Library Resources for Remote Instruction

Most courses discuss academic integrity in the context of their discipline and a specific assignment. For research-based assessments, students can benefit from written deconstruction of project expectations. Your handout could describe:

• Context: how the paper relates to the course material if not apparent.
• Expectations for skills that can be developed by the research project  (synthesis, analysis, evaluation, new ideas).
• How topic is decided and how students can get advice on the scope of their topic. Degree of collaboration allowed.
• Logistics such as number/range/date of citations & citation style. See Citing Sources. Review  Citation Management software if appropriate
• Specify recommended research tools:
  • Key library research guides in the field
  • Specific disciplinary databases
  • Introductory textbooks for new vocabulary and terminology  
  • Online handbooks and academic encyclopedias for background information.
    ​Tip: search Omni using handbook, encyclopedia, or dictionary and topical keywords; or search a specific collection e.g. Oxford Handbooks Online (over 1000 handbooks) 

• Assistance offered:  Subject Librarians in every discipline offer workshops on research strategy; Student Academic Success Services offers help with Academic Skills and Writing Resources.
• Grading criteria. Rubrics are especially helpful when they are reviewed within the class before the assignment is completed. Consult the CTL guide to rubrics.