Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Latin American Studies

Article Indexes

Use an index to find magazine and journal articles. Articles are important in your research as they contain the most up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic. There are different types of articles: scholarly, popular or trade.

For access to full-text electronic journal articles, use the Journal search to search by journal title or subject.

Key Indexes

PAIS International & Archive includes mini-abstracts to journal articles, books, statistical yearbooks, and more... from around the world. Coverage includes: international company information; and scholarly literature on the public and social policy of business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, and contemporary public issues.
 
Restricted to one user. A major source of information on political and economic developments in Latin America and the Caribbean. Content is prepared for and targeted to business investors, government officials and the academic community.
 
Provides full-text and citations to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America and the Caribbean.
 

HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Online
HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.

Other Useful Indexes

Factiva
Factiva has many fulltext sources (newspapers, journals) in various languages. To see what is listed in this database, select Source, Browse Sources, and Publications - by region.
 
A multilingual, multidisciplinary database.
 
A comprehensive, international and interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, geology, ecology, environmental issues and Third World studies. Indexes 5,000 periodicals plus non-serial publications.
 
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).