Use the subheading “exhibitions” in a Keyword Boolean search for exhibition catalogues:
rembrandt and exhibition? [truncated for singular or plural]
rembrandt and exhibition? and agnes
How to analyze a book citation
Schneider, Jane. "Cloth and Clothing." In Handbook of Material Culture, ed. Christopher Tilley et al., 203-20. London : Sage, 2006.
The citation refers to a chapter in an edited book.
Tip: Search Omni by Title Exact to see if Queen's Library has the book handbook of material culture. Omit initial articles (the, an, a). Ignore punctuation and case.
Finding Books and Exhibition Catalogues
Search Omni by author, title, keyword, subject, or call number to find books, exhibition catalogues and other materials in our collection.
Search by Keyword Boolean to find books on topics or information in other formats, especially if you don't know the correct subject heading, or specific author or title. Use Keyword Booleanoperators “and”, “or”, “not” to combine terms, to do phrase searching or truncation of terms.
Narrow or refine search by adding other terms: e.g.
dress and gender
fashion and art and 19th
Broaden search using "or" between similar or possible terms, nested in brackets, or by using the "?" symbol to truncate for variable word endings (nouns, adjectives, singular or plural) : e.g.
fashion? and (19th or nineteenth or victorian) *
ingres and exhibition? and washington
fashion and exhibition? and metropolitan
"van dyck" and video? (for all formats of videorecordings) [or search "van dyck" and use the Video/Film limit feature in Omni]
* Note the nested (i.e. bracketed) search for similar or possible terms, in conjunction with your and term.
Use quotes around a phrase or concept: e.g.
"art deco" and fashion
"material culture" and (aborigin? or indigen? or native or "first nation?")
Limit large result sets by library location or by using "not": e.g.
sculpture and degas not rodin
"arts and crafts" (tip: limit to “Art Collection”)
"material culture" (limit to a library - e.g. "Stauffer" )
From your results, select useful titles and click on the Subject Headings assigned to find other books on your topic. Examples of relevant Subject Headings and subheadings are:
Clothing and dress -- Social aspects
Clothing and dress in art
Clothing trade -- United States
Costume -- History
Costume in art
Dresses -- Ontario -- Kingston -- Exhibitions
Dressmaking -- Great Britain -- History
Fashion -- History -- 20th century
Fashion in art
Men's clothing -- Exhibitions
Women's clothing -- Great Britain -- History -- 19th century
Clothing Art : the visual culture of fashion, 1600-1914 by Aileen RibeiroAn entirely new way of looking at the history of fashion through the eyes of artists There have always been important links between art and clothing. Artists have documented the ever-evolving trends in fashion, popularized certain styles of dress, and at times even designed fashions. This is the first book to explore in depth the fascinating points of contact between art and clothing, and in doing so it constructs a new and innovative history of dress in which the artist plays a central role. Aileen Ribeiro provides an illuminating account of the relationship between artists and clothing from the 17th century, when a more complex and sophisticated attitude to dress first appeared, to the early 20th century, when the boundaries between art and fashion became more fluid: haute couture could be seen as art, and art used textiles and clothes in highly imaginative ways. Her narrative encompasses such themes as the ways in which clothing has helped to define the nation state; how masquerade and dressing up were key subjects in art and life; and how, while many artists found increasing inspiration in high fashion, others became involved in designing "artistic" and reform dress. Sumptuously illustrated, Clothing Art also delves into the ways in which artists represent the clothes they depict in their work, approaches which range from photographic detail, through varying degrees of imaginative reality, to generalized drapery.
Call Number: N8217.C63 R53 2017
Colors in Fashion by Jonathan Faiers; Mary Westerman Bulgarella (eds.)Color speaks a powerful cultural language, conveying political, sexual, and economic messages that, throughout history, have revealed how we relate to ourselves and our world. This ground-breaking compilation is the first to investigate how color in fashionable and ceremonial dress has played a significant social role, indicating acceptance and exclusion, convention and subversion.From the use of white in pioneering feminism to the penchant for black in post-war France, and from mystical scarlet broadcloth to the horrors of arsenic-laden green fashion, this publication demonstrates that color in dress is never straightforward. Divided into four parts - solidarity, power, innovation, and desire - each section highlights the often violent, emotional histories of color in dress across geographical, temporal and cultural boundaries. Underlying today's relaxed attitude to color lies a chromatic complexity that speaks of wars, migrations and economics. Bringing together cutting-edge chapters from leading scholars, it is essential reading for students of fashion, textiles, design, cultural studies and art history.
Call Number: TT507 .C657 2018
A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion by Susan J. Vincent (Ed.)A Cultural History of Dress and Fashion presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. This set of six volumes covers over 2,500 years of dress and fashion. Volume 1: Antiquity (500BCE-800AD), edited by Mary Harlow Volume 2: The Medieval Age (800-1450), edited by Sarah-Grace Heller Volume 3: The Renaissance (1450-1650), edited by Elizabeth Currie Volume 4: The Age of Enlightenment (1650-1800), edited by Peter McNeil Volume 5: The Age of Empire (1800-1920), edited by Denise Amy Baxter Volume 6: The Modern Age (1920-2000+), edited by Alexandra Palmer Each volume discusses the same key themes in its chapters: 1. Textiles 2. Production and Distribution 3. The Body 4. Belief 5. Gender and Sexuality 6. Status 7. Ethnicity 8. Visual Representations 9. Literary Representations This structure means readers can either have a broad overview of a period by reading a volume or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume. Superbly illustrated, the full six volume set combines to present the most authoritative and comprehensive survey available on dress and fashion through history.
Call Number: GT511 .C85 2017 v. 1-6
Fashion and Art by Adam Geczy, Vicki Karaminas (eds.)For at least two centuries, fashion and art have maintained a competitive love-hate relationship. Both fashion and art construct imaginary worlds, and use a language of style to invigorate beliefs, perceptions and ideas. Intimate or antagonistic, the ties are ever-present, if not strengthening.Until now the crossovers of fashion and art have received only scattered treatment and suffered from a dearth of theorization. As an attempt to theorize the area, this collection of new and updated essays is the most well-rounded and authoritative to date. Some of the world's foremost scholars in the field are assembled here to explore the art-fashion nexus in numerous ways- from aesthetics and performance to masquerade and media.Original and inspiring, this book will not only secure 'art-fashion' as a discrete area of study, but also suggest new critical pathways for exploring their continuing cross-pollination. Fashion and Art is essential reading for students and scholars of fashion, art history and theory, cultural studies, sociology and related fields.
Call Number: GT523 .F37 2012
Fashion and Modernism by Andrea Kollnitz; Louise Wallenberg (eds.)Art and fashion have long gone hand in hand, but it was during the modernist period that fashion first gained equal value to - and took on the same aesthetic ideals as - painting, film, photography, dance, and literature. Combining high and low art forms, modernism turned fashion designers into artists and vice versa. Bringing together internationally renowned scholars across a range of disciplines, this vibrant volume explores the history and significance of the relationship between modernism and fashion and examines how the intimate connection between these fields remains evident today, with contemporary designers relating their work to art and artists problematizing fashion in their works. With chapters on a variety topics ranging from Russian constructionism and clothing to tango and fashion in the early 20th century, Fashion and Modernism is essential reading for students and scholars of fashion, dress history, and art history alike. Contributors: Patrizia Calefato, Caroline Evans, Ulrich Lehmann, Astrid Söderbergh Widding, Alessandra Vaccari, Olga Vainshtein, Sven-Olov Wallenstein
Call Number: GT523 .F37 2019
Fashion and Orientalism by Adam GeczyOrientalism is a central factor within the fashion system, both subtle and overt. In this timely and groundbreaking book, the author shows the extent of the influence that the Orient had, and continues to have, on fashion. Our concept of Western fashion is unthinkable without it, whether in terms of the growth of the cotton industry or of garments we take for granted, such as the dressing gown. From pre-modern to contemporary times, the book demonstrates that in the realms of fashion the Orient is not simply a construction or a fascination of the imperial West with its eastern other. Rather, it reveals the extent of cross-pollination, exchange and multiple translation that has taken place between East and West for the last five hundred years. Exploring topics including Chinoiserie, masquerade, bohemianism, Japonisme, the 'de-Orientalisation' of the Orient, perfume, and the birth of couture, Fashion and Orientalism is an essential read for students and scholars of fashion, cultural studies and history.
Call Number: GT580 .G43 2013
Fashioning the Early Modern: : dress, textiles, and innovation in Europe, 1500-1800 by Evelyn Welch (Editor)How did fashion work in Europe before modern media? Why were beards suddenly stylish after 1500? Why did the ruff come in and out of use in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries? Why did men from Spain to Sweden suddenly decide to adopt wigs around 1660 only to drop them less than fiftyyears later? How did manufacturers and merchants encourage and then respond to changing demands for colourful printed patterns and new cuts and styles of tailoring in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries? As importantly, why were others unsuccessful in terms of their cross-European adoption?This book explores the ways in which men, women, state industries, guilds and entrepreneurs in early modern Europe created, innovated and promoted new textiles, novel products and unusual forms of dress. Challenging conventional explanations that explain fashion as spreading from the court elitedownwards, it demonstrates the complexity of the relationships that made fashions successful.
Call Number: GT720 .F38 2017
Fashioning the Victorians : a critical sourcebook by Rebecca MitchellOffering a unique anthology of primary texts, this sourcebook opens a window on the writing that shaped and mirrored Victorian fashion, taking us from corsets to crinolines, dandies to decadent 'New Women'. A user-friendly collection that provides a solid grounding in the fashion history of the nineteenth century, it brings together for the first time sources that trace the evolution of dress and the social, cultural and political discourses that influenced it.Featuring seminal writings by authors and commentators such as Oscar Wilde, Thorstein Veblen and Sarah Stickney Ellis, plus satirical cartoons, illustrations and fashion plates from key sources such as Punch magazine, it combines primary texts and illustrations with accessible explanatory notes to offer a wide-ranging overview of the period for both students and researchers. Each section opens with an introduction that examines the major trends in Victorian clothing - and the material, economic, scientific and cultural forces driving those trends - situating the texts in the pressing social anxieties and pleasures of the time. Exploring both menswear and womenswear, and key topics such as corsetry, dress reform and mourning, Mitchell extends her analysis into interdisciplinary fields including gender studies and literature, and guides the reader with a timeline, glossary and further readings.
Call Number: GT737 .F37 2018
The Handbook of Fashion Studies by Sandy Black (ed.)The Handbook of Fashion Studies identifies an innovative spectrum of thematic approaches, key strands and interdisciplinary concepts that continue to push forward the boundaries of fashion studies. The book is divided into seven sections: Fashion, Identity and Difference; Spaces of Fashion; Fashion and Materiality; Fashion, Agency and Policy; Science, Technology and New fashion; Fashion and Time and, Sustainable Fashion in a Globalised world. Each section consists of approximately four essays authored by established researchers in the field from the UK, USA, Netherlands, Sweden, Canada and Australia. The essays are written by international subject specialists who each engage with their section's theme in the light of their own discipline and provide clear case-studies to further knowledge on fashion. This consistency provides clarity and permits comparative analysis. The handbook will be essential reading for students of fashion as well as professionals in the industry.
Call Number: TT515 .H36 2013
Paris Fashion : a cultural history by Valerie SteeleParis has been the international capital of fashion for more than 300 years. Even before the rise of the haute couture, Parisians were notorious for their obsession with fashion, and foreigners eagerly followed their lead. From Charles Frederick Worth to Gabrielle "Coco" Chanel, Christian Dior, and Yves Saint Laurent, fashion history is dominated by the names of Parisian couturiers. But Valerie Steele's Paris Fashion is much more than just a history of great designers. This fascinating book demonstrates that the success of Paris ultimately rests on the strength of its fashion culture - created by a host of fashion performers and spectators, including actresses, dandies, milliners, artists, and writers. First published in 1988 to great international acclaim, this pioneering book has now been completely revised and brought up to date, encompassing the rise of fashion's multiple world cities in the 21st century. Lavishly illustrated, deeply learned, and elegantly written, Valerie Steele's masterwork explores with brilliance and flair why Paris remains the capital of fashion.
Call Number: GT887 .S74 2017
Peacock Revolution : American masculine identity and dress in the sixties and seventies by Daniel Delis HillThe Peacock Revolution in menswear of the 1960s came as a profound shock to much of America. Men's long hair and vividly colored, sexualized clothes challenged long established traditions of masculine identity. Peacock Revolution is an in-depth study of how radical changes in men's clothing reflected, and contributed to, the changing ideas of American manhood initiated by a 'youthquake' of rebellious baby boomers coming of age in an era of social revolutions. Featuring a detailed examination of the diverse socio-cultural and socio-political movements of the era, the book examines how those dissents and advocacies influenced the youthquake generation's choices in dress and ideas of masculinity. Daniel Delis Hill provides a thorough chronicle of the peacock fashions of the time, beginning with the mod looks of the British Invasion in the early 1960s, through the counterculture street styles and the mass-market trends they inspired, and concluding with the dress-for-success menswear revivals of the 1970s Me-Decade.
Call Number: GT615 .H55 2018
Pretty Gentlemen : macaroni men and the eighteenth-century fashion world by Peter McNeilThe term "macaroni" was once as familiar a label as "punk" or "hipster" is today. In this handsomely illustrated book devoted to notable 18th-century British male fashion, award-winning author and fashion historian Peter McNeil brings together dress, biography, and historical events with the broader visual and material culture of the late 18th century. For thirty years, macaroni was a highly topical word, yielding a complex set of social, sexual, and cultural associations. Pretty Gentlemen is grounded in surviving dress, archival documents, and art spanning hierarchies and genres, from scurrilous caricature to respectful portrait painting. Celebrities hailed and mocked as macaroni include politician Charles James Fox, painter Richard Cosway, freed slave Julius "Soubise," and criminal parson Reverend Dodd. The style also rapidly spread to neighboring countries in cross-cultural exchange, while Horace Walpole, George III, and Queen Charlotte were active critics and observers of these foppish men.
Call Number: GT1710 .M36 2018
A Queer History of Fashion : from the closet to the catwalk by Valerie Steele, ed.An unprecedented in-depth exploration of the complex interrelationship between high fashion and queer history and culture From Christian Dior to Yves Saint Laurent and Alexander McQueen, many of the greatest fashion designers of the past century have been gay. Fashion and style have played an important role within the LGBTQ community, as well, even as early as the 18th century. This provocative book looks at the history of fashion through a queer lens, examining high fashion as a site of gay cultural production and exploring the aesthetic sensibilities and unconventional dress of LGBTQ people, especially since the 1950s, to demonstrate the centrality of gay culture to the creation of modern fashion. Contributions by some of the world's most acclaimed scholars of gay history and fashion - including Christopher Breward, Shaun Cole, Vicki Karaminas, Jonathan D. Katz, Peter McNeil, and Elizabeth Wilson - investigate topics such as the context in which key designers' lives and works form part of a broader "gay" history; the "archeology" of queer attire back to the homosexual underworld of 18th-century Europe; and the influence of LGBTQ subcultural styles from the trouser suits worn by Marlene Dietrich (which inspired Yves Saint Laurent's "Le Smoking") to the iconography of leather. Sumptuous illustrations include both fashion photography and archival imagery.