Skip to main content

Resources for Decolonizing Your Teaching

This list offers resources to support a path towards decolonizing our teaching.

Queen's Library Guides

Queen’s Library offers several guides on Indigenous topics: Under Search >> Research by Subject:

  • Indigenous Studies: Includes section on finding Indigenous authors, lists of databases, multimedia.
  • Indigenous Language Revitalization: Resources for learning Ojibwe / Anishinaabemowin, Cree, Inuktitut, and Mohawk.
  • Indigenous Health: Books, journals , databases, and multimedia.
  • Aboriginal Curriculum Resources: Resources supporting intermediate-senior education (grades 7-12) in Ontario.
  • Aboriginal Law and Indigenous Laws: Includes information on: Kingston – The Crawford Purchase; Treaty of Niagara; Treaties 1, 4, 7, 9
  • Treaty Number 9: Treaty 9 (also known as the James Bay Treaty) is one of the 11 post-Confederation Numbered Treaties. It covers most of present-day Ontario north of the height of land dividing the Great Lakes watershed from the Hudson and James Bay drainage basins.

* Try Omni or Google Scholar for decolonizing or indigenizing approaches in your discipline.

Queen's Resources

Office of Indigenous Initiatives. See their recommended reads for Indigenous history month.

Indigenous Initiatives Visitorship Fund: Grants to assist with costs of inviting external speakers and-or organizing a scholarly event

Queen's Indigenous Cultural Services Handbook: Describes the cultural protocols involved when requesting Indigenous Cultural Services such as requests for an Elder, Knowledge Keeper or Cultural Advisor.

Queen’s Agnes Etherington Art Centre searchable art database