Skip to main content

Education Research

A guide to starting points in education research at Queen's University, Kingston.

Education Databases

Education Source

Education source logo

With over 2000 titles, Education Source from EBSCO is the world's largest collection of full-text education journals. It includes both professional titles of interest to teachers and scholarly research journals that report on studies in the field of educational research. 

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) via EBSCO

This version of ERIC includes features not available in the open access web version that follows. 

Queen's researchers should prefer this version because the citations link to our licensed full text articles.  The ERIC Thesaurus is an excellent source for building the vocabulary for your search strategies.  More information on ERIC is available from the Institute of Education Sciences.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) Open Access

ERIC is a database of citations with abstracts related to teaching and research in education, complemented by links to more than 200,000 full-text non-journal documents. Coverage includes: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education-related materials.

Canadian Business & Current Affairs

Content from many Canadian journals is discoverable in Education Source but if you are doing a comprehensive search Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) database from ProQuest should also be searched. CBCA is a multi-disciplinary database that includes indexing for over 900 Canadian publications and ongoing full text for over 300 titles. 

PsycINFO

Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports published internationally. Includes cited references.  At Queen's, you have to option to search PsycINFO via either APA PsycNET or OVID.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar

Be sure to search Google Scholar starting from a Queen's Library link so you are asked to log in with your Queen's NetID.  This will ensure you have access to the Queen's content we have licensed / purchased for you.

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database that includes content in the field of education and related areas. It is provided by EBSCO, so offers our researchers the same platform as our Education Source and ERIC databases are offered on. Coverage includes peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and selected monographs.

Web of Science Core Collection

The Web of Science Core Collection includes over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals); over 190,000 conference proceedings; and over 90,000 editorially selected books.

Omni Advanced Search

A "discovery tool".  Most academic libraries now host this type of search tool that searches most of the items a library has access to -- right to the article level.  Books, ebooks, articles, DVDs, online video, kits, and more.  Omni result lists can be narrowed by using the filters on the left sidebar.

Queen's University Library's Database of Databases

For access to ALL Queen's Library's databases, go to our Database of Databases

Need information about a journal?

ulrichs web logoUlrich's Serials Directory contains listings of currently published, as well as discontinued, serial publications. Includes magazines, journals, newsletters, newspapers, conference proceedings, and electronic publications. Also contains complete names and addresses of journal publishers. Search here to find out where a journal is indexed, and to learn more about the history of the title.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Finding Theoretical Frameworks

Journals @ Queen's

How-To Videos

Set up Alerts

Google Scholar and most journal database providers (e.g. EBSCO, ProQuest) and publishers (e.g. Sage, Taylor & Francis) offer email alerting services to inform you of new publications that match a search or a journal you specify. 

To set up alerts on our major database platforms you first set up a personal account on that platform.  For researchers in education at Queen's, the most used platforms are EBSCOhost, ProQuest, Web of Science, APA PsycNET, and Google Scholar.  Summon does not offer an email alert service. For each platform, follow the instructions linked below to set up an email alert service:

Education Source

CBCA Education

Web of Science Core Collection

PsycInfo

Google Scholar

Sage Journals

Beyond the Basics:

More alerting service information is available via guides from other academic libraries, notably Iowa State University Library and the University of Michigan Library.