Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior Geography

Lesson Plans

Deepening Knowledge: Resources for and about Indigenous Education
From the University of Toronto, this resource includes multiple grade 8 lesson plans. Most of them are geared primarily towards history, but they can still hold value in the geography classroom.

Canadian Geographic: Educator Resources, Grade 8
From Canadian Geographic, this webpage includes lesson plans on many topics, such as energy and natural resources, climate change and environment, regional geography, and geographic skills. Lesson plans can be filtered by grade and topic.

Deepening Knowledge: Resources for and about Indigenous Education
From the University of Toronto, this resource includes multiple grade 8 lesson plans. Most of them are geared primarily towards history, but they can still hold value in the geography classroom.

Flooding in Canada
From FloodSmart Canada, this resource on flooding in Canada includes lesson plans for grades 5 to 12.

Other Resources

TVO Learn
TVO Learn is designed as a student resource, but can also be useful in the classroom. The grade 8 section includes learning activities (which will require instruction from an adult), as well as other resources for learning and prompts to apply what students have learned. Resources include videos and articles that may be useful for class instruction.

Learn at Home: Grades 7 and 8
From the Ontario government, these resources are designed for learning at home, either independently or with the help of a parent or guardian.

Google Earth

Google Earth • Google Earth Education • Google Earth Blog 

A free, downloadable application that shows satellite images.

Use Google Earth to

  • Study natural and political maps
  • Learn map reading and navigation
  • Visually explore historical, news, and census data
  • Promote global and environmental awareness

 

Resources in the Education Library

Textbooks

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.