Teaching African Canadian History: Primary Sources
An online resource from Fundi Education, includes primary documents such as the Slavery Abolition Act, 1833.
1812 Virtual Exhibition (Canadian War Museum)
1812: One War, Four Perspectives: Experience the War of 1812 on-line from the perspective of each of its major participants—Americans, the British, Canadians (including Canadian First Peoples), and Native Americans. Using historic objects and images, this virtual exhibition allows you to draw your own conclusions and share your own perspective on a major historical event.
Canadiana Online
This virtual library holds the most complete set of full-text historical content about Canada, including books, magazines, and government documents.
Queen's University Archives: Stones
Stones refers to the various cultural communities and human elements that form the foundations of Kingston.
The Globe and Mail - Canada's Heritage: 1844-2002
Historical newspapers from the Globe and Mail.
Frontier Life
This digital collection of primary source documents helps us to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and Indigenous peoples in these areas.
Clicking on the Document Type tab will reveal the variety of primary sources available to search.
TVO Learn - Grade 7 History and Geography
TVO Learn is designed as a student resource, but can also be useful in the classroom. The grade 8 section includes learning activities (which will require instruction from an adult), as well as other resources for learning and prompts to apply what students have learned. Resources include videos and articles that may be useful for class instruction.
Inquiry Guide: War of 1812 (PDF)
Created by Historica Canada: Understanding the War of 1812 and its place in Canada's history is an important part of a history student's education. The skills taught in this learning tool are meant to be useful to students throughout their study of history.
Great Canadian political cartoons, 1820 to 1914 by 
Conflicts in British North America by
"Explores the conflicts between the French and the British as they fought over North America as well as the war of 1812 between the United States and British North America." - Provided by publisher
Indigenous Relations in British North America by
"Explores the relationship between the Indigenous Peoples and the Europeans who arrived to settle what became Canada, focusing on British efforts to maintain friendly relations after they took control of North America.
Settlement of British North America by
"Discusses how North America was explored and settled by the French and English as well as the impact of the American War of Independence on the remaining British colonies." - Provided by publisher
Communities in British North America by
"Discusses how North America was settled by the French and English, the communities that grew as more setters arrived, the impact of these communities on the Indigenous Peoples, and provides a glimpse into the life of early settlers." - Provided by publisher
Governance of British North America by
"Discusses the development of government in Upper and Lower Canada, the conflict between French and English forms of government and how it changed in response to the demands of the people." - Provided by publisher
Daily Life in British North America by
"Discusses how North America was settled by the French and English, the impact of these settlements on the land as well as the Indigenous Peoples, and provides a glimpse into the day-to-day life of early settlers." - Provided by publisher
Explore with Samuel de Champlain by
This engaging book follows the travels of French mapmaker and navigator Samuel de Champlain as he mapped out the St. Lawrence River and the North American Coast. Historical information and high-interest fact boxes are presented in an entertaining tabloid style. Topics include what first led Samuel de Champlain to the New World, his role as the "Father of New France" and the St. Lawrence River, accurate mapmaking, establishing trade networks, and the legacy of Champlain.
Explore with Jacques Cartier by
This fascinating book follows French explorer Jacques Cartier to the New World where he claimed the new territory called Canada for France. Historical information and high-interest fact boxes are presented in a tabloid-news style that guides readers through major voyages, explorations, and discoveries. Topics include what led Cartier to sail west, life on board ship, Cartier's exploration along the St. Lawrence, his interactions with the Iroquois, establishing French settlements in Canada, and Cartier's legacy.
Nation to Nation: A Resource on Treaties in Ontario by
"A 68-page book from the Union of Ontario Indians designed to inform readers and students about First Nations treaties in Ontario. Edited by Maurice Switzer, the book has a definition section and background about treaties in general, treaties between First Nations, the Royal Proclamation of 1763, Indian treaties in Canada, and a timeline showing Indian treaties in Ontario. Specific treaties such as Treaty of Niagara 1764, Chippewa Treaties, Manitoulin Treaties, Robinson Superior Treaty, Robinson Huron Treaty, and Williams Treaty are described. A brief overview of the significance of the War of 1812 is explored. News articles about treaties and the contemporary reality of these nation to nation relationships add to the understanding of their importance today. The final essay is Patrick Madahbee's call to action for instituting a process to mend the relationship between Canada and Ontario First Nations. This important collection clarifies the often confusing picture about treaties by focusing on treaties covering Ontario from their origin to the present day. Background data was provided by the Canadian Encyclopedia, and historians Maurice Switzer, Alan Corbiere, and David Shanahan. An excellent resource for secondary level students as well as college, university, and the general reader.
We Are All Treaty People by
"This beautifully illustrated children's book is the third and final instalment of Treaty Tales, an original trilogy that makes learning about the treaties and their history fun and engaging. Join Neepin and her kookoo around the campfire in We Are All Treaty People, and hear a story about the modern-day significance of the treaties for all those living in Canada. Maybe even become inspired, like Neepin, to take up the First Nations storytelling tradition." - Publisher's website
Grade 7 Canadian and World Studies
There are no textbooks on the Trillium List for grade 7 history, the following textbook is recommended resource in the library.
Nelson History 7
FC173 .C47 2016 new text
FC173 .C47 2016 teacher's resource new text
Online teaching centre: see password page