Handbook of Arts-Based Research by
Bringing together interdisciplinary leaders in methodology and arts-based research (ABR), this comprehensive handbook explores the synergies between artistic and research practices and addresses issues in designing, implementing, evaluating, and publishing ABR studies. Coverage includes the full range of ABR genres, including those based in literature (such as narrative and poetic inquiry); performance (music, dance, playbuilding); visual arts (drawing and painting, collage, installation art, comics); and audiovisual and multimethod approaches. Each genre is described in detail and brought to life with robust research examples. Team approaches, ethics, and public scholarship are discussed, as are innovative ways that ABR is used within creative arts therapies, psychology, education, sociology, health sciences, business, and other disciplines. The companion website includes selected figures from the book in full color, additional online-only figures, and links to online videos of performance pieces. See also Dr. Leavy's authored book, Method Meets Art, Second Edition, an ideal course text that provides an accessible introduction to ABR.
International Handbook of Research in Arts Education by
Providing a distillation of knowledge in the various disciplines of arts education (dance, drama, music, literature and poetry and visual arts), this essential handbook synthesizes existing research literature, reflects on the past, and contributes to shaping the future of the respective and integrated disciplines of arts education. While research can at times seem distant from practice, the Handbook aims to maintain connection with the live practice of art and of education, capturing the vibrancy and best thinking in the field of theory and practice. The Handbook is organized into 13 sections, each focusing on a major area or issue in arts education research.
The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education by
Few aspects of daily existence are untouched by technology. Learning and teaching music are no exceptions and arguably have been impacted as much or more than other areas of life. Digital technologies have come to affect music learning and teaching in profound ways, influencing how we create,listen, share, consume, interact, and conceptualize musical practices and the musical experience. For a discipline as entrenched in tradition as music education, this has brought forth myriad views on what does and should constitute music learning and teaching.To tease out and elucidate some of the salient problems, interests, and issues, The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education critically situates technology in relation to music education from a variety of perspectives: historical; philosophical; socio-cultural; pedagogical; musical;economic; policy, organized around four broad themes: Emergence and Evolution; Locations and Contexts: Social and Cultural Issues; Experiencing, Expressing, Learning and Teaching; and Competence, Credentialing, and Professional Development. Chapters from a highly diverse group of junior and seniorscholars provide analyses of technology and music education through intersections of gender, theoretical perspective, geographical distribution, and relationship to the field. The Oxford Handbook of Technology and Music Education's dedication to diversity and forward-facing discussion promotescontrasting perspectives and conversational voices rather than reinforce traditional narratives and prevailing discourses.
The Palgrave Handbook of History and Social Studies Education by
This Handbook presents an international collection of essays examining history education past and present. Framing recent curriculum reforms in Canada and in the United States in light of a century-long debate between the relationship between theory and practice, this collection contextualizes the debate by exploring the evolution of history and social studies education within their state or national contexts. With contributions ranging from Canada, Finland, New Zealand, Sweden, the Netherlands, the Republic of South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States, chapters illuminate the ways in which curriculum theorists and academic researchers are working with curriculum developers and educators to translate and refine notions of historical thinking or inquiry as well as pedagogical practice.
The Handbook of Educational Linguistics by
The Handbook of Educational Linguistics is a dynamic, scientifically grounded overview revealing the complexity of this growing field while remaining accessible for students, researchers, language educators, curriculum developers, and educational policy makers. A single volume overview of educational linguistics, written by leading specialists in its many relevant fields Takes into account the diverse theoretical foundations, core themes, major findings, and practical applications of educational linguistics Highlights the multidisciplinary reach of educational linguistics Reflects the complexity of this growing field, whilst remaining accessible to a wide audience
Handbook of Reading Research, Volume V by
In a time of pressures, challenges, and threats to public education, teacher preparation, and funding for educational research, the fifth volume of the Handbook of Reading Research takes a hard look at why we undertake reading research, how school structures, contexts and policies shape students' learning, and, most importantly, how we can realize greater impact from the research conducted. A comprehensive volume, with a "gaps and game changers" frame, this handbook not only synthesizes current reading research literature, but also informs promising directions for research, pushing readers to address problems and challenges in research design or method. Bringing the field authoritatively and comprehensively up-to-date since the publication of the Handbook of Reading Research, Volume IV, this volume presents multiple perspectives that will facilitate new research development, tackling topics including: Diverse student populations and sociocultural perspectives on reading development Digital innovation, literacies, and platforms Conceptions of teachers, reading, readers, and texts, and the role of affect, cognition, and social-emotional learning in the reading process New methods for researching reading instruction, with attention to equity, inclusion, and education policies Language development and reading comprehension Instructional practices to promote reading development and comprehension for diverse groups of readers Each volume of this handbook has come to define the field for the period of time it covers, and this volume is no exception, providing a definitive compilation of current reading research. This is a must-have resource for all students, teachers, reading specialists, and researchers focused on and interested in reading and literacy research, and improving both instruction and programs to cultivate strong readers and teachers.
Handbook of Research on STEM Education by
The Handbook of Research on STEM Education represents a groundbreaking and comprehensive synthesis of research and presentation of policy within the realm of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education. What distinguishes this Handbook from others is the nature of integration of the disciplines that is the founding premise for the work - all chapters in this book speak directly to the integration of STEM, rather than discussion of research within the individual content areas. The Handbook of Research on STEM Education explores the most pressing areas of STEM within an international context. Divided into six sections, the authors cover topics including: the nature of STEM, STEM learning, STEM pedagogy, curriculum and assessment, critical issues in STEM, STEM teacher education, and STEM policy and reform. The Handbook utilizes the lens of equity and access by focusing on STEM literacy, early childhood STEM, learners with disabilities, informal STEM, socio-scientific issues, race-related factors, gender equity, cultural-relevancy, and parental involvement. Additionally, discussion of STEM education policy in a variety of countries is included, as well as a focus on engaging business/industry and teachers in advocacy for STEM education. The Handbook's 37 chapters provide a deep and meaningful landscape of the implementation of STEM over the past two decades. As such, the findings that are presented within provide the reader with clear directions for future research into effective practice and supports for integrated STEM, which are grounded in the literature to date.
International Handbook of Technology Education by
This handbook of technology education offers a state-of-the-art survey of developments in technology education worldwide. It deals with general themes like philosophical foundations, curriculum, teaching and learning, teacher education, and educational technology. It also has some technology-specific topics, such as designing, making, and assessment (portfolios). To focus on the specific learning challenges a separate section of the book is dedicated to sub-domains of technology and engineering, like food, textiles, materials and robotics. Explicit attention is given to the possible role of technology (and engineering) education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) education. Recent developments such as technology concept learning, authentic learning, pre-university engineering education, design-based learning and design-based research for technology education, pedagogical content knowledge for technology educators, and the use of e-portfolios are included. One section deals with social and cultural issues, such as education for sustainability, gender issues in technology education, indigenous technologies, industry involvement and the relation between technology education and communication. As could be expected in a handbook on technology education, there is also a section on the use of technology for teaching about technology: the use of CAD, science fiction movies, animations, internet and social media. All chapters are written especially for this handbook by a selection of authors, some of whom have been part of the history of technology education for many years, some of whom are promising young researchers. The book can be used as a reference by technology education researchers to get a concise introduction into the field. It can also be used as a resource in technology teacher education programs. Technology teachers can use it as literature for deepening their understanding of the field and thus working on their continuous professionalization. Curriculum developers and policy makers will find it of interest to get an understanding for the need to have technology education in the curriculum and the way it can be realized in practice.
Handbook of Critical Race Theory in Education by
This handbook illustrates how education scholars employ Critical Race Theory (CRT) as a framework to bring attention to issues of race and racism in education. It is the first authoritative reference work to provide a truly comprehensive description and analysis of the topic, from the defining conceptual principles of CRT in Law that gave shape to its radical underpinnings to the political and social implications of the field today. It is divided into six sections, covering innovations in educational research, policy and practice in both schools and in higher education, and the increasing interdisciplinary nature of critical race research. New chapters broaden the scope of theoretical lenses to include LatCrit, AsianCrit and Critical Race Feminism, as well as coverage of Discrit Studies, Research Methods, and other recent updates to the field. This handbook remains the definitive statement on the state of critical race theory in education and on its possibilities for the future.
International Handbook of Cultural Studies in Education by
This handbook examines key issues and debates, theories and practices in the context of culture studies in education. It brings together a multiplicity of voices in a collective and converging manner that ask critical questions about the meanings of diverse forms of Cultural Studies in Education. Examining case studies of individuals, groups, collectives and social institutions, this handbook focuses on Cultural Studies in Education as theorized and analyzed from a heterogeneity of vantage points and its practical role and impact in challenging, rupturing, subverting, and changing dominant socio-economic, political, and cultural forces and structures that reproduce normalizing power relations that work to maintain injustice and inequity in various educational contexts.
The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership by
This fully updated Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Educational Leadership offers an unflinching and comprehensive overview of the full range of both practical and theoretical issues facing educational leadership today. Editor Fenwick W. English and 30 renowned authors boldly address the most fundamental and contested issues in the field, including culturally relevant and distributed leadership; critical policy and practice issues predicting the new century's conflict; the paradox of changes; and the promises, paradoxes, and pitfalls of standards for educational leaders.
International Handbook of Educational Policy by
Nina Bascia, Alister Cumming, Amanda Datnow, Kenneth Leithwood and David Livingstone This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over ?fty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into ?ve broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice. The chapters themselves are empirically grounded, providing illustrations of the conceptual implications c- tained within them as well as allowing for comparisons across them. The se- re?exivity within chapters with respect to jurisdictional particularities and c- trasts allows readers to consider not only a range of approaches to policy analysis but also the ways in which policies and policy ideas play out in di?erent times and places. The sections move from a focus on prevailing policy tendencies through increasingly critical and ''outsider'' perspectives on policy. They address, in turn, the contemporary strategic emphasis on large-scale reform; substantive emphases at several levels - on leadership and governance, improving teacher quality and conceptualizing learning in various domains around the notion of literacies and concluding, ?nally, with a contrasting topic, workplace learning, which has had less policy attention and thus allows readers to consider both the advantages and disadvantages of learning and teaching under the bright gaze of policy.
Handbook of Competence and Motivation, Second Edition by
Now completely revised (over 90% new), this handbook established the concept of competence as an organizing framework for the field of achievement motivation. With an increased focus on connecting theory to application, the second edition incorporates diverse perspectives on why and how individuals are motivated to work toward competence in school, work, sports, and other settings. Leading authorities present cutting-edge findings on the psychological, sociocultural, and biological processes that shape competence motivation across development, analyzing the role of intelligence, self-regulated learning, emotions, creativity, gender and racial stereotypes, self-perceptions, achievement values, parenting practices, teacher behaviors, workplace environments, and many other factors. As a special bonus, purchasers of the second edition can download a supplemental e-book featuring several notable, highly cited chapters from the first edition. New to This Edition *Most chapters are new, reflecting over a decade of theoretical and methodological developments. *Each chapter now has an applied as well as conceptual focus, showcasing advances in intervention research. *Additional topics: self-regulation in early childhood, self-determination theory, challenge and threat appraisals, performance incentives, achievement emotions, job burnout, gene-environment interactions, class-based models of competence, and the impact of social group membership. *Supplemental e-book featuring selected chapters from the prior edition.
Handbook of Motivation at School by
The second edition of the Handbook of Motivation at School presents an integrated compilation of theory and research in the field. With chapters by leading experts, this book covers the major theoretical perspectives in the field as well as their application to instruction, learning, and social adjustment at school. Section I focuses on theoretical perspectives and major constructs, Section II on contextual and social influences on motivation, and Section III on new directions in the field. This new edition will have the same popular organizational structure with theories at the beginning. It will also include new chapters that cover motivation as it relates to identity, culture, test anxiety, mindfulness, neuroscience, parenting, metacognition, and regulatory focus.
The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation by
The field of human motivation has been undergoing a revolutionary shift in the 21st century. What new philosophical assumptions, motivational models, and empirical evidence have emerged? What does this look like in theory and in application? The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation, SecondEdition addresses these key advances made in the field since the previous edition, offering the latest insights from the top theorists and researchers of human motivation.The volume includes chapters on social learning theory, control theory, self-determination theory, terror management theory, and regulatory focus theory, while also presenting articles from leading scholars on phenomena such as ego-depletion, choice, curiosity, flow, implicit motives, and personalinterests. A special section dedicated to goal research highlights achievement goals, goal attainment, goal pursuit and unconscious goals, and the goal orientation process across adulthood. This Handbook also provides practical research and guidance with sections on relationships and applications inareas such as psychotherapy, education, physical activity, sport, and work. By providing reviews of the most advanced work by the very best scholars in this field, The Oxford Handbook of Human Motivation, Second Edition represents an invaluable resource for both researchers and practitioners, aswell as any student of human nature.