Skip to Main Content

Drama

Streaming Resources

Access from off-campus to streaming resources requires the web proxy. If the link does not work from here, go to the library homepage, click on Databases, and type the name of the database.

Criterion on-Demand: Over 2900 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more for streaming or downloading. Requires use of the Microsoft Silverlight plug-in on both PC and Mac.

Digital Theatre Plus: over 900 full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera and adaptations of classic novels. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries and educational resources: plot summary, character biographies, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.

Films on Demand: Documentaries and educational videos, including a section on World Music in the Music and Dance Video Collection. Requires latest version of Adobe Flash Player.

Globe on Screen (2008-2015): productions from Shakespeare's Globe in London, England.

Globe on Screen 2 (2016-2018)

Met Opera on Demand: 600+ Metropolitan Opera performances from 1977-2003, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. 5-user limit.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: Published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Includes music recorded in Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, North, Central and South America.

National Theatre CollectionNTC contains 30 filmed performances, including 10 years of NT Live broadcasts and high-quality recordings from the NT’s Archive.

Naxos Music Library: Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.

Naxos Video Library: Over 1370 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, jazz, live concerts and documentaries, searchable by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.

NFB.ca: National Film Board Videos Online: Canadian resource Over 1000 NFB films are free to all Canadians, but Queen's Library community also has an additional account giving access to 3,000 films for classrooms.

RSC Live Collection: Stratford-upon-Avon's The Royal Shakespeare Company began live screenings of its productions in 2013.

Theatre in Video: original productions, performed for a live theatre audience. Browse by productions, documentaries, people, genres, companies, theatres, and dates.

Black Filmakers from NFB

Celebrate Black Canadian cinema with the NFB. Explore their free collection of titles from Black filmmakers across Canada, showcasing an extensive selection of stories told from Black perspectives.

Black History Month from NFB

Explore the collection of films by distinguished Black filmmakers, creators, and allies. A selected a group of films portray the multi-layered lives of Canada’s diverse Black communities. The incredible stories of strength, courage and perseverance in the face of adversity that these films present are not often found in mainstream history books. Black communities and cultures have been part of Canadian history from its earliest days, but sadly, their contributions and the lessons they can teach are rarely studied at the elementary or secondary level in schools.

Multimedia Resources in the Library

There are many other multimedia resources (books with CDs, music LPs and CDs, and VHS and DVD recordings) that are accessible in the library. Search a topic in Omni using Keyword Boolean and adding the terms (video? or disc), or Limit Your Search string to Videos/DVDs/Streaming Video.

DVDs and VHS are found in the Multimedia Collection on the ground floor of Stauffer. Music CDs are found in the Music Collection on the 2nd floor. LPs must be requested from storage at the Circulation Desk on the ground floor of Stauffer.