Find background information. Starting your research with encyclopedias helps to introduce you to the topic by providing a broad overview. Here's a sampling of what's available online from the library.
Encyclopedia of Educational Innovation by
This encyclopedia offers an up to date account of the way that educational practise at all levels are being deeply impacted and changed by innovation. It provides essential entries covering details insights into the economics, sociology, management and psychology of education but also how education is affected by philosophy, history, web science and Internet Studies. It embraces fields such as collective intelligence, social media and network analysis, artificial intelligence, automation and deep learning. In a single collection, The Encyclopaedia of Educational Innovation brings together world leading researchers to guide readers through the complex and fascinating debates between innovation as the most dominant discourses of the knowledge economy and new cultural and sharing economics promoting social and open dimensions as a means of fostering international competitiveness and developing platforms for creativity and innovation. Educational innovation provides models that have the power to radically transform education and pedagogy as educational institutions become less like factories in the industrial age and more like a Google workplace in the knowledge age.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education by
The Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education is a comprehensive reference text, covering every topic in the field with entries ranging from short descriptions to much longer pieces where the topic warrants more elaboration. The entries provide access to theories and to research in the area and refer to the leading publications for further reading. The Encyclopedia is aimed at graduate students, researchers, curriculum developers, policy makers, and others with interests in the field of mathematics education. It is planned to be 700 pages in length in its hard copy form but the text will subsequently be up-dated and developed on-line in a way that retains the integrity of the ideas, the responsibility for which will be in the hands of the Editor-in-Chief and the Editorial Board. This second edition will include additional entries on: new ideas in the politics of mathematics education, working with minority students, mathematics and art, other cross-disciplinary studies, studies in emotions and mathematics, new frameworks for analysis of mathematics classrooms, and using simulations in mathematics teacher education. Existing entries will be revised and new entries written. Members of the international mathematics education research community will be invited to propose new entries. Editorial Board: Bharath Sriraman Melony Graven Yoshinori Shimizu Ruhama Even Michele Artigue Eva Jablonka Wish to Become an Author? Springer's Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education's first edition was published in 2014. The Encyclopedia is a "living" project and will continue to accept articles online as part of an eventual second edition. Articles will be peer-reviewed in a timely manner and, if found acceptable, will be immediately published online. Suggested articles are, of course, welcome. Feel encouraged to think about additional topics that we overlooked the first time around, and to suggest colleagues (including yourself!) who will want to write them. Interested new authors should contact the editor in chief, Stephen Lerman, at lermans@lsbu.ac.uk, for more specific instructions.
Encyclopedia of Science Education by
The Encyclopedia of Science Education provides a comprehensive reference work covering the range of methodologies, perspectives, foci, and cultures of this field of inquiry, and to do so via contributions from leading researchers from around the globe. Because of the frequent ways in which scholarship in science education has led to developments in other curriculum areas, the encyclopedia will have significance beyond the field of science education. "Science Education" as a name for this discipline of inquiry emerged in the late 1950s, as scholars in North America began to investigate and evaluate the wave of high school science curriculum reforms that were initiated by the USA, and began with the PSSC (Physical Science Study Committee) curriculum in Physics. Hence "Science Education" and Science Education research merged as inquiry with its own modes and traditions before any other of the curriculum areas such as Mathematics Education. And so Science Education has often been the context of the fostering and development of new ways of conceptualising and researching matters of content-specific learning, teaching, curriculum, assessment and policy. The Encyclopedia of Science Education is a comprehensive and genuinely international reference work, and is aimed at graduate students, researchers, developers in science education and science education research. The topics to be covered encompass all areas of science education and it includes biographical entries on science educators, as well as educators whose work has had an impact on science education as a research field. The development of the encyclopedia is being undertaken by an Editorial Board, who are responsible for the focus and quality of contributions, and an Advisory Board, who are responsible for advising about the inclusion of research perspectives and understandings from areas other than those represented in the English language literature.
International Encyclopedia of Education by
International Encyclopedia of Education, Fourth Edition updates readers on emerging interests and developments in the field. The book presents comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, but also includes illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e., rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations). In so doing, this encyclopedia can serve topic-specific purposes as well as be enlisted in a fashion which binds together separate entries. Sections provide comprehensive reviews and the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental. Provides comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, including illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e. rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations) Addresses the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental Presents a critical accounting of not only what educational scholars have achieved, but also current challenges
Language Policy and Political Issues in Education by
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage. Furthermore, the authors have sought to integrate these voices fully into the whole, rather than as special cases or international perspectives in separate sections. The Encyclopedia is a necessary reference set for every university and college library in the world that serves a faculty or school of education, as well as being highly relevant to the fields of applied and socio-linguistics. The publication of this work charts the further deepening and broadening of the field of language and education since the publication of the first edition of the Encyclopedia in 1997 and the second edition in 2008.
Language Testing and Assessment by
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage. Furthermore, the authors have sought to integrate these voices fully into the whole, rather than as special cases or international perspectives in separate sections. The Encyclopedia is a necessary reference set for every university and college library in the world that serves a faculty or school of education, as well as being highly relevant to the fields of applied and socio-linguistics. The publication of this work charts the further deepening and broadening of the field of language and education since the publication of the first edition of the Encyclopedia in 1997 and the second edition in 2008.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia - Communication by
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Communication is an entirely online, digital research encyclopedia that will ultimately cover the large and diverse scholarly world of Communication research.
Oxford research encyclopedia of education by
Includes bibliographical references.
Part of the resource is open access.
Quality Education by
The problems related to the process of industrialisation such as biodiversity depletion, climate change and a worsening of health and living conditions, especially but not only in developing countries, intensify. Therefore, there is an increasing need to search for integrated solutions to make development more sustainable. The United Nations has acknowledged the problem and approved the "2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development". On 1st January 2016, the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the Agenda officially came into force. These goals cover the three dimensions of sustainable development: economic growth, social inclusion and environmental protection. The Encyclopedia of the UN Sustainable Development Goals comprehensively addresses the SDGs in an integrated way. It encompasses 17 volumes, each devoted to one of the 17 SDGs. This volume addresses SDG 4, namely "Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all" and contains the description of a range of terms, to allow a better understanding and foster knowledge. Concretely, the defined targets are: Ensure that all girls and boys complete free, equitable and quality primary and secondary education leading to relevant and effective learning outcomes Ensure that all girls and boys have access to quality early childhood development, care and pre-primary education so that they are ready for primary education Ensure equal access for all women and men to affordable and quality technical, vocational and tertiary education, including university Substantially increase the number of youth and adults who have relevant skills, including technical and vocational skills, for employment, decent jobs and entrepreneurship Eliminate gender disparities in education and ensure equal access to all levels of education and vocational training for the vulnerable, including persons with disabilities, indigenous peoples and children in vulnerable situations Ensure that all youth and a substantial proportion of adults, both men and women, achieve literacy and numeracy Ensure that all learners acquire the knowledge and skills needed to promote sustainable development, including, among others, through education for sustainable development and sustainable lifestyles, human rights, gender equality, promotion of a culture of peace and non-violence, global citizenship and appreciation of cultural diversity and of culture's contribution to sustainable development Build and upgrade education facilities that are child, disability and gender sensitive and provide safe, non-violent, inclusive and effective learning environments for all Substantially expand globally the number of scholarships available to developing countries, in particular least developed countries, small island developing states and African countries, for enrollment in higher education, including vocational training and information and communications technology, technical, engineering and scientific programmes, in developed countries and other developing countries Substantially increase the supply of qualified teachers, including through international cooperation for teacher training in developing countries, especially least developed countries and small island developing states Editorial Board Olivia A.M. Freeman, Johannes M. Luetz, Petra Molthan-Hill, Theam Foo Ng, Umesh Chandra Pandey, Rudi Pretorius, Valeria Ruiz Vargas, Pinar Gökçin Özuyar
Research Methods in Language and Education by
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage. Furthermore, the authors have sought to integrate these voices fully into the whole, rather than as special cases or international perspectives in separate sections. The Encyclopedia is a necessary reference set for every university and college library in the world that serves a faculty or school of education, as well as being highly relevant to the fields of applied and socio-linguistics. The publication of this work charts the further deepening and broadening of the field of language and education since the publication of the first edition of the Encyclopedia in 1997 and the second edition in 2008.
Handbooks are more focused than encyclopedias and can lead you to additional related readings and authors. A selection of handbooks are highlighted below and you'll find even more in Omni.
The BERA/SAGE Handbook of Educational Research by 
Handbook of Arts-Based Research by 
Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by 
International Handbook of Technology Education by 
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, Third Edition by 
The SAGE Handbook of School Organization by