Skip to Main Content

Primary Junior Indigenous Education Resources

Resources for K-6 teachers.

curio.ca

CBC's curio.ca

Curio.ca gives teachers and students streaming access to the best in educational video and audio from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports and more.

Catch up on this year's Forest of Trees Festival -- online in this year of pandemic response:  

CBC's News In Review

One of the channels in CBC's curio.ca education portal, News in Review is "Canada's premier current event series for the classroom".  (CBC website). Released monthly through the school year, each video includes in-depth coverage of 4 current news stories.  Stories are thoughtfully chosen to connect to topics likely to be covered in Canadian high school curriculum. Teacher guides with helpful background context and lesson activities are indexed and available via open access at CBC News in Review.

NOTE:  Teacher candidates: create a teacher account using the information for Queen's students.

On-Core

On Core:  Core Curriculum on Demand

On-Core is a collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by Ontario curriculum subjects, grades, and strands.  It includes pdf teacher guides when available and is mobile device friendly.On-Core content is downloadable and includes several subject-specific collections. 

Learn360

Learn360

A multimedia resource package that includes 8,300 videos, video clips, audio files, speeches, images, newsreels, & articles from Encyclopedia Britannica.

Licensed by Ontario’s Ministry of Education (via OSAPAC) for publicly-funded schools, First Nations schools using the Ontario curriculum, and Ontario Faculties of Education. The license will expire in August 2021.

To use LEARN360 you MUST first create your personal teacher account using the Queen's Faculty of Education passkey.  Information about how to do this is included in the PJ and IS Password Guide.  If you have forgotten the password for this Guide, email Brenda.

National Film Board

nfb.ca

The CAMPUS edition of nfb.ca includes over 3,600 titles, educational playlists and teacher resources. Teacher account holders can access the personal playlist and chapter creation features.

If you want to create yourself a teacher account within the Queen's campus account you can initiate that on the Queen's access page.  This teacher account will allow you to create your own playlists and to snip videos into chapters for your playlists. The features are helpful and easy to use.  Teacher will love this!

Browse the Indigenous film collection here. While a Campus account is needed to access most lesson plans, some are open access.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

Queen's University Library subscribes to this collection of videos that includes both professional learning for teaching practices as well as videos on all high school subjects.

Producers include A&E, BBC, CNBC, HBO, History Education, National Geographic, and more.  You just need your Queen's netID and password to access this comprehensive source of over 8,200 full length titles (also available in over 100,000 segments).

Plus, you can make your own personal account so you can create playlists for your lessons, using segments of videos if want to show just a short clip.  This popular feature allows you to insert video viewing efficiently into your classroom.

TVO

TVO

Documentaries, Indigenous content, children's programming. Essential for Ontario topics.

YouTube

YouTube

Given the changes in copyright law in Canada as of December 2012, any video on YouTube can now be shown in class for educational purposes. To save a video for screening in classes where there is no reliable internet connection, go to http://www.savetube.com and paste in the YouTube video so it can be downloaded for in-class screening.

See First Nations Films for other titles of interest.‚Äč

Spotlight Titles

cover art

From Kanopy: Lake of Betrayal: Seneca People Fighting to Protect Their Ancestral Lands / Vision Maker Media

More online video available here.