Skip to main content

Legal Research Manual

This edition of Legal Research Manual builds on many previous editions. While the manual is designed principally for use with the first year legal research classes, upper year law students will also find it a useful reference.

Sources for Locating Full Text Decisions

  • CanLII (Canadian Legal Information Institute) - free database funded by the Federation of Law Societies of Canada.  CanLII provides access to court judgments, tribunal decisions, statutes and regulations from all Canadian jurisdictions.

  • Indexes to Subject Law Reports (print)

  • Loose-leaf Services & Annotated Statutes (print)

  • Lexis Advance Quicklaw (online) - contains the contents of printed law reporters such as the Ontario Reports, Supreme Court Reports, and the Canadian Native Law Reporter. Lexis Advance Quicklaw also has its own judgment databases that include many unreported judgments.

  •  WestlawNext Canada (online) - contains the LawSource database--a general database of cases and legislation in addition to the fulltext Canadian Abridgment and Canadian Encyclopedic Digest. Also contains topical databases: CriminalSource, FamilySource, InsolvencySource, and SecuritiesSource. Westlaw Canada also has its own judgment databases that include many unreported judgments.

  • Internet (subscriptions via Queen's) - sources such as Labour Source.

  • BestCase (online - Queen's does not have a subscription) - contains Canada Law Book's law reports, including Dominion Law Reports, Canadian Criminal Cases, Labour Arbitration Cases, and a collection of unreported decisions.