Skip to Main Content

Drama

Key Journal Indexes

Covers journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
 
Fundamental research tool for the humanities - over 4000 international journals in the humanities.
 
Provides access to English language literature in full text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals

Other Useful Indexes

Indexes the contents of articles from small and alternative journals / magazines. Includes coverage of experimental and political theatre.
 
Comprehensive index to articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations about American and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to present.
 
Indexes both scholarly articles about the theater and critical reviews of theatrical performances. A&HCI is part of Web of Science. To search this database select A&HCI under MORE SETTINGS near the bottom of the screen.
 
Index to over 700 Canadian journals and newspapers.
 
Comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present. Indexes journal articles, selected books and dissertations.
 
Readers' Guide
REF AI3 .R4 from 1900-2006 (Readers's Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
Indexes over 300 general interest journals, magazines, and newspapers from Canada / U.S.

Interdisciplinary Journal Databases

JSTOR (ejournal archive to entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

Project MUSE (initially a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU, providing digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995 from leading university presses and scholarly societies)

Evaluate Articles

Consider these criteria in evaluating sources:

Level: Do you need an overview of principles, basic terminology, or details? Books and encycloepdias provide an introoduction. Artciles provide more focussed analysis.

Authority: We construct authority as part of our academic culture. For example, peer-review is a mark of work that is acknowedged as authoritative. However, there are other forms of authority such as that of Indigenous elders and knwoledge keepers, musicians, artists, and performers. Consider the context of the information to determine whether it can be deemed authoritative.

Context: In what context is the information written: historical, social, political, cultural, musical development, etc. You may be seeking information from multiple contexts.

Perspective: Whose voices are represented? A primary source presents information wrtitten by individuals from another time. Is it a secondary source written by a historian interpreting the past? Is it written by a member of the group under examination such as a specific Indigenous nation, types of musicians, or performers from a specific locale. 

Also check: Evaluating Sources Checklist  -- Scholarly and Popular Sources -- Evaluating Web Sources -- Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals.