Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Geography

Lesson Plans

Geography Grade 7 - Natural Resources
From Brock University, this unit plan contains 20 days worth of lessons, activities, and worksheets on natural resources, following the Ontario curriculum.

Ontario Geography Inquiry Pac
From the Critical Thinking Consortium, this unit plan includes a PowerPoint, a teaching guide, activity sheets, and discussion guide, along with inquiry questions that encourage students to think critically.

Deepening Knowledge: Resources for and about Indigenous Education
From the University of Toronto, this resource includes multiple grade 7 lesson plans. Most of them are geared primarily towards history, but they can still hold value in the geography classroom.

Grade 7 Geography Unit Teacher Guide
From the Ontario Teachers' Federation, this teacher guide includes unit plans, lesson plans, and activities for grade 7 geography.

Canadian Geographic: Educator Resources, Grade 7
From Canadian Geographic, this webpage includes lesson plans on many topics, such as energy and natural resources, climate change and environment, regional geography, and geographic skills. Lesson plans can be filtered by grade and topic.

Other Resources

TVO Learn - Grade 7 History and Geography
TVO Learn is designed as a student resource, but can also be useful in the classroom. The grade 7 section includes learning activities (which will require instruction from an adult), as well as other resources for learning and prompts to apply what students have learned. Resources include videos and articles that may be useful for class instruction.

Native Land
An interactive map demonstrating the territories of Indigenous peoples around the world. Can be searched by address to see whose traditional lands you live or go to school on.

Resources in the Education Library

First Nations & Inuit: Traditional Names and Locations (Poster)
Call Number: lg poster G3401.E1 2016 .C3
Publication Date: 2016
Available in the Teacher Resource Room, this poster illustrates the original names and locations of each Nation in Canada.

GIS Made Easy: Geography Lessons Using GIS by Robert Lang, edited by Alan Parkinson
Call Number: G76.5.G7 L36 2012
ISBN: 9781843773269
Publication Date: 2012
The aim of this book is to develop teachers' knowledge and confidence in utilising and integrating online GIS into geography lessons to promote engagement and enjoyment. A Geographical Information System (GIS) allows students to visualise, explore, question, analyse and make sense of the world around them. GIS is mentioned specifically in the KS3 geography programmes of study, and most GCSE and A level specifications.

Google Earth

Google Earth • Google Earth Education • Google Earth Blog 

A free, downloadable application that shows satellite images.

Use Google Earth to

  • Study natural and political maps
  • Learn map reading and navigation
  • Visually explore historical, news, and census data
  • Promote global and environmental awareness

 

Textbooks

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.