Find the call number for the subject you want to browse.
International Handbook of Research in Arts Education by Liora Bresler (Editor)Providing a distillation of knowledge in the various disciplines of arts education (dance, drama, music, literature and poetry and visual arts), this essential handbook synthesizes existing research literature, reflects on the past, and contributes to shaping the future of the respective and integrated disciplines of arts education. While research can at times seem distant from practice, the Handbook aims to maintain connection with the live practice of art and of education, capturing the vibrancy and best thinking in the field of theory and practice. The Handbook is organized into 13 sections, each focusing on a major area or issue in arts education research.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2007-01-26
History & Social Studies Education
The Palgrave Handbook of History and Social Studies Education by Christopher W. Berg & Theodore M. Christou (Eds.)This Handbook presents an international collection of essays examining history education past and present. Framing recent curriculum reforms in Canada and in the United States in light of a century-long debate between the relationship between theory and practice, this collection contextualizes the debate by exploring the evolution of history and social studies education within their state or national contexts. With contributions ranging from Canada, Finland, New Zealand, Sweden, the Netherlands, the Republic of South Africa, the United Kingdom, and the United States, chapters illuminate the ways in which curriculum theorists and academic researchers are working with curriculum developers and educators to translate and refine notions of historical thinking or inquiry as well as pedagogical practice.
International Handbook of Educational Policy by Nina Bascia (Editor); Alister Cumming (Editor); Amanda Datnow (Editor); Kenneth Leithwood (Editor); David Livingstone (Editor)Nina Bascia, Alister Cumming, Amanda Datnow, Kenneth Leithwood and David Livingstone This Handbook presents contemporary and emergent trends in educational policy research, in over ?fty chapters written by nearly ninety leading researchers from a number of countries. It is organized into ?ve broad sections which capture many of the current dominant educational policy foci and at the same time situate current understandings historically, in terms of both how they are conceptualized and in terms of past policy practice. The chapters themselves are empirically grounded, providing illustrations of the conceptual implications c- tained within them as well as allowing for comparisons across them. The se- re?exivity within chapters with respect to jurisdictional particularities and c- trasts allows readers to consider not only a range of approaches to policy analysis but also the ways in which policies and policy ideas play out in di?erent times and places. The sections move from a focus on prevailing policy tendencies through increasingly critical and ''outsider'' perspectives on policy. They address, in turn, the contemporary strategic emphasis on large-scale reform; substantive emphases at several levels - on leadership and governance, improving teacher quality and conceptualizing learning in various domains around the notion of literacies and concluding, ?nally, with a contrasting topic, workplace learning, which has had less policy attention and thus allows readers to consider both the advantages and disadvantages of learning and teaching under the bright gaze of policy.
International Handbook of Cultural Studies in Education by Peter Pericles Trifonas (Editor)This handbook examines key issues and debates, theories and practices in the context of culture studies in education. It brings together a multiplicity of voices in a collective and converging manner that ask critical questions about the meanings of diverse forms of Cultural Studies in Education. Examining case studies of individuals, groups, collectives and social institutions, this handbook focuses on Cultural Studies in Education as theorized and analyzed from a heterogeneity of vantage points and its practical role and impact in challenging, rupturing, subverting, and changing dominant socio-economic, political, and cultural forces and structures that reproduce normalizing power relations that work to maintain injustice and inequity in various educational contexts.
Call Number: Online Includes a chapter authored by Dr. Alana Butler