Building Effective Physical Education Programs by
Building Effective Physical Education Programs is a unique text focused on designing and delivering school physical education programs. The text succeeds in helping pre-service, novice, and more experienced teachers to understand the essential components necessary to create and deliver impactful physical education programs within their school or organization. Through its use of engaging learning experiences found in each chapter, this text is ideal for use across various physical education teacher courses and teacher professional development programs. Written for an international audience, Building Effective Physical Education Programs acknowledges both the similarities and differences of physical education programs from country to country. International case studies are included to further illustrate worldwide practices. This text is appropriate for the student who is interested in the field of physical education as well as the seasoned professional with years of experience. Key Features: Learning Experience boxes help readers apply knowledge gained from the text to real-world practice by utilizing activities and critical-thinking questions to drive comprehension. An international perspective on physical education provides a global viewpoint and gives students a broad context for different program types A focus on current trends and issues makes this text relevant and timely Ancillaries provide instructors with the tools to implement a successful physical education teacher education course. Instructor resources include: Instructor's Manual, Test Bank and PowerPoint presentations Student resources include: Companion website and Student Study Guide
Phenomenology and pedagogy in physical education : knowledge, experience and ethics by
This book is the first to offer a philosophically-sound investigation of phenomenological perspectives on pedagogy in physical education. The book argues that phenomenology offers a particularly interesting theoretical approach to physical education because of the closely embodied relationship between the knowledge object (the actions, activities and practices of movement) and the knowing subject (the pupil). Drawing on the work of key phenomenological thinkers but also exploring the implications of this work for teaching practice, the book helps to illuminate our understanding of important concepts in physical education such as practical knowledge, skill acquisition, experience and ethics. This is fascinating reading for any serious student or researcher working in physical education or the philosophy or sociology of sport.
Physical Education Activity Handbook by
The Physical Education Activity Handbook, Thirteenth Edition provides existing and future physical education teachers with the content knowledge and teaching techniques they need to offer their students a chance to learn a wide range of engaging activities. More than 40 activities are explained, with essential information such as equipment, rules, skills and techniques, teaching and learning strategies, and a comprehensive reference section for further expertise. Activity chapters instruct the reader in three key areas: what the activity is, how to do it, and how to teach it to others. Using this text, teachers and teachers-in-training alike will be fully prepared to offer their students a varied learning experience that is engaging, exciting, and meaningful. The Thirteenth Edition features the addition of Zumba and Pilates content, new instructive web links in the end of chapter material, and updated instructions and photos.
Physical Education for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders by
Current estimates are that 1 out of 88 children will be diagnosed with some form of autism. Planning a curriculum that includes all students, including those with ASD, can be a challenging task but well worth the effort. This book identifies strategies that highlight students' skills, interests, and abilities though collaborative practices, environmental design, and assistive technologies. Physical Education for Students With Autism Spectrum Disorders: A Comprehensive Approach - introduces the inclusion spectrum as a tool to help teachers analyze appropriate instruction for students, aligning abilities with curriculum and activity context; - provides information on tools such as scripts, video modeling, social stories, and choice boards to assist teachers in developing programs; - presents a variety of activities that teachers can choose from to help students with ASD develop social and motor skills; and - assimilates best practices from general and adapted PE as well as autism training and research that offer solutions for increased student engagement in physical education.
Self-Study in Physical Education Teacher Education by
In this in-depth examination of self-study as a research methodology, an international selection of physical education scholars share their ideas and experiences and consider the value of self-study as a vector for highlighting the emerging conflicts, dilemmas, and debates currently developing in teaching and teacher education pedagogies. A vital new addition to Springer's series Self-Study of Teacher Education Practices, the volume is divided into three sections assessing the significance of the approach itself, offering detailed subject-relevant case studies, and exploring the nuances and controversies attending the evolution of the methodology. The contributors show how self-study enables reflexivity in pedagogical practice, a notable lacuna in current critical research, and at the same time they make the technique accessible to scholars of physical education wanting a practicable introduction to the subject. The analysis also explores the implications of applying self-study to pedagogy itself, to the curriculum, and to human movement and educational practice more generally. By embracing more organic, emergent notions of research practice and learning, the book achieves a broader and more inclusive survey of pedagogical work in physical education teacher education that fully acknowledges the complexities of the field.
Health and Physical Education by
Health and Physical Education empowers the health and physical education teachers of tomorrow to engage students across a wide range of learning ages. It highlights the importance of physical skills development within the broader structure of child and adolescent maturity. This well-structured and engaging text considers the role of health and physical education within the wider educational experience, and provides a comprehensive overview of the skills and theory required to teach health and physical education in Australian schools. Health and Physical Education is based on current research literature and is enhanced by a range of valuable teaching resources - including further reading, end-of-chapter questions and case studies - intended to extend and develop students' learning. It is accompanied by an extensive companion website, http://www.cambridge.edu.au/academic/hpe.
Comprehensive School Health Education by
The most widely used college health education text and teacher resource book, Comprehensive School Health Education provides everything needed to teach health in grades K-12. This text prepares teachers to design and implement a curriculum that integrates the 2007 National Health Education Standards (NHES), the six categories of risk behavior identified by the CDC, and the ten content areas of school health. Included are Totally Awesome Teaching Strategies(tm), reproducible Teaching Masters, and a Curriculum Guide, all keyed to the NHES at age-appropriate grade levels. With more than 120 teaching strategies to use as lesson plans, Comprehensive School Health Education offers teachers and future teachers a dynamic and empowering approach to teaching health skills and promoting lifelong healthy behaviors in their students.
Effectiveness of school-based interventions in reducing adolescent risk behaviours [electronic resource] : a systematic review of reviews by
Dangerous Behavior.
Risk Reduction Behavior.
Adolescent Behavior.
School Health Services.
Health Promotion--methods.
Adolescent.
The Fat Pedagogy Reader by
Over the past decade, concerns about a global obesity epidemic have flourished. Public health messages around physical activity, fitness, and nutrition permeate society despite significant evidence disputing the facts we have come to believe about obesity. to be called fat pedagogy. The very first book of its kind, The Fat Pedagogy Reader brings together an international, interdisciplinary roster of respected authors who share heartfelt stories of oppression, privilege, resistance, and action; fascinating descriptions of empirical research; confessional tales of pedagogical (mis)adventures; and diverse accounts of educational interventions that show promise. activists. Concluding with a fat pedagogy manifesto, the book lays a solid foundation for this important and exciting new field. pedagogy, gender and education, critical pedagogy, social justice education, and diversity in education.
Full circle : First Nations, Metis, Inuit ways of knowing : a Common threads resource by
Health: Physical / Emotional / Mental / Spiritual
"The OSSTF/FEESO Common Threads V writing team is pleased to provide Ontario educators with a set of high quality resources that promote the integration of First Nations, Métis and Inuit "ways of knowing" into classrooms across the province."--p.4
Positive Behavior Support in Secondary Schools by
This much-needed guide shows how to implement positive behavior support (PBS) strategies in secondary settings, using a three-tiered approach. The authors adapt the core ideas of PBS to the developmental context of adolescence and the organizational structures of middle schools and junior and senior high schools. With an emphasis on data-based decision making, the book provides ideas and examples for meeting the behavioral needs of all students, from those with emerging concerns to those with ongoing, chronic problems. It takes practitioners step by step through planning, implementing, evaluating, and sustaining schoolwide, small-group, and individual interventions. In a large-size format with convenient lay-flat binding, the book includes useful reproducible forms.
When eating disorders and substance abuse problems collide : understanding, preventing, identifying and addressing eating disorders and substance abuse issues in youth by
Key Messages
1. Youth with food- and weight-related behaviour problems are more likely to engage in substance abuse. The reverse is also true.
2. When eating disorders and substance abuse occur together they are related to increased costs at the individual, family and community levels.
3. To address eating disorders, substance abuse and their co-occurrence, evidence-based prevention, screening and treatment approaches are needed.
The built environment around schools and the lifestyle habits of young people by
Most scientific studies show meaningful connections between the characteristics of the built
environment and the eating habits, physical activity and body weight of young people.
Handbook of School Mental Health by
With so few therapeutic outlets readily available to young people, schools have evolved into mental health centers for many students. Chapters model best practices for promoting wellness and safety, early detection of emotional and behavioral problems, and school-based interventions.
School mental health: A Multidisciplinary Research and Practice Journal
A Multidisciplinary Research and Practice Journal
Coverage includes: innovative school based treatment practices; training procedures; educational techniques for children with emotional and behavioral disorders; racial, ethnic and cultural issues; and the role of families in school mental health.