Skip to Main Content
QUL logo

Music Theatre

Music Theatre

Browse Music Theatre and Opera Scores

Browse for opera and music theatre scores in the Music Collection stacks, 2nd floor Stauffer Library:

M1500 - full scores

M1503 - vocal scores

M1507-M1508 - vocal selections (operas, etc.)

M1527 - musical film scores

Find Song Titles

Search a song title in Omni Simple or Advanced Search mode using quotation marks: e.g. "bring him home".

The Song Index can help locate songs from earlier published collections/anthologies housed in the music collection stacks.

Music Scores

Scores are found on the 2nd floor of Stauffer Library: Floorplan

Types of Scores

  • Performance scores: Performance scores searchable in Omni are classified in M6 to M9999 and often include editorial or interpretive markings.
  • Miniature/Study scores are classified in the same way as the Performing scores but, because of their size, are shelved separately. These are suitable for analysis and study while listening to a piece of music.
  • Historical Sets, classed in M1 to M5, include the collected works of the masters and anthologies of historically significant works (many not found in performing editions). The scores in these valuable, historical collections are for use in the Library only.

Find Music Scores in Omni

All music scores are accessible through Omni searching by Author (i.e. composer), Title, Subject or Any Field (combining keywords using Boolean operators AND/OR/NOT).

Boolean searches are most useful to allow combination of terms (see under Uniform Titles) and include or exclude formats such as sound recordings.

Examples:

wagner AND parsifal NOT (disc OR sound OR video*)
"phantom of the opera" NOT (disc OR sound)
Note that excluding the sound recording format will retrieve scores, as well as historical, critical, and analytical works about the music. The call number will indicate if it is a score (M) or a book (ML).
Truncation (*) allows the possibility of finding a call number for the single work or a published collection (anthology) of the composer's operas, operettas, musicals, etc. which contains the individual work required.

Opera Scores on I-EDIIAA Themes

Czernowin, C. (2017) Infinite now. View the full score preview in the Schott catalog. Opera in 6 acts based on Erich Maria Remarque's All Quiet on the Western Front and texts/letters from World War I.

Glass, P. (2007). Appomattox. View full score in the WiseMusic catalog. Opera based on the surrender ending the American Civil War.

Joplin, S. (1911). Treemonisha. View the full score and audio. A young Black women is elected by her 1880s community as their leader long before women, let alone Black women, were able to vote anywhere in North America. 

Mazzoli, M. Breaking the waves. (2016). View the online vocal and full score in the G. Schirmer catalog.

Reid, E. (2018). Prism (Full score; Score in C.). Modern Works Music Publishing. Music FOLIO M1500.R45 P75 2018

Sankaram, K. (2013). Thumbprint : chamber opera in one act (Full score.) The true story of Mukhtar Mai, who was gang-raped as retribution for an alleged ‘honor’ crime and became the first woman in Pakistan to bring her rapists to justice. Physical score in cataloging process.

Sokolovic, A. (2021). A cappella work for six female voices. View an online production.

Tesori, J. (2019). Blue: an opera. Vocal score available for viewing at ISSUU. CD on order. Documentary project.

Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology

A collection of songs from the musical stage, categorized by voice type. Excerpted from the original vocal scores. Multiple volumes for each voice type: Soprano (5 v.) -- Mezzo-soprano/Alto (1 v.) -- Mezzo Soprano/Belter (3 v.) -- Tenor (5 v.) -- Baritone/Bass (5 v.) -- Duets (2 v.)

Music Theatre Scores: samples