Skip to main content

Education Research

A guide to starting points in education research at Queen's University, Kingston.

Welcome to the Education Library

The Education Library on the main floor of McArthur Hall, West Campus, is open to serve your needs this winter from Monday to Thursday, 8 am to 9 pm, Friday, 8 am to 4:30 pm, Saturday & Sunday, 10 am to 4:30 pm.

Queen's University Library is a major research library, providing you with access to a print collection of over 3 million volumes and online access to over 100,000 online journals and 800,000 e-books.  The Education Library's research collection on Floor 3 consists of 85,000 volumes.

Research Services at Queen's U Library

EDUCATION LIBRARIANS

Two research librarians have offices in the Education Library and are available to answer questions about our collections or to assist you with your literature searches.   Drop in with quick questions or make an appointment for deeper investigations into the research literature or to map our a research strategy.

Your Education Librarians:

Brenda Reed, 613-533-6000, x77644

Mary Claire Vandenburg, 613-533-6000, x74094

RESEARCHER TRAINING PROGRAM

researcher training program logo

 

 

Our Researcher Training Program picks up the research process at the point where you are creating your data management plan for your study. This program also covers registering for your ORCiD, and open access options for publishing your research.

 

 

RESEARCH DATA MANAGEMENT

For assistance with research data management, from developing a data management plan to depositing your data in a shared archive for preservation and long term access, talk to your Subject Librarian.  To read more about the services available to Queen's researchers for data management, see the Research Data Management Guide.

CITATION MANAGEMENT

Depending on your needs and the discipline you are working in, one or another citation management software tools may help you organize the literature you discover and want to track as you do your research and writing.

endnote logo

Queen's University Provides Access to EndNote

Queen's University now subscribes to EndNote (a Clarivate Analytics product). The Queen's University Library Citation Management Guide  includes detailed information on how to get started with EndNote and other citation management systems.  Ask your Education Librarians if you encounter obstacles with either product and we will search for a solution with you. Other research tools available to Queen's researchers are listed on the Information Technology Services site.

Research Services Beyond Queen's

INTERLIBRARY LOANS:  RACER

Use the RACER Interlibrary Loans service to request materials not available at Queen's U Library.  We work with libraries across North America and beyond to supply you with the materials your research investigation requires.

Use your Queen's card barcode and your last name (in lowercase) to log in to your RACER account to request the item. Just fll out the blank request form available on the left sidebar and our staff will take it from there.  Print materials usually arrive within 1-2 weeks; journal articles & single chapters are delivered to your email in pdf format within a few days.

We encourage you to check with a research librarian before requesting articles via RACER as there may be paths to the book or article you seek that did not show up in your search results.  We are happy to double check for immediate access to the item. We will also consider purchasing titles needed for your research, especially if they are core to your area of study.  Ebook purchases are typically available in 24 hours, so don't hesitate to ask us about this.

There is no charge for the Interlibrary Loan service at Queen's.  We want to be sure you have access to the collections you need for your research and understand that no one library can have deep collections on every topic.  Don't hesitate to keep us informed about the sources you seek!

Featured Title

The new Winter 2020 issue of Research in a Nutshell is edited by Stephen MacGregor and Lindsay Mainhood and highlights recent work by 4 of our Faculty of Education PhD candidates.  Read about how teachers become "assessment-capable" (Andrew Coombs), how teachers decide about financial literacy resources for their classroom (Jen McConnel), why teachers need to know about "academic language" (Wei Yan), and how "gender expression" is emerging in Ontario school board policy documents (Jacob DesRochers).

Congratulations on your contributions to these publications, Andrew, Jen, Wei, and Jacob!

For all issues of RiaN, go to https://educ.queensu.ca/research-in-a-nutshell

On-Campus Services

REQUEST AN ITEM CURRENTLY NOT AVAILABLE

Need a book fthat is currently not available or not at your nearest campus library? Use the REQUEST link on the item's record to request that an item be delivered to your library of choice.  Delivery time is usually 2 days if the item is in the Library.  If the item is signed out, a hold will be placed on short term loans (2 weeks) and a recall will be placed on regular loans (120-day loans).  Recalls modify the due date of the item to 1 week from the date of the recall (everyone is, however, guaranteed items for 2 weeks).  An email will be sent to you to let you know once the item is available for pick-up, or you can track its status in real time in Omni.

PRINT / COPY / SCAN

Add "Tri-Colour Cash" to your Queen's photo-ID student/staff/faculty card to print from any computer in any Queen's Library -- or from your own laptop to one of our new "Multi-Function Devices" (formerly known as copiers).

Use Visa, MasterCard, or Interac to purchase the Tri-Colour Cash. It will appear on your statement as Queen's Optional Meal Plans.

Copy:  10 cents/page (b&w); 45 cents/page (colour)

Print:  9 cents/page (b&w double-sided); 40 cents/page (colour double-sided)

Scan:  free (it is a scan-to-data key service only)  Staff at our Service Desks can lend you a data key if you need one to scan to and then send the file to yourself via email from a computer.

Student2Scholar: Open Access Learning Modules

student2scholar

Are you looking for an introduction to -- or a review of -- the research cycle and how to use the major research tools available today?

Student2Scholar is a series of free, focused, learning modules that will introduce you to the basic concepts from your initial struggles with developing a question to the dissemination of your research results.

Register for free and explore the whole series or dip in as needed.  High quality content created by librarians at 3 Education Libraries at Ontario universities in 2016.