Skip to Main Content

Primary Junior Indigenous Education Resources

Resources for K-6 teachers.

Ojibwe / Anishinaabemowin Dictionaries and Grammars

Nishnaabemwin Online Dictionary: Focused on Odawa and Eastern Anishinaabemowin dialects.
Ojibwe People's Dictionary: Maintained by the University of Minnesota.

Anishinaubae Thesaurus by Basil H. Johnston
Call Number: PM 852 .J59 2007 (Stauffer)
ISBN: 9780870137532
Publication Date: 2007-02-02
Gdi-nweninaa: Our Sound, Our Voice by Shirley Ida Williams
Call Number: PM 853 .W55 2002 (Education Library)
ISBN: 9780973144215
Our Ojibwe Grammar: A Reference Grammar in the Chippewa Language by Rick Gresczyk
Call Number: PM852 .G73 1997 (Education, Teacher's Collection)
Publication Date: 1997

Resources for Learning Anishinaabemowin

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa Indians Teaching and Learning Resources: Contains lesson plans, visual aids, worksheets, and audio clips of Anishinaabemowin speakers.

Anishnaabemowin: miinwa anishnaabe zheyaawin = Our language, our culture by Gordon Shawanda; Hamilton Regional Indian Centre Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Free Online; PM852 .S43 2001 (Stauffer)
ISBN: 0968877907
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Gookom's Language: Learning Ojibwe by Patricia M. Ningewance
Call Number: PM 851 .N57 2004 (Education, Teacher's Collection)
ISBN: 9780969782636
Workbook to accompany Talking Gookom's Language: Learning Ojibwe by Patricia M. Ningewance
Call Number: PM 851 .N57 2015 (Education, Teacher's Collection)
ISBN: 9780993966316
Ojibwemowin: The Ojibwe Language by Judith L. Vollom
Call Number: PM852 .V65 1994 (Education, Teacher's Collection)
Publication Date: 1994
Survival Ojibwe: Learning Conversational Ojibwe in Thirty Lessons by Patricia M. Ningewance
Call Number: PM851 N56 1992 (Education, Teacher's Collection)
ISBN: 9780969782605

Reading Material – Picture Books

Bird Talk = Bineshiinh Dibaajmowin by Lenore Keeshig-Tobias; Polly Keeshig-Tobias (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS 8571 .E38 B57 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 0920813895
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Dreamcatcher and the seven deceivers = Asabikeshiiwasp gaye awiya oga-gagwe-niisibidoon by David Bouchard; Kristy Cameron (Illustrator); Stephen Kakfwi (Music); Jason & Nancy Jones (Translators)
Call Number: E 98 .R3 B68 2013 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 9780978432799
Emma and the Trees = Emma minwaah mtigooh by Lenore Keeshig-Tobias; Polly Keeshig-Tobias (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS 8571 .E38 E55 1996 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 0920813119
Publication Date: 1996
Rainbow Crow = Nagweyaabi-aandeg by David Bouchard; David Jean (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS 8553 .O795 R35 2012 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 9780889954588
Publication Date: 2012-08-31
The Seven Sacred Teachings of White Buffalo Calf Woman = Niizhwaaswi aanike'iniwendiwin: waabishiki mashkode bizhikiins ikwe by David Bouchard and Joseph Martin (Authors); Jason and Nancy Jones (Translators); Kristy Cameron (Illustrator)
Call Number: E98.F6 B74 2009 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 9780978432720
Porcupine's Bad Day by Emilie Corbiere; Cynthia Steinborn (Illustrator)
Call Number: PS8605.O718 P67 2006 (Education, Floor 1)
ISBN: 9780978063306

Reading Material

The Dog's Children by Angeline Williams; Lionel Bloomfield (Editor, Translator); John Nichols (Editor, Translator); Leonard Bloomfield (Editor); John D. Nichols (Editor)
Call Number: PM851 .W55 1991 (Stauffer and Special Collections)
ISBN: 0887551483
Publication Date: 1991-02-01
Healing Through Art by Zooey Wood-Salomon; Mabel Lewis-Hill (Translator); Barbara Nolan (Editor)
Call Number: PS8645.O637 H42 2006 (Education)
ISBN: 9781896832593
Indians Don't Cry by George Kenny; Patricia M. Ningewance (Translator); Renate Eigenbrod (Afterword)
Call Number: Online; PS8571.E63 I5165 2014 (Education)
ISBN: 9780887557699
Publication Date: 2014-10-31
Living in harmony = Mino-nawae indauwaewin by Basil Johnston
Call Number: E99 .C6 J636 2011 (Education)
ISBN: 9780986874000
Living Our Language by Anton Treuer (Editor and Translator)
Call Number: E99.C6 L535 2001 (Education)
ISBN: 9780873514033
Publication Date: 2001-05-15

Masterlist

Anishinaabemowin Masterlist
Comprehensive list of all Queen's Library holdings in Anishinaabemowin / Ojibwe.

Online Learning

Anishinaabewin Toolkit
Meant to be a supplement for parents looking to support their children's Anishinaabemowin learning.
Anishinaabemdaa
Repository of resources for learning Aninshinaabemowin, such as games, stories, and language videos. Based in Michigan.
Anishinaabemowin Everyday
Daily online Ojibwe / Anishinaabemowin lessons. Each lesson is 15 minutes long.
"Let's Start Ojibwe" Youtube Series
BarbaraNolan.com
The site is meant to be an online language immersion program. Contains videos in Anishinaabemowin, designed to be unilingual and easy to comprehend.
Ojibwe.net
Contains lessons aimed at adult learners, but has stories/songs that can be used with children. Site contributors are based in Michigan.
Ojibwe Podcast by Jason Parentea
Walking and Talking with Nanabush
Interactive games and stories for learning Anishinaabemowin.