The multimedia collection at Queen's Library contains thousands of DVDs and VHS tapes. The collection also includes a growing number of online (streaming) videos and subscriptions to several online video collections. Videos are listed in Omni and you can limit your search results by using the filters.
The following online video collections are particularly useful to Gender Studies:
Criterion on Demand
Users may stream or download from a selection of over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more. Criterion-on-Demand makes use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac. Users wishing to stream or download films will need to have the plugin installed.
Streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review, Marketplace and George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Films on Demand
Database of documentaries, educational videos and news footage. The Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Collection.
NFB.ca - The National Film Board's Online Screening Room
Access to documentaries, animation and alternative dramas in streaming video, as well as NFB playlists, upcoming films and other related resources.
For additional information on video collections available at Queen's Library, visit http://library.queensu.ca/search/video-collections.
Images provide a visual element that can strongly enhance coursework. However, finding images of a sufficient quality can be challenging. It is also important to ensure the image may be used without violating copyright. Please consult the Finding Images guide for more information.