Skip to Main Content

Government Information: Foreign and International


European Union Parliament Strasbourg

General Resources

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Not exclusively European, but 24 of 34 member countries are in Europe.

European Union (EU)

The EU is an economic and political union of 28 European countries. It was established by the Treaty of Maastricht on November 1, 1993. The EU traces its origins back to the European Coal and Steel Community founded by Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands in 1951.

European Free Trade Association (EFTA)

EFTA is an intergovernmental organization promoting economic integration and free trade benefiting its 4 member states. Members of EFTA are not members of the EU, but several EU members were formerly a part of EFTA. EFTA was founded in 1960, with Austria, Denmark, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom as its original members.

Nordic Council

The Nordic Council is an inter-parliamentary body promoting cooperation between the Nordic countries, with representation from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden as well as from the Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland.

Government Information Guides

Related Resources