Skip to main content

Gender Studies

A selective guide to resources in Gender Studies at Queen's University Library

Selected Encyclopedias

Online

Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.

Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia
 

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge 

Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender & Sexuality Studies
An invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields.

Print

Most print editions of encyclopedias are located  in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stauffer Library. There are other specialized encyclopedias relevant to gender studies that are not listed on this guide, so you may want to browse the shelves in the HQ range or search for your general topic in QCAT, adding in <encyclopedia> as an additional keyword.
 
Continuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality (editor Francoeur)
REF HQ21.I68 2004
 
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
REF HQ1115 .E54 2009 (2 volumes)
 

LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ73.3.U6 L43 2009

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
REF HQ76.96.R68 2006
 
Women's Movement Today: An Encyclopedia of Third-wave Feminism
REF HQ1115.W644 2006 (2 volumes)

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Feminist Theory
REF HQ1115.H86 1995t

Dictionary of Gender Studies

The Dictionary of Homophobia: A Global History of Gay & Lesbian Experience
REF HQ76.4 D5313 2008

Fifty Key Concepts in Gender Studies
HQ1180.P55 2004

A Glossary of Feminist Theory
REF HQ1190.A53 1997

Historical Dictionary Of Feminism
REF HQ1115.B65 1996