Skip to main content

World Indigenous Studies in Education (WISE)

Indigenous and Aboriginal Focus

AlterNative : an international journal of indigenous scholarshipfull text in Academic Search Complete, 2007-

Canadian Journal of Native Education: In print (1989-); indexed in CBCA Education (1998-) 

Canadian Journal of Native Studies, Open Access, and indexed  in CBCA since 1985

Journal of American Indian Education: In print (1988-); indexed in Education Source (1996-)

American Indian Culture and Research Journal  (1974-)

Diaspora, indigenous and minority education: An international journal (2007-): indexed in Scholar's Portal Journals

  • Focuses on critical discourse and research in diaspora, indigenous, and minority education. Dedicated to researching cultural sustainability in a world increasingly consolidating under national, transnational, and global organizations

Comparative Education: In print (1964-); indexed in JSTOR (1964-2003), Education Research Complete (1990 to one year ago), Taylor & Francis (1997-present).

  • Analyses of significant educational problems across different cultures including indigenous populations around the world.

First Nations Perspectives: The Journal of the Manitoba First Nations Education Resource Centre; open access online and in print

First Peoples Child & Family Review  (2004-); open access journal published twice yearly by the First Nations Caring Society of Canada

International Indigenous Journal of Entrepreneurship, Advancement, Strategy, & Education: http://www.indigenousjournal.com/

International indigenous policy journal (2010-); open access journal; indexed in CBCA Reference (2010 -)

Inuit Studies: In print (1988-) v.12 (1988) - v.38 (2014) at the Education library. v.6 (1982) - v.24 (2000)

v.26 (2002) - v.36 (2012) at Stauffer library.

Études inuit [electronic resource]. Inuit studies. 2002 to present

First Nations Databases

First Nations Periodical Database:

Access: library homepage >> Databases >> type title.

Searchable index to citations from 20 Aboriginal newspapers, journals, and magazines, of mainly Canadian Native content. A joint project of Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, Saskatoon Campus, the Saskatchewan Indian Cultural Centre and the Library Services for Aboriginal Peoples Committee.

Bibliography of Native North Americans:

This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy. Includes citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Finding Articles

Once you click on a journal title in the list, you have the option to "search within this publication" or "search within journal". You can also just click open each year and browse articles by date. Alternatively, you can search multiple journals at once within a database.

Please click the Education Databases tab to search multiple journals at once.

Journals on Evaluation

Newspapers

Banner

 

Turtle Island News  "Canada's only national native weekly newspaper, published every week at the Grand River Territory of the Six Nations in southern Ontario. It is a politically independent newspaper that is wholly owned and operated by Aboriginal people."

Wataway News Online Northern Ontario's First Nations Voice Since 1974.

First Nations Drum Canada's largest First Nations Newspaper.

Anishinabek News The voice of the Anishinabek nation (Union of Ontario Indians).

Ethnic NewsWatch a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Includes Windspeaker and Saskatchewan Sage, Alberta Sweetgrass, Ontario Birchbark, Raven's Eye, Buffalo Spirit, plus many American publications. On initial search page limit to "Native People" under Ethnic Group.

Newspapers

Aboriginal Multi-Media Society
Produces the national newspaper Windspeaker, as well as Raven's Eye, Alberta Sweetgrass, Ontario Birchbark, and Saskatchewan Sage newspapers.

Anishinabek News
Published by the Union of Ontario Indians.

APTN News
Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN) is a Canadian television network that provides programming made by, for and about Indigenous Peoples and issues.

CBC News Indigenous
CBC News site that deals with Indigenous issues including news stories, video and podcasts.

Espaces Autochtones
A Radio-Canada site to unveil, explain and understand Indigenous realities.

Kukukwes.com
Independent news website that covers Indigenous news from Atlantic Canada.

Muskrat Magazine
An online Indigenous arts, culture, and living magazine that honours the connection between humans and Indigenous traditional ecological knowledge by exhibiting original works and critical commentary.

Nunatsiaq News
Weekly newspaper published since 1973 that serves Nunavut and the Nunavik region of northern Quebec. For additional Inuit media sources see Caninuit, a list of newspapers and newsletters compiled by Trent University.

Wawatay News
Ontario's First Nation Voice since 1974. The Wawatay Native Communications Society serves the communication needs of First Nations people and communities of Nishnawbe Aski Nation through the distribution of a monthly newspaper, daily radio programming, television production services and a multimedia website that seeks to preserve and enhance Indigenous languages and cultures in northern Ontario.

Windspeaker
Windspeaker, established in 1974, is Canada's most widely circulated Indigenous news publication.