industry sector data, financial benchmarks, labour trends and business statistics.

 

yearly China macro-economic statistics (1949-), monthly macro-economic statistics, monthly economic reports, city statistics (1996-), county statistics (1997-), industrial statistics, and most statistical yearbooks.
 
Provides data by sector, links to Annual Survey of Manufacturers and more ...
 
 

Grant Connect
Grant Connect, produced by Imagine Canada, provides comprehensive and up-to-date information on Canadian grant-makers. The fundraising research platform helps users and non-profits identify funding opportunities from a database of thousands of foundations, corporations, and government programs.