BIPOC Demands for White American Theatre
Created by We See You White American Theatre, a “collective of multi-generational, multi-disciplinary, early career, emerging and established artists, theater managers, executives, students, administrators, dramaturges and producers,” this document offers specific, actionable ways that the theatre industry needs to change, in the United States, and in Canada.
The Only Animal: See this theatre company's EDI policy
Oriental, Black, and White: The formation of racial habits in American theater
Diversity, inclusion, and representation in contemporary dramaturgy : case studies from the field
A resource on the Canadian Theatre Educator's Conference site. Includes links to over 900 productions available online as audio dramas, filmed productions, or recordings of online pieces. Includes section highlighting online plays featuring BIPOC artists.
Black Drama - 1850 to Present: Plays from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. Black Drama, Third Edition contains the full text of more than 1.700 plays from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. The collection includes musical comedies, domestic dramas, folk dramas, history plays, anti-slavery plays, one-act plays, and other works.
Black Playwrights: Descriptions and roles.
Studio 58 Database of Diverse Plays and Playwrights includes plays by women, LGBTQ+, BIPOC, and diverse cultural backgrounds (self-defined by the writers). One section dedicated to Canadian writers
The Routledge Companion to African American Theatre and Performance
Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre by Moynagh, M. A. (2005). African-Canadian theatre
Clarke, G. E. (2012). Directions home : approaches to African-Canadian literature.
Sarah Waisvisz is a Queen's professor, playwright, director, and performer. See her article suggesting that "Canadian theatre artists of all backgrounds pay more attention to non-Western cultural concepts ...and better honour BIPOC cultures and bodies:" Waisvisz, S. (2021). We Are Holding Our Breath: Canadian Theatre after the Explosions. Canadian Theatre Review, 186, 59–64. https://doi.org/10.3138/ctr.186.011
Plays and Play Lists
Black Canadian Playwrights: List by Canadian Playwrights Press.
Deverell, R. S. (2011). Give voice : ten twenty-minute plays from the Obsidian Theatre Company
Nyoka, G. (2004). Mella mella
Corthron, K. (2004). Safe box
Sears, D. (2000). Testifyin’ : contemporary African Canadian drama. Collection of monologues.
Knowles, R. P., Seremba, G., Sears, D., & Gale, L. (2011). Afrika, solo. Come good rain / by George Seremba -- Je me souviens : memories of an expatriate Anglophone, Montréalaise, Québécoise, exiled in Canada / by Lorena Gale.
Sears, D. (2000). Tellin’ it like it is : a compendium of African Canadian monologues for actors .
Note; Bridge; Sound of the be; Wilberforce Hotel; Black lives, Black words; Our fathers, sons, lovers, and little brothers are on order: Playwrights Canada Press.
Beyond the Pale: Dramatic Writing from First Nations Writers & Writers of Colour by Cockroach by eff Ho (Ho Ka Kei): Asian Queer work.
The untitled f*ck m*ss s**gon play -by Kimber Lee: highlights the injustices done to Asian women throughout theatre's history.
Embodied Avatars: Genealogies of Black Feminist Art and Performance by Uri McMillan: navigating intersectional/racialized performance through a different lens.
A Perfect Bowl of Pho by Nam Nguyen: a musical! about pho and the lineage of the Asian identity play.
Race-Conscious Casting: Suggestions for approaching plays featuring Black/POC characters in a drama class
Stratford Festival: Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Report
Black Acting Methods
