Skip to main content

Government Information: Canada

Information and publications from Canadian governments at federal, provincial, territorial and municipal levels. Also includes help finding information from the census and the Canadian Research Index (MICROLOG).

Microlog & ProFile Collections


Overview

Microlog is a collection of Canadian federal, provincial and local government publications on microfiche. It also includes some publications from non-governmental research organizations, professional associations and special interest groups. It was a subscription-based product available between 1979 and 2018.

The ProFile and Urban Canada microfiche collections preceded Microlog. ProFile contains publications from Canadian provinces, territories and selected municipalities, and Urban Canada contains government and non-government publications in the field or urban and regional planning.

Coverage

  • ProFile: 1973-1978
  • Urban Canada: 1977-1978
  • Microlog: 1979-2017

(Note: Queen's University Library subscribed to the Microlog Complete collection, covering all regions and levels of government.)

Access

Searching for documents from 1973-1981

To find ProFile, Urban Canada and pre-1982 Microlog documents, you will need to use the printed indexes located in the Government Documents reference collection:

Searching for documents from 1982-2017

Microlog documents from 1982 onwards are findable by way of the Canadian Research Index (CRI). Queen's subscribed to the CRI as records imported directly into the library's online catalogue. Queen's does not subscribe to the web-based version of the CRI, which is no longer being updated as of January 1, 2019.

While there is no separate search interface for Microlog at Queen's, you can use Omni to restrict your search to Microlog by using Omni's Advanced Search and adding a row specifying that the Call Number contain the word MICROLOG.

Location of microfiche

The ProFile, Urban Canada and Microlog collections are all located in the Government Documents collection on the Lower Level of Stauffer Library. The collection is stored in cabinets along the East wall of the library.

 

 




Government Information Guides


Related Resources