Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Geography

Lesson Plans

Canadian Geographic: Educator Resources, Grade 11
From Canadian Geographic, this webpage includes lesson plans on many topics, such as energy and natural resources, climate change and environment, regional geography, and geographic skills. Lesson plans can be filtered by grade and topic.

E-Learning Ontario: CGG3O
From E-Learning Ontario, this resource includes four units for travel and tourism: traveling like a geographer; making travel and tourism sustainable; the past, present and future of tourism; and the challenge and change of travel and tourism.

Travel and Tourism: Ecological Cost
This lesson plan, from EcoSchools Canada and written specifically for CGG3O, leads students to calculate the ecological impact of travel. This impact helps to guide future tourism policies and behaviours.

Understanding Active Transport
This activity, from the University of Guelph, introduces the concept of active transportation to students. Includes activities, videos, discussions, and readings. Written specifically for this course (as well as CGF3M and CGR4M).

Other Resources

Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance
From the NFB, this award-winning documentary discusses the events surrounding the Oka Crisis. The documentary is available without an account, but includes lesson plans with a login (see password page). This can be used to discuss the impacts of tourism on local Indigenous communities, and the importance of Indigenous consultation.

Learn at Home: Grades 9 to 12
Activities and resources for high school students to do at home to supplement their learning.

Resources in the Education Library

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.