Skip to Main Content

Intermediate Senior History

Primary Sources

The Memory Project
The Memory Project is a searchable digital archive, containing material on WWI.

Canadian Posters from the First World War
Put together by the Archives of Ontario, this focuses on posters distributed by the Canadian government during WWI. The posters featured are all available through Archives of Ontario.

Canada Year Book
From Statistics Canada, this includes statistics from 1867 to 1967. 

Canadian War Posters Collection
Posters from the two World Wars, in the Rare books and Special Collections Division at the McGill Library. If you wanted to see some of these in person in Kingston you can arrange a visit to Queen's University Library Special Collections.

Toronto Public Library War Posters
A large collection of war posters from the digitized collections of the Toronto Public Library. 

Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines, and government documents.

Internet Modern History Sourcebook
From Fordham University, this sourcebook includes thousands of documents from the modern era.

Other Resources

CBC Archives - The First World War: Canada Remembers
Includes clips on events and topics from WWI. This site also includes lesson plans, rubrics, and worksheets.

NFB Films - WWII
Films from the NFB about WWII. This includes a mix of primary and secondary sources, some of the films are from WWII, while others are about it. This doesn't need a login for access, but see the password page to gain increased access to other NFB resources.

The Final Report of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
Includes the final report, as well as other publications from the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls. The report is available in both English and French.

Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance
From the NFB, this award-winning documentary discusses the events surrounding the Oka Crisis. The documentary is available without an account, but includes lesson plans with a login (see password page).

Holocaust Resources
Our list of Holocaust resources can be found here.

TVO Learn
Designed by education professionals, these courses are intended for student-directed learning at home, but contain many resources that may still be useful in the classroom.
Materials for CHC2D
Materials for CHC2P

Primary Sources in the Education Library

Textbooks

Grade 10 Canadian and World Studies 

Creating Canada: A History - 1914 to the Present Second Edition
FC170 .C73 2014 school text
FC170 .C73 2010 teachers guide new text
Course code: CHC2D

Think History: Canadian History Since 1914
FC163 .C73 2016 school text
Course code: CHC2D

Canadian Sources: Investigated (Revised Edition)
FC170 .C387 2014 new text
FC170 .C387 2008 teachers guide new text
Online teaching centre: see password page
Course code: CHC2D

History Uncovered: Canadian History Since World War I
F1034 .H68 2014 new text
Online teaching centre: see password page
Course code: CHC2P

Video

Curio
CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots, and more. To take advantage of campus features (such as creating playlists) you will need to create an account.

National Film Board
Over 1000 films are available free, 3000 available with an account. Also includes teaching guides. To take advantage of campus features such as creating playlists and chapters, you will need to create a profile.

Films on Demand
Humanities and Social Sciences video collections.

Criterion on Demand
A large English and French streaming or download service with option of closed captioning.

On-Core
A collection of Canadian video segments that is searchable by provincial curriculum subjects, grades, and strands. Includes PDF teacher guides when available, and content is downloadable.