House of Commons Chamber Business includes links for Debates (Hansard), Journals, Order Papers and Notices, Status of House Business, Bills, and House of Commons Committees (1994 - current).
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1792 - 1839/40 | Journals of the House Assembly of Upper Canada |
CA2 ON X2 J52 (Documents Folio) Canadiana Online |
| 1793 - 1837 | Journals of the House Assembly, Lower Canada |
CA2 PQ X2 J51 (Documents Folio) Canadiana Online |
| 1841 - 1866 | Journals of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada 1860-1866 - Sessional Papers are published as a separate volume, and continued by Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada (CA1 YS S26) |
CA1 X2 J52 |
| 1870 - 1993 | Votes and Proceedings of the House of Commons of Canada Continued by Journals of the House of Commons of Canada (CA1 X2 J55, 1994 - current) |
CA1 X5 V78 |
| 1867 - 1993 | Journals of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada Continued by Journals of the House of Commons of Canada (CA1 X2 J55) |
Canadiana Online |
| 1994 - current | Journals of the House of Commons of Canada Continues both Votes and Proceedings of the House of Commons of Canada (CA1 X5 V78) and the Journals of the House of Commons of Canada (CA1 X2 J53) |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1841 - 1874 | Debates of the Legislative Assembly of United Canada 1841-1856 in Print; 1846-1874 in Microfilm |
CA1 X1 D21 |
| 1865 | Debates on Confederation of British North American Provinces | |
| 1867 - current | House of Commons Debates (Hansard) |
Parl.ca: House Business |
| 1867 - 1996 | Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada Debates of the Senate and House of Commons from the 1st to 35th Parliament |
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1962 - current | Bills of the House of Commons of Canada |
LEGISinfo |
| 1991 - current | Canadian Legislative Record List all public and private government bills from the federal, provincial and territorial governments. Also includes Amendments to bills after second reading and royal assents. |
CA7 CCH P67 (1991 - 2009) |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1867 - 1925 | Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada Comprises all documents requested to be tabled in the House so that members can do their job. The most common types are Royal Commissions and Task Force reports, Annual Reports of departments, etc. If these reports were printed for distribution outside the House they became part of the published Sessional Papers. If they remain as "one of a kind" documents that were 'not printed', they are part of the Unpublished Sessional Papers of Canada. Missing volumes can be found in Special Collections. |
Canadiana Online Internet Archive |
| 1916 - 1986 | Unpublished Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada Microfilm collection of documents tabled in the House of Commons, but 'not printed' (published) in the Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada or otherwise. Coverage: 12th Parl. Session 6, 1916 - 34th Parl.,Session 1,2,3, 1988. Papers prior to this were lost in the Parliamentary fire of 1916. Shelved in Documents Microform Cabinets. Use Journals of the House of Commons as a proxy 'index' to these papers. |
CA1 YS S25 |
| 1924/25 - 1972/73 | Annual Departmental Reports of the Dominion of Canada Continuation of the Annual Reports published up to this point in the Sessional Papers of the Dominion of Canada. Note: Volume 5, Trade of Canada (1925/26 - 1938/39) are shelved in Documents Folio. |
CA1 YS S27 Internet Archive (1925 - 1930) |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1841 - 1930 | General Index to the Journal of the House of Commons of the Dominion of Canada and the Sessional Papers of Parliament 1841 - 1851 | 1852 - 1866 | 1867 - 1876 | 1877 - 1890 | 1891 - 1903 | 1904 - 1915 | 1916 - 1930 |
CA1 XS 72G23 (Reference) |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1867 - current | Federal Budgets Federal Budgets from the House of Commons Debates (CA1 X1 D23) |
Parl.ca: Budgets |
| 1968 - current | Federal Budget Department of Finance budget documents (budget plan, budget in brief, and budget speech) |
|
| House of Commons Committees Produce Minutes of Proceedings, Evidence, and Reports (Standing, Special/Select, Joint, Sub) |
Parliament: Committees |
|
| 1962 - current | Order Paper and Notice Paper Order of busines and notices of the House of Commons |
Parl.ca: House Business |
| 1965 - 2002 | Ottawa Letter Weekly reports, with cumulative indexes, to activities of the federal government, including an alphabetic list of bills. |
CA7 CCH V35 ProQuest |
| 1991 | Precis of Procedure, 5th edition Procedural questions dealing with usages, forms, customs and precedents of the House of Commons of Canada and on parliamentary tradition in Canada and other jurisdictions, so far as they may be applicable to the House. House of Commons: Our Procedure has replaced the Precis of Procedure. It is a collection of articles on specialized procedural topics. |
CA1 X9 96P66 (Reference) |
Senate Chamber Business includes links for Debates, Journals, Order Paper and Notice Paper, Progress fo Legislation, Rules of the Senate, and Procedural Information (1994 - current).
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1792 - 1839/40 | Journals of the Legislative Council of Upper Canada |
CA2 ON Y2 J78 |
| 1841-1866 | Journals of the Legislative Council of the Province of Canada |
CA1 Y2 J78 |
| 1867 - current | Journals of the Senate of Canada |
Sencanada.ca: Journals Canadiana Online |
| 2004 - current | Order Paper and Notice Paper of the Senate of Canada |
Sencanada.ca: Order Paper and Notice Paper Publications.gc.ca |
| 1867 - current | Debates of the Senate Starting with the 34th Parliament, the cumulative index is available on microfiche and online |
CA1 Y1 D32 |
| 1991 - 2005 | Unpublished Senate Debates Index | Publications.gc.ca |
| 1867 - 1996 | Historical Debates of the Parliament of Canada Debates of the Senate and House of Commons from the 1st to 35th Parliament |
Canadian Parliamentary Historical Resources |
| Senate Committees Produce Minutes of Proceedings, Evidence, and Reports (Standing, Special/Select, Joint, Sub) |
The official newspaper of the Government of Canada. Published since 1841, the Canada Gazette covers new statutes and regulations, proposed regulations, decisions of administrative boards and an assortment of government notices. Private sector notices which are required by statute to be published to inform the public also appear.
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1867 - current | Part I Notices and proposed regulations |
CA1 YX99 C14 |
| 1947 - current | Part II Official regulations |
CA1 YX99 C15 |
| 1974 - current | Part III Acts of parliament |
CA1 YX99 C16 |
| 1998 - current | Online access to the Canada Gazette |
Canada Gazette Library and Archives Canada |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1792 - current | Acts of Parliament | HeinOnline |
| 1974 - current | Acts of Parliament - Canada Gazette, Part III Acts of parliament |
Canada Gazette |
| 1841 - 1866 | Statutes of the Province of Canada | |
| 1843 - 1864 | Public Acts of the Province of Canada Note: first readings of Bills are only available in published form from 1962. |
CA1 XB B54 |
| 1859 | Consolidated Statutes of Canada (Uppper and Lower Canada) | |
| 1867 - current | Statutes of Canada | CA1 YX21 S71 |
| 1993 - current | Table of Public Statutes and Responsible Ministers | |
| 1886,1906, 1927, 1952, 1970, & 1985 | Revised Statutes of Canada | |
| 1939 - current | Canada Statute Citator | Canadian Legislative Material (Law Library) |
| Online access to Statutes |
| Year: | Description: | Location: |
|---|---|---|
| 1947 - current | Canada Gazette, Part II Official regulations |
Canada Gazette |
| Consolidated Regulations of Canada |