Skip to main content

Business

Canada

Canada's central bank - site includes economic indicators, currency and interest rates, monetary and fiscal policy, government bonds and Treasury Bills, research and reports.
 
Site search and access to Statistics Canada data.. See Government Documents  for links to more Canadian government data.
 
Reports and data on national, provincial and metropolitan economic trends & forecasts.
Conference Board of Canada e-Data
Thousands of downloadable economic indicators via forecast and historical databases covering Canada, the Provinces, Metropolitan CMAs, Industry Sectors and the U.S. Also Consumer and Business Confidence datasets.
Includes regularly updated indicators for Canadian Forecast-5 yr, Provincial Forecast-5 yr, Index of Business Confidence, Index of Consumer Confidence, Provincial Forecast-20 yr, Canadian Forecast-20 yr, Metropolitan Forecast, Population and Household Formation Forecast, Territorial Forecast, Industrial Forecast, US Forecast, Leading Indicator of Industry Profitability, The Conference Board Consumer Confidence Index® (U.S)
 
Provides monthly and quarterly key economic data for Canada and the Provinces. Also trade and foreign investment, NAFTA, and several in-depth series of research reports.
 
 
Canadian, U.S. and International economic reports and data, forecasts, interest rates, and market trends:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Housing and Real Estate:

CHMC - Canadian Mortgage and Housing Agency
Housing market statistics, data and reports

Royal Lepage: Reports and Surveys
Quarterly reports on seven types of housing in over 250 neighbourhoods across Canada from the 1970’s to the present.

United States

Bureau of Economic Analysis (U.S. Department of Commerce)
Provides GDP and national, regional, industry and international U.S Economic Accounts.
 
Business Statistics of the United States
US7 BER1 B77 from 1996- (Docs-Most recent Docs Ref)
A time series for economic trends and patterns covering the U.S. economy, industry profiles, and some historical data since WWII.
 
Formerly known as CITIBASE, "contains over 6000 monthly, quarterly, or annual time series ending with the latest available observation and going back to 1946, if available".
 
Includes mapping and data extraction tools for social, demographic, and economic statistics.

International

Comprehensive economic and political Country Reports and analysis on 200+ countries. ViewsWire provides daily highlights and analysis of key economic, political and market developments for business by country and region.  Includes market indicators and forecasts: demographics, consumption, average wages, market size and more ....
 
Offers online access to reports and weekly reviews about Canadian and global export trends, forecasts and performance, as well as country "snap shots". Facilitates monitoring developments and opportunities in more than 200 international markets. Also provides search access to the collection via the EDC's Economics database.
 
International Data Base (IDB) (U.S. Census Bureau)
Demographic and socio-economic statistics for 227 countries and areas of the world, with estimates and projections dating back to 1950 and as far ahead as 2050.
 
International Financial Statistics (IMF) from 1948-
UN9 MF I52 from 1980- (Gov Docs - current year on REF)
Database - produced by International Monetary Fund - international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
 
Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Access to books, periodicals, and statistical databases. Useful for comparisons with other developed economies.
 
Provides data for more than 200 countries, more than 700 time series on national accounts from 1960, balance of payments, trade, and external debt and finance from 1970, social from 1965, and natural resource information.
 
 
E-book collection of World Bank publications and research working papers.

Canadian Current Affairs

The Hill Times

Daily federal political and economic coverage. Set up morning email newsletter delivery. Access via the publisher's website.