Companions and Handbooks are reference resources used to locate in-depth articles written by noted experts. They typically offer thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field.
Selected Companions & Handbooks (Online)
The Ashgate Research Companion to Lesbian and Gay Activism
Companion to Women's and Gender Studies
Concise Companion to Feminist Theory
Nonbinary Gender Identities: History, Culture, Resources
Routledge Companion to Feminism and Postfeminism
The Routledge Handbook of Trans Literature
Routledge Handbook of Queer African Studies
Routledge Handbook of Gender and Feminist Geographies
Routledge Handbook of Queer Development Studies
The Routledge companion to Intersectionalities
Transgender: A Reference Handbook
Selected Companions & Handbooks (Print)
Handbook of Gender and Women's Studies
SL REF HQ1180 .H36 2006 (print)
Routledge Handbook of Sexuality Studies in East Asia
HQ21 .R876 2015 (print) Stauffer Library, 3rd floor
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia
HQ1735.3 .R68 2014 (print) Stauffer Library, 3rd floor
Routledge International Handbook of Race, Class, and Gender
HT1521 .R687 2015 (print) Stauffer Library, 3rd floor
Scholarly research reviews (essays) in 17 subject areas. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve.
