Skip to Main Content

Art Conservation

Essential Reference

CAMEO, Conservation and Art Material Encyclopedia Online

Database contains chemical, physical, visual, and analytical information on over 10,000 historic and contemporary materials used in the production and conservation of artistic, architectural, archaeological, and anthropological materials

The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art (SL Ref. N8510 .G76 2008)

Encyclopedia dealing with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more.

Oxford Art Online

A comprehensive encyclopaedia for the history of the visual arts, including bio-bibliographical information and images.

 

Resources in Stauffer Library

Adhesive compendium for conservation
TP968 .D67 2015 (Stauffer 4th floor)

Culmination of 35 years of adhesive research by Canadian Conservation Institute adhesives specialist, Jane Down.

The AIC Guide to digital photography and conservation documentation
Z701.3.C65 A33 2011 (W.D. Jordan Library Rare Books Ref., Stauffer 4th floor, 2008 ed.)

The artist's handbook of materials and techniques (Ralph Mayer)
ND1500 .M3 1991 (5th ed. rev., SL Reference, HathiTrust)

Artists' pigments : a handbook of their history and characteristics
ND1510 .A77 1986t v. 1-3 (Art Collection or Stauffer Reserve, HathiTrust)

Download free from National Gallery of Art:

volume 1, volume 2, volume 3

Biographical index of artists in Canada (McMann)Canadian resource

N6548 .M29 2003 (SL Reference Collection; also available electronically)

Early painters and engravers in Canada (J. Russell Harper) Canadian resource
N6548 .H3 (Art Collection non-circ, SL Reference, HathiTrust)

First Nations artists in Canada Canadian resource
E98 .A7 A16t 2001 (SL Reference)

The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
N8510 .G76 2008 (SL Reference)

Handbook of paper and board
TS1105 .H327 2013 v. 1-2 (Stauffer 4th floor)

Comprehensive information on the state-of-the-art techniques and aspects involved in paper making, converting and printing.

International handbooks of museum studies

Multi-volume reference work in four volumes of Theory, Practice, Media and Transformation. Print in library, and e-books online

Looking at paintings : a guide to technical terms
ND31 .C37 2009 (SL Art Collection, HathiTrust)

Oxford Art Online

Known as Grove Art Online, formerly in print as The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving), now incorporated and updated in Oxford Art Online.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture

Art and architecture component of more than 120 full-text Oxford University Press dictionaries, companions, and subject reference books. Browse or search for keywords within a subject area or within a specific book.

Pigment compendium : a dictionary of historical pigments
TP936 .P57 2004t (Eng/Sci Library or Stauffer 4th floor)

Comprehensive list of pigment names and synonyms, covering pre-history to the present day.

Resources in Special Collections

The AIC Guide to digital photography and conservation documentation
ref Z701.3.C65 A33 2011 (W.D. Jordan Special Coll. Reference)

Resources In Eng/Sci or Bracken Library

Print locations or online links included:
 
CRC Handbook of chemistry and physics : a ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.
QD65 .C5 (Eng/Sci Books). Latest edition online
Cleveland : Chemical Rubber Pub. Co.
 
Dictionary of organic compounds. 6th ed. 1996-
Eng/Sci REF QD246 .D5 1996t
(London ; New York : Chapman & Hall) 11 volumes.
 
Hazardous chemicals desk reference. 4th Ed. 1997
T55 .3 .H3 L49 1997 (Eng/Sci Books)
Richard J. Lewis, Sr. (New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold).
 
Hazards in the chemical laboratory. 5th Ed. 1992
QD51 .H35 1992t (Eng/Sci Books)
S. G. Luxon, editor (Cambridge: Royal Society of Chemistry)
 
Merck index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals 15th ed.
Bracken Health Sciences REF QV772 .M555 2013
 
Sax's dangerous properties of industrial materials. 2012. 12th ed. online.
Bracken Health Sciences REF WA440 .L675s 2004. 11th ed. v. 1-3.
Lewis, Richard J., Sr. (Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience)