Canadian Geographic: Educator Resources, Grade 11
From Canadian Geographic, this webpage includes lesson plans on many topics, such as energy and natural resources, climate change and environment, regional geography, and geographic skills. Lesson plans can be filtered by grade and topic.
Teach with GIS
This webpage contains lesson plans, websites, and other resources for using mapping and location analytics.
K-12 Education Resources - Geography
From ArcGIS, these resources are specific to Canada. Includes lesson plans, tutorials, videos, and activities. They can be narrowed down by subject or resource type.
Outcome Chart - Ontario - Geography CFT30: Introduction to Spatial Technologies From MediaSmarts: This chart contains media-related learning outcomes from Ontario, Curriculum for Geography CGT3O: Introduction to Spatial Technologies, with links to supporting resources on the MediaSmarts site.
International Perspectives on Teaching and Learning with GIS in Secondary Schools
by
This, the first publication to collate a broad international perspective on the pedagogical value of GIS technology in classrooms, offers an unprecedented range of expert views on the subject. Geographic Information Systems (GISs) are now ubiquitous and relatively inexpensive. They have revolutionized the way people explore and understand the world around them. The capability they confer allows us to capture, manage, analyze, and display geographic data in ways that were undreamt of a generation ago. GIS has enabled users to make decisions and solve problems as diverse as designing bus routes, locating new businesses, responding to emergencies, and researching climate change. GIS is also having a major impact in the classroom. Students and teachers around the world are using this significant emerging technology in the secondary school classroom to study social and scientific concepts and processes, to broaden their technical skills, and to engage in problem solving and decision making about local and global issues. International Perspectives on Teaching and Learning with GIS in Secondary Schools brings together authors from 34 countries who profile the current status of GIS in secondary school teaching and learning in their country. Each chapter includes a summary of the country's educational context, a case study illustrating how GIS is used in secondary schooling, and an assessment of the opportunities and challenges in teaching and learning with GIS now and in the future. The book demonstrates that GIS is not only a technological tool to be used in the classroom, but also a catalyst for motivation, encouragement, and cooperation in understanding and solving global problems. The most up to date and extensive survey of GIS in the secondary education landscape, covering both principles and practice. Professor David Maguire, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Birmingham City University, UK International Perspectives on Teaching andLearning With GIS in Secondary Schools is a highly relevant, critically important, reflective contribution to the literature, providing strong arguments supporting the inclusion for spatial studies for all in secondary school education. Karl Donert, President, EUROGEO This is an invaluable and inspirational examination of innovation in geospatial technologies in secondary schools around the world. Each chapter contains practical models for how to integrate powerful tools for spatial analysis into a range of subjects. It will be useful to classroom teachers and administrators seeking pathways to implementation and teacher educators considering how to prepare the next generation to use geospatial technologies. Sarah Witham Bednarz, Department of Geography, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
Digital Geography
by
A volume in International Social Studies Forum: The Series Series Editors Richard Diem, University of Texas at San Antonio and Jeff Passe, University of North Carolina, Charlotte The purpose of this volume is to provide a review and analysis of the theory, research, and practice related to geospatial technologies in social studies education. In the first section, the history of geospatial technologies in education, the influence of the standards movement, and the growth of an international geospatial education community are explored. The second section consists of examples and discussion of the use of geospatial technologies for teaching and learning history, geography, civics, economics, and environmental science. In the third section, theoretical perspectives are proposed that could guide research and practice in this field. This section also includes reviews and critiques of recent research relevant to geospatial technologies in education. The final section examines the theory, research, and practice associated with teacher preparation for using geospatial technologies in education.
GIS Made easy : geography lessons using GIS
by
The aim of this book is to develop teachers' knowledge and confidence in utilising and integrating online GIS into geography lessons to promote engagement and enjoyment. A Geographical Information System (GIS) allows students to visualise, explore, question, analyse and make sense of the world around them. GIS is mentioned specifically in the KS3 geography programmes of study, and most GCSE and A level specifications.
Mapping Our World
by
Providing a complete resource for any teacher seeking to bring GIS technology into the middle- or high-school classroom, this educational package is a comprehensive collection of world geography lessons, lesson plans, exercises, and assessment tools.
GIS in Schools
by
A basic introduction to GIS software that allows students to begin to explore the ways in which they can use its spatial learning capabilities and decision-making tools to solve specific problems such as analyzing water quality to determine where and how it is being polluted.