Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
When you need a definition, synonyms, or to take apart a word turn to the OED.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia (Education) by
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education combines the speed and flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing.
Queen's U also subscribes to the Oxford Research Encyclopedia in Communication.
NEW!
International Encyclopedia of Education (4th edition) by
International Encyclopedia of Education, Fourth Edition updates readers on emerging interests and developments in the field. The book presents comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, but also includes illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e., rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations). In so doing, this encyclopedia can serve topic-specific purposes as well as be enlisted in a fashion which binds together separate entries. Sections provide comprehensive reviews and the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental. Provides comprehensive reviews of research in various areas, including illustrations/examples from regions, nations, locations--situated and contrastive (i.e. rather than exemplars serving transferability rather than generalizability avoiding standardization and homogenizations) Addresses the state of research, theory and practice in a fashion that is both historic and developmental Presents a critical accounting of not only what educational scholars have achieved, but also current challenges
Encyclopedia of Language and Education (10 volumes) by
In this third, fully revised edition, the 10 volume Encyclopedia of Language and Education offers the newest developments, including an entirely new volume of research and scholarly content, essential to the field of language teaching and learning in the age of globalization. In the selection of topics and contributors, the Encyclopedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in the language and education field. Throughout, there is an inclusion of contributions from non-English speaking and non-western parts of the world, providing truly global coverage. Furthermore, the authors have sought to integrate these voices fully into the whole, rather than as special cases or international perspectives in separate sections. The Encyclopedia is a necessary reference set for every university and college library in the world that serves a faculty or school of education, as well as being highly relevant to the fields of applied and socio-linguistics. The publication of this work charts the further deepening and broadening of the field of language and education since the publication of the first edition of the Encyclopedia in 1997 and the second edition in 2008.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Sage Research Methods is an online collection of more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos. Individual titles are searchable in Omni or your can browse or search within the collection. A deep and comprehensive resource for those seeking information on research methodologies in the social sciences.
Handbooks on research methodologies and topics in education are shelved in the Research Collection on Floor 3.
The Research Collection circulates for 120 days.
Browse for handbooks on the shelves using the Library of Congress call number classification.
For a systematic search of handbooks available in Queen's Libraries do an advanced search in Omni to locate handbooks by keyword. For example, to find a handbook on research on reading, change Any field to Title and use keywords handbook reading. Change Resource Type to Books and eBooks.
See the left sidebar or search Omni for more titles.
2nd International Handbook of Self-Study of Teaching and Teacher Education by
This international handbook provides a sophisticated re-examination of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices research 16 years after the publication of the first edition by Springer (2004). Through six sections, it offers an extensive international review of research and practices by examining critical issues in the self-study field today. They are: (1) Foundations of Self-Study, (2) Self-Study Methods and Methodologies, (3) Self-Study and Teaching and Teacher Education for Social Justice, (4) Self-Study Across Subject Disciplines, (5) Self-Study in Teacher Education and Beyond, and (6) Self-Study across Cultures and Languages. Exemplars, including many recent studies, illustrate the impact of this well-established research movement in teacher education in the English-speaking world and internationally. Readers of the handbook will benefit from a comprehensive review of the field of self-study that is accessible to a range of readers; theoretically and methodologically rich; highly practical to both novices and experienced practitioners; and offers a vision for self-study internationally over the next two decades.
The Cambridge Handbook of Acculturation Psychology by
Research and practice in the field of acculturation psychology is continually on the rise. Featuring contributions from over fifty leading experts in the field, this Handbook compiles and systemizes the current state of the art by exploring the broad international scope of acculturation. The collection introduces readers to the concepts and issues; examines various acculturating groups (immigrants, ethnic minorities, indigenous peoples, expatriates, tourists, refugees and asylum seekers); highlights the global contexts for acculturation in a variety of societies; and focuses on acculturation of a number of special groups, such as young people, the workplace, and outcomes for health and well-being. This comprehensive new edition addresses major world changes over the last decade, including the increase in global migration, religious clashes, and social networking, and provides updated theories and models so that beginners and advanced readers can keep abreast of new developments in the study of acculturation.
The Cambridge Handbook of Language Learning by
Providing a comprehensive survey of cutting-edge work on second language learning, this Handbook, written by a team of leading experts, surveys the nature of second language learning and its implications for teaching. Prominent theories and methods from linguistics, psycholinguistics, processing-based, and cognitive approaches are covered and organised thematically across sections dealing with skill development, individual differences, pedagogical interventions and approaches, and context and environment. This state-of-the-art volume will interest researchers in second language studies and language education, and will also reach out to advanced undergraduate and graduate students in these and other related areas.
Handbook of Critical Race Theory in Education by
This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education. It is the first authoritative reference work to provide a truly comprehensive description and analysis of the topic, from the defining conceptual principles of CRT in Law that gave shape to its radical underpinnings to the political and social implications of the field today. It is divided into six sections, covering innovations in educational research, policy and practice in both schools and in higher education, and the increasing interdisciplinary nature of critical race research. New chapters broaden the scope of theoretical lenses to include LatCrit, AsianCrit and Critical Race Feminism, as well as coverage of Discrit Studies, Research Methods, and other recent updates to the field. This handbook remains the definitive statement on the state of critical race theory in education and on its possibilities for the future.
Handbook of Research on STEM Education by
The Handbook of Research on STEM Education represents a groundbreaking and comprehensive synthesis of research and presentation of policy within the realm of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education. What distinguishes this Handbook from others is the nature of integration of the disciplines that is the founding premise for the work - all chapters in this book speak directly to the integration of STEM, rather than discussion of research within the individual content areas. The Handbook of Research on STEM Education explores the most pressing areas of STEM within an international context. Divided into six sections, the authors cover topics including: the nature of STEM, STEM learning, STEM pedagogy, curriculum and assessment, critical issues in STEM, STEM teacher education, and STEM policy and reform. The Handbook utilizes the lens of equity and access by focusing on STEM literacy, early childhood STEM, learners with disabilities, informal STEM, socio-scientific issues, race-related factors, gender equity, cultural-relevancy, and parental involvement. Additionally, discussion of STEM education policy in a variety of countries is included, as well as a focus on engaging business/industry and teachers in advocacy for STEM education. The Handbook's 37 chapters provide a deep and meaningful landscape of the implementation of STEM over the past two decades. As such, the findings that are presented within provide the reader with clear directions for future research into effective practice and supports for integrated STEM, which are grounded in the literature to date.
International Handbook of Cultural Studies in Education by
This handbook examines key issues and debates, theories and practices in the context of culture studies in education. It brings together a multiplicity of voices in a collective and converging manner that ask critical questions about the meanings of diverse forms of Cultural Studies in Education. Examining case studies of individuals, groups, collectives and social institutions, this handbook focuses on Cultural Studies in Education as theorized and analyzed from a heterogeneity of vantage points and its practical role and impact in challenging, rupturing, subverting, and changing dominant socio-economic, political, and cultural forces and structures that reproduce normalizing power relations that work to maintain injustice and inequity in various educational contexts.
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, Third Edition by
This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area.
The SAGE Handbook of Critical Pedagogies by
This extensive Handbook will bring together different aspects of critical pedagogy with the aim of opening up a clear international conversation on the subject, as well as pushing the boundaries of current understanding by extending the notion of a pedagogy to multiple pedagogies and perspectives. Bringing together a group of contributing authors from around the globe, the chapters will provide a unique approach and insight to the discipline by crossing a range of disciplines and articulating both philosophical and social common themes. The chapters will be organised across three volumes and twelve core thematic sections. The SAGE Handbook of Critical Pedagogies is planned to be an essential benchmark publication for advanced students, researchers and practitioners across a wide range of disciplines including education, health, sociology, anthropology and development studies
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection by
How we understand and define qualitative data is changing, with implications not only for the techniques of data analysis, but also how data are collected. New devices, technologies and online spaces open up new ways for researchers to approach and collect images, moving images, text and talk. The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Collection systematically explores the approaches, techniques, debates and new frontiers for creating, collecting and producing qualitative data. Bringing together contributions from internationally leading scholars in the field, the handbook offers a state-of-the-art look at key themes across six thematic parts: Part I Charting the Routes Part II Concepts, Contexts, Basics Part III Types of Data and How to Collect Them Part IV Digital and Internet Data Part V Triangulation and Mixed Methods Part VI Collecting Data in Specific Populations
The SAGE Handbook of School Organization by
The SAGE Handbook of School Organization provides a substantial review of the history, current status and future prospects of the field of school organization. Bringing together chapters exploring key issues, important debates and points of tension, the Handbook highlights school and system organisational structure, processes and dynamics coupled with insights into important theoretical foundations from diverse perspectives. This volume is designed to provide a much-needed, critically informed and coherent account of the field, against a backdrop of increasing complexity in which schooling as an institution and schools as organisations operate.