Skip to Main Content

Drama

Omni: Basic and Advanced Searching

Basic Searching

The default search in Omni is basic search. Enter one or more keywords into the Omni search box, choose the scope you wish to search (please note, if you are starting your search from the library homepage, the scope is automatically set to Queen's - this can be adjusted once you've executed a search), then click the search button. 

Basic search supports the use of Boolean operators: AND, OR or NOT, and they must be entered in uppercase (e.g. theater OR theatre).

To search for a specific phrase, type quotation marks around the phrase, otherwise AND is assumed between each word.  (example: "method acting").

Once you have your initial search results, you can fine-tune them by using the filters on the left side of the screen.

Advanced Searching

Use the advanced search option for more precise searching. Using the drop-down options within the Advanced Search screen you can limit your search to specific fields and/or a combination of fields (Author, Title, Subject, Call number). You can also specify that your search words must be contained in the search field ("contains", "starts with" or "is (exact)."  

Specific dates and languages can be selected. Resource type will limit your search to a specific format or material type, such as book or ebooks.

Boolean Operators

Use AND to tell the database that ALL search terms must be present in results. Narrows your search results  theatre AND history AND england
Use OR between words for synonyms. Broadens your search results plays AND (victorian OR 19th OR nineteenth)
Use NOT to exclude terms dramatist* AND irish NOT shaw
Use quotation marks around phrases "fin de siècle"
? for single character wildcard (useful for variable spellings) wom?n for woman, women
* for truncation (multiple character wildcard). Useful for variant endings of a root word. theat* for theatre, theater, theatrical
brackets to group similar or possible terms (nested searching) plays AND (inuit OR "first nations" OR metis OR indigenous)

Journal Search

If you are already in the Omni search interface, choose the "Journal Search" option near the top of the page and enter the title of the journal (or magazine or newspaper) in the search box (to enlarge this image, please right-select the image below and open it in a New Tab):

journal title search

In the relevant record in your search results, click on the title of the journal. From there you can access the full text (if the journal is online) and also search inside for articles within the journal, directly from the record:

search for articles within this journal

Other Tools

Omni offers a number of useful tools that you can use to organize, save, and cite your research.  Log into Omni to get the maximum use out of tools.

cite icon Citation icon Select one of ten different citation styles and generate a citation to the item. Be sure to check citations for accuracy
envelope icon Envelope icon Email a record to the item
pushpin icon Pushpin icon Save this item to your list of favourites in Omni
citation trails Citation trails Lead to sources that cite the work or to references cited in the item
ellipsis icon Ellipsis icon Shows action options including citation, email, permalink, export to citation managers and print record

Subject Headings

Search Scopes

Omni provides you with three different content collections to search:

  1. Queen's: physical and online resources at Queen's
  2. Queen's + Omni Libraries: adds the physical holdings* of our 13 partner university libraries
  3. Add results beyond Queen's collection: Accessed when you select this option under Modify your results. "Beyond" refers to a vast collection of electronic resources contained in the Omni vendor database

*At this time, only print books may be borrowed via Interlibrary loan from our Omni partners

New Features

Related Reading

Starting from an article of interest, related reading provides other relevant articles for the same topic. 

(To enlarge this image, please right-select the image and open it in a New Tab)

related reading

Virtual Browse

Discover other books at Queen's on the same topic by browsing a virtual book shelf. Available in Omni records for print monographs, scroll to the bottom of the book's record to discover other print monographs that would be shelved with the item.

(To enlarge this image, please right-select the image and open it in a New Tab)

virtual browse