The Primary Junior Inquiry Process Guide includes ebooks and open access websites to support your integration of inquiry into your teaching.
Also refer to the Primary Junior Social Studies Teacher Resources Guide.
Hands-On Social Studies for Ontario, Grade 6 by
Filled with a year's worth of classroom-tested activities, this resource conveniently includes everything both teachers and students need. The grade 6 book is divided into two units: Communities in Canada, Past and Present Canada's Interactions with the Global Community STAND-OUT FEATURES focuses on the goals of the Ontario Social Studies curriculum adheres to the Growing Success document for assessment, evaluating, and reporting in Ontario schools builds understanding of Indigenous knowledge and perspectives TIME-SAVING, COST-EFFECTIVE FEATURES includes the five components of the inquiry model opportunities for self-reflection and activating prior knowledge authentic assessment for, as, and of learning social studies thinking concepts, guided inquiry questions, and learning goals support for developing historical thinking skills access to digital image banks and digital reproducibles (Find download instructions in the Appendix of the book)
Hands-On Social Studies for Ontario, Grade 5 by
Filled with a year's worth of classroom-tested hands-on, minds-on activities, this resource conveniently includes everything both teachers and students need. The grade 5 book is divided into two units: First Nations and Europeans in New France and Early Canada The Role of Government and Responsible Citizenship STAND-OUT FEATURES focuses on the goals of the Ontario Social Studies curriculum adheres to the Growing Success document for assessment, evaluating, and reporting in Ontario schools builds understanding of Indigenous knowledge and perspectives TIME-SAVING, COST-EFFECTIVE FEATURES includes the five components of the inquiry model opportunities for self-reflection and activating prior knowledge authentic assessment for, as, and of learning social studies thinking concepts, guided inquiry questions, and learning goals support for developing historical thinking skills access to digital image banks and digital reproducibles (Find download instructions in the Appendix of the book)
Hands-On Social Studies for Ontario, Grade 4 by
Filled with a year's worth of classroom-tested hands-on, minds-on activities, this resource conveniently includes everything both teachers and students need. The grade 4 book is divided into two units: Heritage and Identity: Societies from 3000 BCE to 1500 CE People and Environments: Political and Physical Regions of Canada STAND-OUT FEATURES focuses on the goals of the Ontario Social Studies curriculum adheres to the Growing Success document for assessment, evaluating, and reporting in Ontario schools builds understanding of Indigenous knowledge and perspectives TIME-SAVING, COST-EFFECTIVE FEATURES includes the five components of the inquiry model opportunities for self-reflection and activating prior knowledge authentic assessment for, as, and of learning social studies thinking concepts, guided inquiry questions, and learning goals support for developing historical thinking skills access to digital image banks and digital reproducibles (Find download instructions in the Appendix of the book)
The Antiracist Kitchen by
★"Twenty-one kid-lit authors of color share a wide array of delicious recipes as well as personal experiences related to culture, race, and racism. Accompanied by vibrant illustrations, these story-recipe pairings demonstrate how intertwined food and identity are...The result is a thoughtful, beautifully designed work that fosters inclusivity and respect...A hearty meal that doles out both culinary delights and moving cultural insights."--Kirkus Reviews, starred review ★"A celebration of diversity in the form of a cookbook...Aspiring kid chefs will enjoy trying out these original recipes. The author asks, "What if talking about racism was as easy as baking a cake?" With this book, it could be. Recommended for all libraries."--School Library Journal, starred review An anthology featuring stories and recipes from racialized authors about food, culture and resistance What if talking about racism was as easy as baking a cake, frying plantains or cooking rice? The Antiracist Kitchen: 21 Stories (and Recipes)is a celebration of food, family, activism and resistance in the face of racism. In this anthology featuring stories and recipes from 21 diverse and award-winning North American children's authors, the authors share the role of food in their lives and how it has helped fight discrimination, reclaim culture and celebrate people with different backgrounds. They bring personal and sometimes difficult experiences growing up as racialized people. Chopped, seared, marinated and stewed,The Antiracist Kitchen highlights the power of sitting down to share a meal and how that simple act can help bring us all together. Featuring recipes and stories from S.K. Ali, Bryan Patrick Avery, Ruth Behar, Marty Chan, Ann Yu-Kyung Choi, Hasani Claxton, Natasha Deen, Reyna Grande, Deidre Havrelock, Jennifer de Leon, Andrea J. Loney, Janice Lynn Mather, Linda Sue Park, Danny Ramadan, Sarah Raughley, Waubgeshig Rice, Rahma Rodaah, Andrea Rogers, Simran Jeet Singh, Ayelet Tsabari and Susan Yoon. The epub edition of this title is fully accessible.
Dig Deep by
What can archaeology and Indigenous Traditional Knowledge tell us about how our marine environments have changed over time and the effects of climate change? From harvesting herring eggs to hunting humpback whales, humans have had a relationship with the world's oceans for more than 100,000 years. In Dig Deep: Connecting Archaeology, Oceans and Us, young readers unearth what our ancestors left behind at archaeological sites around the world and examine how tools, campsites, fishing technologies and even garbage can show us how our ancestors lived and how they used the ocean. These discoveries can unearth clues to help keep our oceans healthier today and in the future.
Indigenous Ingenuity by
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY School Library Journal * Shelf Awareness * National Education Society * American Association of Geography * Canadian Children's Book Centre * Nerdy Book Club * NCTE Orbis Pictus Honor Awards Celebrate Indigenous thinkers and inventions with this beautifully designed, award-winning interactive nonfiction book--perfect for fans of Braiding Sweetgrass. Corn. Chocolate. Fishing hooks. Boats that float. Insulated double-walled construction. Recorded history and folklore. Life-saving disinfectant. Forest fire management. Our lives would be unrecognizable without these, and countless other, scientific discoveries and technological inventions from Indigenous North Americans. Spanning topics from transportation to civil engineering, hunting technologies, astronomy, brain surgery, architecture, and agriculture, Indigenous Ingenuity is a wide-ranging STEM offering that answers the call for Indigenous nonfiction by reappropriating hidden history. The book includes fun, simple activities and experiments that kids can do to better understand and enjoy the principles used by Indigenous inventors. Readers of all ages are invited to celebrate traditional North American Indigenous innovation, and to embrace the mindset of reciprocity, environmental responsibility, and the interconnectedness of all life. ★ "This book will amaze readers and teachers. Completely unique and important." --SLJ, starred review ★ "Engaging and informative." --Booklist, starred review " Essential for kids and adults. We need this book." --Candace Fleming, award-winning author of The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh and The Family Romanov
Meet Buffy Sainte-Marie by
"Meet Buffy Sainte-Marie, music legend, activist and teacher! Buffy Sainte-Marie is not exactly sure where or when she was born, but it was likely the Piapot Reserve in the Qu’Appelle Valley, Saskatchewan. As a baby she was adopted out to a white family in the United States. But nothing would stop Buffy from connecting to her roots and sharing the power and the beauty of her heritage with the world. Buffy’s songs have inspired three generations of fans, garnering international acclaim and many awards. But her talents don’t stop there! She’s an accomplished visual artist and has broken important ground on television, including a regular stint on Sesame Street. A peace activist from the start, Buffy became an advocate for education, creating programs for Indigenous students in 1969, then in 1996 taking full advantage of computer technology to connect classrooms worldwide to share Indigenous learning. Still an activist today, she is a prominent supporter of Idle No More. After an incredible career lasting more than 60 years, Buffy’s music and message is as uplifting and important today as it ever was."-- Provided by publisher.
Meet Your Family by
Mother Earth, we come from her, we go to her, without her we wouldn't be here, she gives all of us life and because of her we are all one family. In many segments of Indigenous life we speak of Mother Earth, Father Sky, Grandfather Sun, and Grandmother Moon. Meet Your Family is a rhythmic poem that will enlighten readers on how to view these important figures and share a greater concept of seeing the world as our natural family. Meet Your Family is presented in both English and Ojibway. An additional softcover book writen in Ojibway with phonetics guide is included inside this hardcover book.
Orange Shirt Day: Every Child Matters by 
The Orange Shirt Story by
The Orange Shirt Story was the best selling children's book in Canada for several weeks in September (Book manager). This true story also inspired the movement of Orange Shirt Day which could become a federal statuatory holidayWhen Phyllis Webstad (nee Jack) turned six, she went to the residential school for the first time. On her first day at school, she wore a shiny orange shirt that her Granny had bought for her, but when she got to the school, it was taken away from her and never returned. This is the true story of Phyllis and her orange shirt. It is also the story of Orange Shirt Day (an important day of remembrance for First Nations and non First Nations Canadians).
Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World by
Encyclopedia of American Indian Contributions to the World is a unique A-to-Z reference to the vast offerings made by American Indians throughout history. More than 450 entries provide a panorama of little-known information about the rich inventiveness of indigenous peoples of North, Central, and South America. To be included in the book, the item must have originated in one of those three regions, have been used by Indian people, and have been adopted in some way by other cultures. While many of those contributions can clearly be shown to have been first invented or used by Indians, some entries cover inventions that were made independently by others as well. In these cases, the unique features of the American Indian science or technology are covered and compared to the other version of the item or process. Entries include: Trousers (25,000 B.C.); Agriculture (8000-7000 B.C.); Adobe (3000 B.C.); Tax system (2000 B.C.); Urban planning (1700 B.C.); Geometry (1200 B.C.); Scalpels (1000 B.C.); Sports helmets (300 B.C.); Electricity (200 B.C.-A.D. 600); Zoned biodiversity (A.D. 595); Cigars (A.D. 1000); Aroma therapy (A.D. 1100-1519); Hydraulics (A.D. 1300); Thanksgiving (A.D. 1621); A
An Introduction to Treaties:Compilation of Online Resources by
"To support member learning and to create culturally-inclusive learning environments, this
resource was developed to introduce ETFO members about the nation-to-nation relationship
and agreements that were made between the Crown and Indigenous Peoples." -- p. 4
This collection of over 1,100 streamed videos from the NFB is freely available for personal use. In addition, Queen's Library has purchased public performance rights for educational use and display at Queen's. Available in French and English.