Plays are published in many forms. They can be published separately, part of a set of the author's "Works", in an anthology, or collection with works by other authors,
To find individual plays, search Omni by either author (playwright's name) or title (title of the play).
To locate plays in collections, use a keyword search to find a specific play or try searching Omni under the author's name for Works or Plays.
"view from the bridge" AND miller
Search Omni to find books, journals, videos and other materials owned by the Library. You can search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.
To find a specific known item, search by title or author. To find books on a topic, either try a subject or keyword search.
Subject Headings vs Keyword Searching
Subject headings allow you to search the library catalogue for resources on a particular author or topic and are often more productive than keyword searches.
Keyword searches work best if you have multiple concepts or topics. Think of the words that best describe your topic and then connect them with the boolean operators AND OR NOT. Use the results to find relevant titles and identify assigned subject headings for your topic in order to find similar books. .
Genres and Topics
To find books on genres and topics, use a keyword search, if you are unsure of the correct subject heading.
women AND (theatre OR theater OR drama)
Select useful titles and look at the subjects assigned:
Feminism and theater Theater--History--18th century Women in the theater
Examples of subject headings relevant to drama and theatre include:
Acting American drama Classical drama Drama-History and criticism Drama technique
Musicals--Production and direction
Stage lighting Theater--History Theater--Production and direction Theaters--Stage setting and scenery
Most genres can be searched using subject headings, such as:
Greek drama tragedy Melodrama Mime Musicals Tragedy
Browsing the Library Shelves
Browsing the library shelves is another strategy for locating information on a topic.
Literature, including Drama, is classified by its original language and country.
Some useful call numbers for theatre:
Costume GT 500-2370
Monologue PN 1530
Performing Arts PN 1560-1590
Drama History in General;
composition of Plays PN 1600-
Dramatic Representation: Acting, Stagecraft, etc. PN2000-3307
Collections of General Dramatic Literature PN 6110.5-6120
Romanance literatures PQ
English literature PR
American and Canadian Literature PS Clothing and Dress TX 340
Digital Theatre: the making and meaning of live mediated performance, US & UK, 1990-2020 by Nadja MasuraDigital Theatre is a rich and varied art form evolving between performing bodies gathered together in shared space and the ever-expanding flexible reach of the digital technology that shapes our world. This book explores live theatre performances which incorporate video projection, animation, motion capture and triggering, telematics and multisite performance, robotics, VR, and AR. Through examples from practitioners like George Coates, the Gertrude Stein Repertory Theatre, Troika Ranch, David Saltz, Mark Reaney, The Builder's Association, and ArtGrid, a picture emerges of how and why digital technology can be used to effectively create theatre productions matching the storytelling and expressive needs of today's artists and audiences. It also examines how theatre roles such as director, actor, playwright, costumes, and set are altered, and how ideas of body, place, and community are expanded.
Directing Professionally : a practical guide to developing a successful career in today's theatre by Kent ThompsonHow do you develop both the craft of directing as well as a professional career in freelance directing in today's theatre industry? Drawing on his own extensive experience and that of other theatre professionals from the US and UK, Kent Thompson illuminates a pathway from training, apprenticeship and assistant directing to an established career as a director. Directing Professionally first lays out paths for aspirant directors to train, grow and succeed as directors, then advises freelance directors on how to establish and accelerate their professional careers. It also reveals the most significant ways those directors become artistic directors today. With a frank, thoughtful and often humorous examination of the job of professional direction and artistic direction, Thompson writes about the passion, commitment, artistic vision, directorial experience, leadership skills, and powerful persuasive gifts needed to succeed in this extraordinary field. Featuring case studies and brief interviews with professional theatre directors, artistic directors, producers, critics, managing/executive directors, and theatre leaders currently working in the field in the UK and the US, this volume will equip you to develop your career as a professional director in today's theatre.
Call Number: PN2053 .T48 2019
Drama in Medieval and Early Modern Europe: playmakers and their strategies by Nadia Thérèse van PeltDrama in Medieval and Early Modern Europemoves away from the customary conceptual framework that artificially separates 'medieval' from 'early modern' drama to explore the role of drama and spectacle in England, France, the Low Countries, Spain, Italy, Switzerland, and the German-speaking areas that now constitute Austria and Germany. This book investigates the ranges of dramatic and performative techniques and strategies that playmakers across Europe used to adapt their work to the changing contexts in which they performed, and to the changing or expanding audiences that they faced. It considers the different views expressed through drama and spectacle on shared historical events, how communities coped with similar issues and why they ritually recycled these themes through reinvented or alternative forms that replaced or existed alongside their predecessors. A wide variety of genres of play are discussed throughout, including visitatio sepulchri(visit to the tomb) plays; Easter and Passion Plays and morality plays; the French civic mystère; Italian sacre rappresentazioni performed by choirboys in the context of the church; Bürgertheaterfrom the Swiss Confederacy; drama performed for the purpose of royal entertainment and propaganda; May and Summer games; and the commercial, professional theatre of Shakespeare and Lope de Vega. Examining the strength of drama in relation to the larger cultural forces to which it adapted, and demonstrating the use of social, political, economic and artistic networks to educate and support the social structures of communities, Drama in Medieval and Early Modern Europe offers a broader understanding of a shared European past across the traditional chronological divide of 1500. It is ideal for students of social history, and the history of medieval and early modern drama or literature.
Call Number: PN1751 .V36 2019
Irish Drama and Theatre Since 1950 by Patrick LonerganDrawing on major new archival discoveries and recent research, Patrick Lonergan presents an innovative, highly readable and informative account of Irish drama and theatre since 1950. The book focuses on the many Irish dramatists who have achieved international prominence during that period, starting with Beckett and Brendan Behan in the 1950s, continuing with Brian Friel and Tom Murphy in the 1960s, and concluding with the many great dramatists who emerged in the late 1990s - including Martin McDonagh, Enda Walsh, Conor McPherson and Marina Carr. The book also explores the contribution to world theatre of major Irish companies, focusing not just on the Abbey and Gate theatres, but also on such groups as Druid, Field Day, and Charabanc. Organised by decade, Irish Drama and Theatre since 1950 provides a wide-ranging account of major developments combined with case studies of the premiere or revival of major plays, the establishment of new companies and the influence of international work and artists, including Tennessee Williams and Bertolt Brecht.This book draws on newly released documents - including the Abbey Theatre Archive, Druid archive, and Friel papers - to provide an insight into the full production process, bringing to light the contributions of directors, designers, actors - and of course audiences too. Readers of the book will understand Irish theatre in its social and cultural contexts, seeing how the production and reception of Irish plays has been influenced by such issues as European integration, the Troubles in Northern Ireland, the Celtic Tiger period, the Irish language, and the changing status of the Catholic Church in Ireland.
Call Number: PN2601 .L66 2019
Mapping Global Theatre Histories by Mark PizzatoThis textbook provides a global, chronological mapping of significant areas of theatre, sketched from its deepest history in the evolution of our brain's 'inner theatre' to ancient, medieval, modern, and postmodern developments. It considers prehistoric cave art and built temples, African trance dances, ancient Egyptian and Middle-Eastern ritual dramas, Greek and Roman theatres, Asian dance-dramas and puppetry, medieval European performances, global indigenous rituals, early modern to postmodern Euro-American developments, worldwide postcolonial theatres, and the hyper-theatricality of today's mass and social media. Timelines and numbered paragraphs form an overall outline with distilled details of what students can learn, encouraging further explorations online and in the library. Questions suggest how students might reflect on present parallels, making their own maps of global theatre histories, regarding geo-political theatrics in the media, our performances in everyday life, and the theatres inside our brains.
Call Number: PN2037 .P59 2019
The Palgrave Handbook of Theatre and Race by Tiziana Morosetti ; Osita Okagbue (Editors)The first comprehensive publication on the subject, this book investigates interactions between racial thinking and the stage in the modern and contemporary world, with 25 essays on case studies that will shed light on areas previously neglected by criticism while providing fresh perspectives on already-investigated contexts. Examining performances from Europe, the Americas, the Middle East, Africa, China, Australia, New Zealand, and the South Paciﬁ c islands, this collection ultimately frames the history of racial narratives on stage in a global context, resetting understandings of race in public discourse.
Privileged Spectatorship : Theatrical Interventions in White Supremacy by Dani Snyder-YoungMany professional theater artists attempt to use live performances in formal theater spaces to disrupt racism and create a more equitable society. Privileged Spectatorship: Theatrical Interventions in White Supremacy examines the impact of such projects, looking at how and why they do and do not intervene in white supremacy. In this incisive study, Dani Snyder-Young examines audience responses to a range of theatrical events that focus on race-related conflict or racial identity in the contemporary United States. The audiences for these performances, produced at mainstream not-for-profit professional theaters in major American cities in 2013-18, reflect dominant patterns of theater attendance: the majority of spectators are older, affluent, white, and describe themselves as politically progressive. Snyder-Young studies the ways these audience members consume the stories of racialized others and analyzes how different artistic, organizational, and programmatic strategies can (or cannot) mitigate white privilege. This book is essential reading for scholars and students of theater, performance studies, and critical ethnic studies and for theater practitioners interested in equity and inclusion.
Restaging Feminisms by Elaine AstonRestaging Feminisms offers a re-encounter with the tripartite modelling of liberal, radical, and socialist feminisms foundational to establishing feminist approaches to theatre. This lucid account of past-present connections to the staging of feminism assesses the legacies and renewals of all three feminist dynamics as they intersect with austerity Britain, the Weinstein watershed, and the #MeToo movement. Feminist politics, concepts, and the role of affect in the making of political attachments inform an approach that values understanding feminism's past as critical to reanimating and restaging socially progressive, feminist futures. The volume includes case studies of productions staged between 2016 and 2019: Caryl Churchill's Escaped Alone; David Greig's version of The Suppliant Women; Morgan Lloyd Malcolm's Emilia; Nina Raine's Consent; Townsend Theatre's We Are The Lions Mr Manager; and Laura Wade's Home, I'm Darling. From an author with a pioneering and thirty-year-long commitment to the study of feminism and British theatre, Restaging Feminisms is for an intergenerational feminist-theatre readership: for those who are discovering relations between feminism and theatre for the first time and those re-encountering the feminist dynamics and their renewed resonance on the contemporary British stage.
Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre by Siyuan Liu (Editor)Routledge Handbook of Asian Theatre is an advanced level reference guide which surveys the rich and diverse traditions of classical and contemporary performing arts in Asia, showcasing significant scholarship in recent years. An international team of over 50 contributors provide authoritative overviews on a variety of topics across Asia, including dance, music, puppetry, make-up and costume, architecture, colonialism, modernity, gender, musicals, and intercultural Shakespeare. This volume is divided into four sections covering: Representative Theatrical Traditions in Asia. Cross-Regional Aspects of Classical and Folk Theatres. Modern and Contemporary Theatres in Asian Countries. Modernity, Gender Performance, Intercultural and Musical Theatre in Asia. Offering a cutting edge overview of Asian theatre and performance, the Handbook is an invaluable resource for academics, researchers and students studying this ever-evolving field.
World Political Theatre and Performance: theories, histories, practices by Mireia Aragay (Ed)World Political Theatre and Performance: Theories, Histories, Practicesis the second collection of essays to emerge from the Political Performances Working Group at the International Federation for Theatre Research. Bringing together scholars and practitioners from multiple locations, the book analyses a range of examples - historical and contemporary - of counter-hegemonic theatre and performance. Part 1 offers a diachronic view of the relationship between activism and performance; Part 2 focuses on the changing nature of what constitutes 'political theatre' today. Case studies from Finland to India and from Chile to China are framed by section introductions that underline both commonalities and tensions, while the general introduction reflects on what a radical practice can look like in the face of global neoliberalism. Contributors: Julia Boll, Paola Botham, Marco Galea, Aneta Głowacka, Pujya Ghosh, Camila González Ortiz, Bérénice Hamidi-Kim, Fatine Bahar Karlıdağ, Madli Pesti, José Ramón Prado-Pérez, Trish Reid, Mikko-Olavi Seppälä, Andy Smith, Evi Stamatiou, Wei Zheyu.
Writing for Theatre by Kim WiltshireWriting for theatre is a unique art form, different even from other kinds of scriptwriting. Making theatre is a truly collaborative process which can be a tricky aspect to grasp when starting out. This book will take you on a journey from the origins of theatre to what it means to write for the stage today. It includes a series of interviews with writers, directors and dramaturgs, all of whom are making theatre now, providing an unrivalled glimpse into the world of contemporary theatre making. Kim Wiltshire explores the foundations, traits and skills necessary for playwriting alongside the creative possibilities of writing theatre in the digital age. Each part of the book ends with a series of exercises which students of the craft can use to practise their art and stretch their creativity.