Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Music Theatre

Music Theatre

Key Article Databases for Music Theatre

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

Covers journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

MLA International Bibliography

Index to scholarly writing on literature, language, linguistics, literary criticism, folklore, drama, literary genres. Includes international journals, monographs, conference proceedings, essay collections, bibliographies, dissertations, working papers, and limited reviews and letters.

Music Index Online

Publication coverage: 1970 - present (some backfile indexing for 1962-1969)
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry from over 700 international music periodicals, as well as book reviews, performance reviews, obituaries, and news.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  Access limit of 4 simultaneous users
 
Publication coverage: 1967 - present
Comprehensive, scholarly, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz.

Other Related Databases

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (Primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century)

Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including drama and music)

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)

Oxford Reference Online - Music (Music collection component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Oxford Reference Online - Performing Arts (Performing arts dictionaries, companions and other Oxford reference works, 5 user limit)

Oxford Reference Online – Society and Culture (Society and Culture component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

 

Other Music Databases

Classical Scores Library

Publication coverage: 15th - 21st centuries. Includes operas, operettas

Part of the Canadian Encyclopedia, supported and updated by the Historica Foundation.
Covers popular music of all genres and periods, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music as well as popular music trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Publication coverage: 1900 to present.
Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings.
Full-text, online and updated access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.

Interdisciplinary Journal Databases

Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.  Approximately 50% of journal titles contain full-text articles)

JSTOR (ejournal archive to entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

Project MUSE (initially a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU, providing digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995 from leading university presses and scholarly societies)