The Ovid Medline database is the most comprehensive indexing and abstracting tool for searching the journal literature in health sciences educational scolarship.
Try searching Medline using these Medical Subject Headings (MeSH):
ABC of Learning and Teaching in Medicine
ABC of Learning and Teaching in Medicine is an invaluable resource for both novice and experienced medical teachers. It emphasises the teacher's role as a facilitator of learning rather than a transmitter of knowledge, and is designed to be practical and accessible not only to those new to the profession, but also to those who wish to keep abreast of developments in medical education. Fully updated and revised, this new edition continues to provide an accessible account of the most important domains of medical education including educational design, assessment, feedback and evaluation. The succinct chapters contained in this ABC are designed to help new teachers learn to teach and for experienced teachers to become even better than they are. Four new chapters have been added covering topics such as social media; quality assurance of assessments; mindfulness and learner supervision. Written by an expert editorial team with an international selection of authoritative contributors, this edition of ABC of Learning and Teaching in Medicine is an excellent introductory text for doctors and other health professionals starting out in their careers, as well as being an important reference for experienced educators.
Continuing Professional Development in Medicine and Health Care
Improve clinical competence and performance, deliver better health care, and enhance patient outcomes. Continuing Professional Development in Medicine and Health Care helps you design, deliver, and evaluate evidence-based continuing education and professional development programs with the goal of keeping practitioners' knowledge, skills, attitudes, competencies, and performance current and patient centered. Authored by key thought leaders in the field, including members of the Society of Academic Continuing Medical Education (SACME), the book presents today's most advanced thinking on how to empower clinicians to continuously improve their performance throughout their professional careers. Organized under five critical themes and 28 essential topics, the book's chapters start with cases describing real-world dilemmas; continue with evidence-based theories, solutions, and/or resources; and close with "future directions" and contemporary reference lists. Use continuing education to transform the delivery of care - with multidisciplinary guidance that draws on theoretical frameworks and evolving evidence from engineering, neuroscience, education, organization management, sociology, and psychology. Master techniques for maximizing educational benefits (learning, administrative, and otherwise) - from the evolution of core competencies to advances in simulation. Access evidence-informed techniques for providing realistic, personal needs assessments to improve health outcomes. Accommodate needs for education that are more flexible, efficient, effective, and accessible, with less need to travel. Promote evolving new competencies in clinician-patient communication and clinician cultural awareness . Explore methods for conducting research to measure the degree of effectiveness in professional education. In an era of rapidly changing health systems, anyone responsible for improving health professionals' continuing professional development is strongly encouraged to take advantage of the guidance within Continuing Professional Development in Medicine and Health Care .
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher
Essential Skills for a Medical Teacher is a perfect introduction for new teachers to the exciting opportunities facing them, whether they are working in undergraduate, postgraduate or continuing education. It will also be of considerable use to more experienced teachers to review and assess their own practice and gain a new perspective on how best to facilitate their students' or trainees' learning. The contents are based on the authors' extensive experience of what works in medical education, whether in teaching and curriculum planning or in the organisation of faculty development courses in medical education at basic and advanced levels. The text provides hints drawn from practical experience to help teachers create powerful learning opportunities for their students, providing readable guidelines and introducing new techniques that potentially could be adopted for use in any teaching programme. Throughout the book introduces some key basic principles that underpin the practical advice that is given and which will help to inform teaching practice. This book will assist readers to reflect on and analyse with colleagues the different ways that their work as a teacher or trainer can be approached and how their student or trainee's learning can be made more effective. Medical Education is changing rapidly and this new edition takes full account of a number of important recent developments. The text is fully updated after a thorough review of the medical education literature. Five new chapters are incorporated: The teacher is important Collaborations in the delivery of the education programme The authentic curriculum Student engagement Inter-professional education New concepts added to the book include: Content specification as 'threshold' concepts Entrustable professional activities as an approach to outcomes Longitudinal integrated clinical clerkships as part of clinical teaching Integration of basic and clinical sciences Refinement and expansion of the FAIR principles Additional references to further reading.
From Equity Talk to Equity Walk
A practical guide for achieving equitable outcomes From Equity Talk to Equity Walk offers practical guidance on the design and application of campus change strategies for achieving equitable outcomes. Drawing from campus-based research projects sponsored by the Association of American Colleges and Universities and the Center for Urban Education at the University of Southern California, this invaluable resource provides real-world steps that reinforce primary elements for examining equity in student achievement, while challenging educators to specifically focus on racial equity as a critical lens for institutional and systemic change. Colleges and universities have placed greater emphasis on education equity in recent years. Acknowledging the changing realities and increasing demands placed on contemporary postsecondary education, this book meets educators where they are and offers an effective design framework for what it means to move beyond equity being a buzzword in higher education. Central concepts and key points are illustrated through campus examples. This indispensable guide presents academic administrators and staff with advice on building an equity-minded campus culture, aligning strategic priorities and institutional missions to advance equity, understanding equity-minded data analysis, developing campus strategies for making excellence inclusive, and moving from a first-generation equity educator to an equity-minded practitioner. From Equity Talk to Equity Walk: A Guide for Campus-Based Leadership and Practice is a vital wealth of information for college and university presidents and provosts, academic and student affairs professionals, faculty, and practitioners who seek to dismantle institutional barriers that stand in the way of achieving equity, specifically racial equity to achieve equitable outcomes in higher education.
Health Professions Educator: a Practical Guide for new and Established Faculty
This is the only book for new and midcareer faculty that delivers practical, evidence-based strategies for physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and other clinical professionals teaching in advanced health provider education programs. The text disseminates interprofessional teaching and learning strategies that can be used across the gamut of advanced clinical disciplines. It also features sample curricula and syllabi, lecture tips, evaluation strategies, and in-depth information about state-of-the-art technology and virtual classrooms.
Key pedagogical principles set a firm foundation for both novice and experienced educators, and practical applications and case examples integrated into each chapter offer concrete reinforcement. The text describes how to design and implement a curriculum that promotes cognitive diversity and inclusion, and examines ways to encourage leadership and scholarship. It addresses methods for fostering active learning and clinical reasoning through the use of technology, simulation, distance education, and student-centered pedagogy. Edited by experienced PA and NP faculty who are leaders in interprofessional education, the book distills the insight and expertise of top PA, nursing, and physician educators and provides valuable tools that help faculty become effective educators in the U.S. and abroad.
Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions
Innovative Teaching Strategies in Nursing and Related Health Professions, Seventh Edition details a wealth of teaching strategies, focusing on incorporating technology into the classroom, including the use of Web 2.0 technologies like blogs and podcasts. Chapters on blended learning and study abroad programs are featured, enabling students to gain a more diverse and increased global perspective. Highlighting innovative teaching techniques for various learning environments and real-world illustrations of the strategies in use, this text goes beyond theory to offer practical application principles that educators can count on. The Seventh Edition includes two new chapters - Teaching through Storytelling and Giving and Receiving Evaluation Feedback.
Learning and Teaching in Clinical Contexts
Featuring the perspectives of more than 40 leading international researchers, theorists and practitioners in clinical education, Learning and Teaching in Clinical Contexts: A Practical Guide provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of clinical education and the delivery of practical teaching strategies. Written by Clare Delany and Elizabeth Molloy, each chapter weaves together education theory, education strategies and illustrative learning and teaching case scenarios drawn from multidisciplinary clinical contexts. The text supports clinicians and educators responsible for designing and delivering health professional education in clinical workplaces and clinicians undertaking continuing education in workplace teaching. The book is divided into four sections, each addressing a key aspect of the learner and educator experience. Section 1 considers the learner's needs as they make key transitions from classroom to workplace, or recent graduate to competent clinician Section 2 focuses on the influence of workplace contexts and how they can be used as positive catalysts to enhance learning Section 3 highlights the role of workplace assessments as embedded processes to positively influence learning Section 4 provides an overview of the changing roles of the clinical educator and processes and models of professional development to build educational expertise Demonstrates the integrated nature of three key threads within the field of clinical education: theory, method and context Highlights theoretical frameworks: cognitive, psychological, sociocultural, experiential and ethical traditions and how they inform teaching decisions Incorporates case studies throughout to provide a context to learning and teaching in clinical education Includes practical tips from expert practitioners across different topics Includes an eBook with print purchase on evolve
A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers
The Fifth Edition of the highly praised Practical Guide for Medical Teachers provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of medical education and the delivery of enthusiastic and effective teaching in basic science and clinical medicine. Healthcare professionals are committed teachers and this book is an essential guide to help them maximise their performance. This highly regarded book recognises the importance of educational skills in the delivery of quality teaching in medicine. The contents offer valuable insights into all important aspects of medical education today. A leading educationalist from the USA joins the book's editorial team. The continual emergence of new topics is recognised in this new edition with nine new chapters: The role of patients as teachers and assessors; Medical humanities; Decision-making; Alternative medicine; Global awareness; Education at a time of ubiquitous information; Programmative assessment; Student engagement; and Social accountability. An enlarged group of authors from more than 15 countries provides both an international perspective and a multi-professional approach to topics of interest to all healthcare teachers.
Teaching in Nursing: a Guide for Faculty
Set yourself up for success as a nurse educator with the award-winning Teaching in Nursing: A Guide for Faculty, 5th Edition. Recommended by the NLN for comprehensive CNE prep, this insightful text is the only one of its kind to cover all three components of teaching: instruction, curriculum, and evaluation. As it walks through the day-to-day challenges of teaching, readers will benefit from its expert guidance on key issues, such as curriculum and test development, diverse learning styles, the redesign of healthcare systems, and advancements in technology and information. This new edition contains all the helpful narrative that earned this title an AJN Book of the Year award, along with updated information on technology-empowered learning, the flipped classroom, interprofessional collaborative practice, and much more. Coverage of concept-based curricula includes strategies on how to approach and implement concept-based lessons. Extensive information on online education discusses the use of webinars and other practical guidance for effective online instruction. Evidence-based teaching boxes cover issues, such as: how to do evidence-based teaching; applications of evidence-based teaching; implications for faculty development, administration, and the institution; and how to use the open-ended application questions at the end of each chapter for faculty-guided discussion. Strategies to promote critical thinking and active learning are incorporated throughout the text, highlighting various evaluation techniques, lesson planning insights, and tips for developing examinations. Updated research and references address forward-thinking approaches to education and trends for the future. Guidance on teaching in diverse settings addresses topics such as the models of clinical teaching, teaching in interdisciplinary settings, how to evaluate students in the clinical setting, and how to adapt teaching for community-based practice. Strong focus on practical content - including extensive coverage of curriculum development - equips future educators to handle the daily challenges and opportunities of teaching. NEW! Chapter on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Practice focuses on the collaboration of care across patient care providers, emphasizing clear communication and shared patient outcomes. NEW! Renamed unit on Curriculum as a Process better reflects the latest QSEN competencies and other leading national standards. NEW! Renamed unit on Technology-Empowered Learning covers the use of technology for learning - including non-traditional course formats, active learning, flipped classrooms, and more.
Teaching in Nursing and Role of the Educator
This all-inclusive text on teaching in nursing is by one of the pre-eminent nurse educators in the United States: Dr. Marilyn Oermann. The only book to focus on the full academic role, it is designed to provide graduate-level nursing students with all of the competencies essential for effective teaching. This evidence-based text encompasses both theoretical and practical information and includes content on teaching and learning, assessment and evaluation, curriculum development, using technology, teaching in simulation, learning lab and online courses, models for clinical teaching, scholarship and evidence-based education, and other components of the educator role. Each chapter begins with goals and concludes with a content summary. Relevant research is cited to provide evidence for the concepts presented.. Chapters include practical examples of the methods and strategies presented and "how to" tips for readers. The book features an on-line teaching guide that includes PowerPoint slides, Case Examples, a Sample Course Syllabus, and Online Course Materials including chapters summaries, learner activities, discussion questions, and selected assessment strategies. In addition to her renown as a highly respected educator, Dr. Oermann has authored 14 books including Evaluation and Testing in Nursing and Education, Third Edition, Springer Publishing, 2013. Key Features: Covers, in just one text, the complete span of theoretical and practical knowledge essential for effective teaching in nursing Written by renowned nurse-educators and authors Integrates relevant research and practical examples in each chapter Addresses the main test blueprint for CNE Certification Exam Strong focus on technology in teaching by experts in their fields, including chapters on: Integrating Technology in Education Clinical Simulations Teaching in Online Learning Environments Instructor resource includes: Course Syllabus, PowerPoint prsentations for each chapter, Online Course with 16 modules with summaries, learning activities, discussion questions, online resources, selected case studies, and assessment strategies
Understanding Medical Education
Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition of Understanding Medical Education synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education. Written and edited by an international team, this latest edition continues to cover a wide range of subject matter within five broad areas - Foundations, Teaching and Learning, Assessment and Selection, Research and Evaluation, and Faculty and Learners - as well as featuring a wealth of new material, including new chapters on the science of learning, knowledge synthesis, and learner support and well-being. The third edition of Understanding Medical Education: Provides a comprehensive and authoritative resource summarizing the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice Meets the needs of all newcomers to medical education whether undergraduate or postgraduate, including those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level Offers a global perspective on medical education from leading experts from across the world Providing practical guidance and exploring medical education in all its diversity, Understanding Medical Education continues to be an essential resource for both established educators and all those new to the field.
