Skip to main content

Primary Junior Indigenous Education

Resources for K-6 teachers.

From Other Ontario Library Guides

Teaching Aboriginal Education. A superb collection of resources collected and shared by Liv Rondeau, the Coordinator of the Aboriginal Teacher Education Program at Queen's.  Follow @LivNRondeau to keep up with the resources she selects and shares.

Infusing Indigenous Perspectives in K-12 Teaching. A Guide to resources prepared by Desmond Wong, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE). An outstanding collection of Indigenous education resources.

The Inquiry Process in the PJ Grades

The Primary Junior Inquiry Process Guide includes ebooks and open access websites to support your integration of inquiry into your teaching.

Teach Ontario

See: Diverse ways of knowing from TeachOntario

TVO, in collaboration with the Ontario Teachers’ Federation (OTF) and its Affiliates, and the Ministry of Education (EDU) developed TeachOntarioa new online platform to support sharing, collaboration and knowledge exchange amongst educators across Ontario. 

TeachOntario was created “For Ontario’s Teachers, By Ontario’s Teachers”. It is a unique online destination to serve and celebrate Ontario’s educators. It provides a tremendous opportunity to:

  •  Support teacher professional learning
  • Foster teacher leadership
  • Facilitate the sharing of exemplary practices with others for the broader benefit of Ontario’s students

TVO's TeachOntario consists of three key spaces:

Explore is a publically accessible space that includes curated Ministry Resources, Research regarding provincial, national and international education, Teacher Blogs, and Digital Resources for teachers and parents. The Explore space also includes TVO’s new TeachOntario Talks, which are multimedia blogs profiling and celebrating exemplary teaching and learning practices for the broader benefit of Ontario’s students.

Share is a space only accessible to Ontario’s educators. This space has over 50 teacher-initiated groups that are sharing knowledge and resources focused on learning. Groups include Full-Day Kindergarten (FDK), 21st Century Learning and Teaching, Inquiry-Based Teaching and Learning, Digital Literacy in the Classroom, Mathematics Instructional Strategies for Student Success etc. 

Create is a space only accessible to Ontario’s educators.  This space is for informal and formal collaborative and participatory online project development. For example, our first pilot project resulted in an e-Book called “Learning Out Loud”, which is full of illustrative examples of how educators are making the shift from teaching to learning ecosystems! 

Teaching Indigenous Ways of Knowing

Traditional Knowledge & Perspectives

Full Circle: First Nations, Metis, and Inuit Ways of Knowing. 2012. OSSTF. Sixty lessons that cover four broad themes: Land, Health, Residential Schools and Identity. The lessons use a holistic teaching approach that honours traditional knowledge and Aboriginal values. Includes black line masters, assessment rubrics, differentiated instruction. Also watch the Full Circle video.

In our Own Words: Bringing Authentic First Peoples Content to the K-3 Classroom - First Nations Education Steering Committee

Our Words Our Ways:Teaching First Nations, Metis, and Inuit Learners from Alberta Education

Walking Together: First Nations, Metis and Inuit Perspectives in Curriculum: Designed to help teachers understand the holistic nature of FNMI ways of knowing

Ontario Ministry of Education practical teaching strategies to introduce Aboriginal perspectives: Elementary and  Secondary classroom


Indigenous Curriculum

Getting to Know Turtle Island: Incorporating First Nation, Métis and Inuit perspectives K-8. 2011. This book was written by the Ontario Limestone District School Board under the leadership of Kevin Reed, Aboriginal Consultant to the LDSB, with a team of K-8 teachers. It is an integrated aboriginal curriculum and includes provincial learning expectations, suggested teaching strategies, resources (some websites and other print materials), and summative tasks. Freely available to anyone in the world. Turtle Island Resource List. This is the list of print resources included in Turtle Island, in case you would like to request them from the Education Library or purchase them for your own collection.Indigenous Curriculum

Other resources to support an Aboriginal curriculum. This includes many free websites as well as print materials that can be requested from the Education Library.

Learning Circles – Grades 3-6, Curriculum Links for Ontario Teachers This resource was created in partnership with Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC). It is a companion document to INAC’s teacher resource package, The Learning Circle, Classroom Activities on First Nations in Canada – Ages 8-11. Both documents must be used together.

The learning circle : classroom activities on First Nations in Canada : ages 8-11- INAC

Authentic First Peoples resources: First Nations Education Steering Committee . First Nations Education Resources

Integrating Aboriginal teaching and values in the classroom

Lessons and Units from the Alaska Native Knowledge Network

Aboriginal Education Strategy: Ministry of Education and the Aboriginal Perspectives Teachers' Toolkit

The Ojibwe People's Dictionary:"The Ojibwe People's Dictionary is a searchable, talking Ojibwe-English dictionary that features the voices of Ojibwe speakers. It is also a gateway into the Ojibwe collections at the Minnesota Historical Society. Along with detailed Ojibwe language entries and voices, you will find beautiful cultural items, photographs, and excerpts from relevant historical documents. Whenever possible, we provide examples of documents in the Ojibwe language."


Art and Literataure

Bringing Metis Children's Literature to Life: Teacher Guidebook

7 Generations series (Grades 9–12) – Teacher’s Guide

7 Generations* is an epic, four-part graphic novel series that spans three centuries and seven generations. The central character in the series is Edwin, an Aboriginal teenager, who must learn of his family’s past.

Strategies for Teaching Reading Comprehension from Strong Nations. Under Graphic Organizers" see the guide to Learning Strategies for Aboriginal Students

Exploring Aboriginal Identity Through Art and Appendices: OSSTF

Ancient Villages & Totem Poles of the Nisga’a – Teacher Resources

 

Indigenous Issues
What I Learned in Class Today Aboriginal Issues in the Classroom

Students frequently report troubling and sometimes traumatic discussions of Aboriginal issues in their classes. These situations often affect their ability to function in their coursework, and even their ability to return to class. What I Learned in Class Today: Aboriginal Issues in the Classroom is a research project designed to make these situations visible and to find ways to have more professional and productive classroom discussions. 20 min Video, discussion modules and workshop resources.

A Timeline of Residential Schools

In depth Truth and Reconciliation of Stolen Children, stories, articles, analysis, history, video and audio external links.

Canadian History from an Aboriginal Perspective: OSSTF

Heightening our Awareness of Canada's Native People: OSSTF

Aboriginal Issues in Canada: from OSSTF

The Learning Circle, Five Voices of Aboriginal Youth In Canada: a learning resource for ages 14 to 16

Designed to enhance the understanding of non‐Aboriginal students regarding issues and realities facing First Nations and Inuit youth today. The depth and complexity of the issues, history and cultures of First Nations and Inuit are not completely presented in these narratives.

 

Indigenous Math & Science
Math First Peoples: Teaching Mathematics in a First Peoples Context, Grades 8 and 9 - First Nations Education Steering Committee   

Seventh Generation Club Science Experiments Booklets Each booklet contains 12 - 15  science experiments. Book 1 - Book 2 - Book 3 - Book 4 - Book 5 - Book 6 - Book 7 - Book 8 - Book 9 - Book 10

Key Resources

 

Getting to know Turtle Island: Incorporating First Nation, Métis and Inuit perspectives K-8: E76.6 .G48 2011

Turtle Island

Teaching truly: A curriculum to indigenize  mainstream education. E97 .T43 2013

Teaching truly

 

Achieving Aboriginal student success : a guide for K to 8 classrooms / Pamela Rose Toulouse:

LB1139.35.A37 T68 2011

.

Call Numbers in the Library

To assist you in browsing the library collection the following provides a guide to subject areas by Library of Congress call number.

Subject

Call Number Range

E75-99

Indians of North America 
   E97 Education 
   E99 Indian Tribes and cultures

 FC

Canadiana

 GN

 Anthropology
   GN380 Indigenous Knowledge

 KE7701-749

KF8201-KF8228

Indian legal matters (Aboriginal Law)

 LC2629

Education of Indians in Canada

 

Ministry of Education

Order print documents from Publications Ontario. Recent titles are mostly online-only.

Indigenous Education Strategy

The EduGAINS and Learning Exchange sites were developed by or in consultation with Ontario's Ministry of Education to provide teachers with professional support for their classroom teaching.

​EduGAINS

EduGAINS "houses Ministry developed resources to support policies and programs related to improved learning and teaching - Kindergarten to Grade 12 - in Ontario schools". (http://www.edugains.ca/newsite/HOME/index.html)

EduGAINS logo

The Learning Exchange

The Learning Exchange is on a mission to share rich, research-based content focused on student achievement.  Built in consultation with Ontario's Ministry of Education's Student Achievement Division, the resources are developed by educators for educators.

Resource Guide

First Nations, Métis, and Inuit Connections – Scope and Sequence of Expectations – Resource Guide, Grades 1-8 and Kindergarten Program, 2014

This document is designed to assist teachers with incorporating First Nations, Métis, and Inuit perspectives into the classroom by highlighting where there are opportunities for students to explore themes, ideas, and topics related to Aboriginal peoples in Canada in every subject area from Kindergarten to Grade 8.

Other resources to build educator capacity and support the delivery of learning opportunities for students in the area of Aboriginal cultures, contributions, histories, and perspectives include:

 

1. Educator videos on making Aboriginal connections (e.g. arts curriculum; financial literacy).

2. Learning modules for students and teacher backgrounders on a variety of topics (e.g. residential schools, Métis history) to support the implementation of the curriculum for social studies, Grades 1 to 6, and history and geography, Grades 7 and 8.

3. Language resource documents to support educators in teaching language patterns for various dialects, including Oneida, Cayuga, and Mohawk; Ojibwe, Cree, and Oji-Cree as well as Delaware). 
 

Policy Documents

Ontario First Nation, Metis, & Inuit Education Policy Framework 2007

This framework provides a strategic policy context within which the Ministry of Education, school boards and schools will work together to improve the academic achievement of the estimated 50,312 Aboriginal students who attend provincially funded elementary and secondary schools in Ontario (18,300 First Nations, 26,200 Métis, and 600 Inuit students who live in the jurisdictions of school boards, and 5,212 living in First Nations communities but served under a tuition agreement).

The framework also clarifies the roles and relationships of the Ministry, school boards, and schools in their efforts to help First Nation, Métis, and Inuit students achieve their educational goals and close the gap in academic achievement with their non‐Aboriginal counterparts.