Skip to Main Content

ARTH 225: Art and Fashion: from the Renaissance to the present

Art Image Databases @Queen's

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003
Digital archive, searchable reproduction in colour.

Godey's Lady's Book
Digitized facsimile of an early American women's magazine, including illustrations (1830 - 1898)

Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art; limit 8 users)

Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.

19th Century UK Periodicals
Collection of magazines, journals and newspapers; narrow search to articles with illustrations: cartoon, chart, drawing, photograph, colour images

Image Collections

Ad*Access

Over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955 covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. An endowed project in Duke University Libraries' Digital Repository.

Art UK

Showcase for art in over 3,200 public, collaborating UK collections (museums, universities, town halls, hospitals and other civic buildings), where 80% of the art is not on public view.

British Library: Images Online

The Picture Library of the British Library holds over 150 million items including the King's Library, manuscripts, rare books, musical texts, maps, illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs spanning almost 3000 years

British Library: Online Gallery

30,000 items from the British Library Collection, including Online Exhibitions

British Museum Collection

High-definition images, enlargeable for detailed examination, of almost four and a half million early to contemporary objects

Cleveland Museum of Art: Open Access Collection

Digital rights waived to approximately 30,000 objects to provide unlimited online access to works in museum's collection in the public domain (artists dead for at least 120 years) for use by anyone, anywhere, for any purpose.

Folger Shakespeare Library: Digital Image Collection

High resolution images from books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art to re-use for any purpose provided credit is given to the Folger Shakespeare Library as the source. Direct link to database catalog

Frick Digital Image Archive

The Frick Collection's digital image archive

Google Art Project

Google's collaboration with over 250 art institutions to enable the discovery and viewing of tens of thousands of artworks from more than 6,000 artists in high resolution images online

Google Arts & Culture

Platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative's partner museums.

GRI Digital Collections

The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections

Images Canada

Archived Government of Canada web page. Search the image collections of participating archives, libraries, museums and universities from across Canada.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections

Library of Congress's gateway to primary source materials in over 100 historical collections relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Louvre Collections

More than 480,000 works in the Musée du Louvre and Musée National Eugène-Delacroix. Updated on a daily basis

McCord Museum Collections Online

Artefacts online held by the McCord Museum in Montreal and by the partner museums, including 450,000 images online from the McCord's Notman Photographic Archives.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online

Over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded for non-commercial use.

National Gallery of Art: The Collection

Search the entire National Gallery of Art collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné.

V&A Collections

1,146,388 objects and 416,583 images from the V&A's collections

Virtual Museum of Canada

Virtual exhibits, teaching resources, and innovative projects from Canadian museum collections, with images containing detailed information on the contributing museum and copyright information.

Visual Collections - images of art, history and culture

More than 300,000 images in cartography, fine arts, architecture and photography from over fifty renowned collections

The Walters Art Museum: Online Collection

High-resolution archival images from the collection of the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, along with detailed catalog descriptions

Web Gallery of Art

Digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1100 and 1850

Stepping Out: Clothes for a Gallery Goer (Agnes Etherington Art Centre 27 April–1 December 2019)

Zandra Rhodes, Dress, 1973-1976, silk (Agnes Etherington Art Centre).  Gift of Sylvia Gillespie-Keyl, 1999 (C99-001.01). Photo: Bernard Clark