Community engagement describes collaboration beween institutions of higher education and their larger communities (local, regional/state, national, global) for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity. The purpose of community engagement is the partnership of college and university knowledge and resources with those of the public and private sectors to enrich scholarship, research, and creative activity; enhance curriculum, teaching, and learning; prepare educated, engaged citizens; strengthen democratic values and civic responsibility; address critical societal issues; and contribute to the public good.
Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research by
Community-based participatory research (CBPR) emerged in response to the longstanding tradition of "top-down" research-studies in which social scientists observe social phenomena and community problems as outsiders, separate from the participants' daily lives. CBPR is more immersive, fostering partnerships between academic and community organizations that increase the value and consequence of the research for all partners. The current perspectives gleaned from this school of research have been wildly well-received, in no small part because they address the complexity of the human experience in their conclusions.Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research codifies the methods and theories of this research approach and articulates an expansive vision of health that includes gender equality, safe and adequate housing, and freedom from violence. Topic-based chapters apply the theory and methods of CBPR to real world problems affecting women, ethnic and racial minorities, and immigrant communities such as sexual violence, exposure to environmental toxins, and lack of access to preventive care as well as suggesting future directions for effective, culturally sensitive research.Handbook of Community-Based Participatory Research is required reading for academics, policy makers, and students seeking meaningful social change through scholarship.
Becoming Community-Engaged Educators: Engaging Students Within and Beyond the Classroom Walls by
This book puts forth a call to engagement for educators at all levels of education and in all subject areas, with a focus on language education. Through using a grounded theory approach, it features semi-structured interviews, in a qualitative approach, with educators who embody community engaged education. Each chapter encompasses a case study that examines the interviewee's motivations, strategies, successes and failures. This book presents a local theory of community-engaged teachers and researchers to assist educators in developing as a community-engaged teacher or researcher. It asks and attempts to answer critical questions concerning the initial induction into community engagement, the maintenance of energy, commitment, and motivation, and the role of support networks. Through these, this book examines what is needed to sustain such an identity, and support campaigns of action or individual engagement over both the short and long term.
Research Design: Quantitative, Qualitative, Mixed Methods, Arts-based, and Community-based Participatory Research Approaches by
With a new chapter on the literature review, this accessible step-by-step guide to using the five major approaches to research design is now in a thoroughly revised second edition. The prior edition's user-friendly features are augmented by a new companion website with worksheets keyed to each chapter. For each approach, the text presents a template for a research proposal and explains how to conceptualize and fill in every section. Interdisciplinary research examples draw on current events and social justice issues. Unique coverage includes hot topics--replication studies, data sharing, and preregistration; tailoring proposals to different audiences; and more. Terminology commonly used in each approach is identified and key moments of ethical decision making are flagged. The book includes a general introduction to social research, an in-depth discussion of ethics, and a chapter on how to begin a research study. New to This Edition *New or expanded discussions of theory and literature in quantitative research, replication studies, preregistration of research, the critical paradigm in qualitative research, mixed methods research, approaching different kinds of organizations in community-based participatory research, and more. *Chapter on the literature review, including the ethics of citational practices. *Companion website with worksheets to aid in learning and practicing each chapter's key concepts. *Updated examples, references, and recommended readings throughout. Pedagogical Features *Multiple "Review Stops" in each chapter--quick quizzes with answer keys. *End-of-chapter writing exercises, research activities, and suggested resources. *Bolded key terms and an end-of-book glossary. *Boxed tips from experts in the respective approaches. *Pointers to downloadable worksheets throughout the chapters. *Author-created PowerPoints and chapter tests with answer keys available to instructors using the book in a course.
Education Research in the Public Interest by
Gloria Ladson-Billings and William F. Tate argue that education scholars can and must undertake work that speaks to the pressing public issues related to education. In this volume, they are joined by renowned educators who have a reputation for engaging public interests and public policy in powerful and provocative ways. Together, they address such important issues as zero-tolerance policies, language-minority students, multicultural education, school reform, teaching for social justice, educational inquiry, curriculum, assessment, and much more. This compelling collection challenges policymakers and the public to take a greater hand in creating a quality education for all students.
Community Resource Handbook. CommunityEngaged Research Initiative, Simon Fraser University. by
"We believe reciprocal and respectful relationships with community are
the foundation of good research. By inviting communities to co-create
knowledge, community-engaged research can build capacity for
imagination, and enhance the capacity of communities to advocate for
their own well-being." (p. 6)
Ground Truths: Community-Engaged Research for Environmental Justice by
A free ebook version of this title is available through Luminos, University of California Press's Open Access publishing program. Visit www.luminosoa.org to learn more. This is the first book devoted entirely to summarizing the body of community-engaged research on environmental justice, how we can conduct more of it, and how we can do it better. It shows how community-engaged research makes unique contributions to environmental justice for Black, Indigenous, people of color, and low-income communities by centering local knowledge, building truth from the ground up, producing actionable data that can influence decisions, and transforming researchers' relationships to communities for equity and mutual benefit. The book offers a critical synthesis of relevant research in many fields, outlines the main steps in conducting community-engaged research, evaluates the major research methods used, suggests new directions, and addresses overcoming institutional barriers to scholarship in academia. The coauthors employ an original framework that shows how community-engaged research and environmental justice align, which links research on the many topics treated in the chapters--from public health, urban planning, and conservation to law and policy, community economic development, and food justice and sovereignty.