Skip to Main Content

ARTH 225: Art and Fashion: from the Renaissance to the present

Liaison Librarian - Art History, Fine Art

Profile Photo
Cory Laverty
Contact:

Liaison Librarian - Cultural Studies, Gender Studies

Profile Photo
Sylvia Andrychuk
She/her
Contact:
Joseph S. Stauffer Library
(613) 533-6000 ext 78681

Key Art History Indexes & Databases

For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Index Retrospective.
 
Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Abstracts.
 
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
 
Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, decorative, applied, graphic, folk and popular arts.
 
IBA succeeds the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Abstracts 500+ core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Covers European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history.

Databases relevant to Art history

Publication coverage 1800-1900
 
History of Canada, U.S., Latin America from pre-historic times to the present, covering journals, books and dissertations on history, culture, government and political science, ethnic studies, folklore, international relations and current affairs.
 
A pre-selected group of 11 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in the arts. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
 
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Includes selective full text titles, covering current events, the arts, indigenous and Canadian studies, business, science, and academic information produced in Canada.
 
Digitized rare primary British and European sources covering five centuries between 1450 through 1910.
 
Interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including art
 

Issues from 1830 - 1898 contain articles, poetry, sheet music, and illustrations

Comprehensive index for historical studies worldwide EXCLUDING the United States and Canada.
 
Social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.
 
A bibliography of books, journal material, dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
 
Comprehensive index (with abstracts and links to full-text) to articles, books and reference works relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
 
Digitized monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, etc. of 8 archives: Asia and the West; British politics and society; British theatre, music and literature; Europe and Africa; European literature, 1790-1840; Photography; Science, technology and medicine, 1780-1925; Women:transnational networks
 
 

Art Image and Fashion Databases

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")
 

Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

Keyword Boolean